Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
bholler
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 10:22 pm
Location: Nigeria
Contact:

AP suddenly stopped working

Fri Sep 16, 2005 4:39 pm

hello

(RB/B2I) MikroTik 5GHz Access Point Package with Directional Antenna

above is the acces point i use on my network, i have 2 ethernet cable down into the office inthe equipment room----one for ether1/poe (ip 10.1.0.1/24) and the second for ether2 (ip 10.2.0.1/24). the wireless interface has no clients on it yet.

it suddenly stopped working about 2 days ago, it worked after a lot of restarting. but this morning it sudeenly stopped working and when i PINGed the ether interface, none of them replied. it has version 2.8.23 on it.

i dont know what to do about it, can anyone assist based on past experince.

thanks .
 
User avatar
sten
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 920
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:10 pm

Fri Sep 16, 2005 4:49 pm

Routerboard? Make sure you have latest BIOS.
Your version is old. I never had success with 2.8.23.
 
User avatar
bholler
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 10:22 pm
Location: Nigeria
Contact:

Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:01 pm

hello sir,

What do u advice i should do, and how do i get the latest BIOS and is it adviceable for me to upgrade to 2.8.28. or version 2.9?
Mikrotik Certified Trainer Partner, MTCNA, MTCTCE, MTCWE, MTCRE. YIM: oseniabiola Skye: habholler1, Tel.+2348060319130, +2348182556717, Email: abiola@trisatcom.net
 
jarosoup
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 9:02 am

Fri Sep 16, 2005 9:11 pm

have you checked the power supply for the POE adapter?
 
User avatar
sten
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 920
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:10 pm

Sat Sep 17, 2005 1:21 am

What do u advice i should do, and how do i get the latest BIOS and is it adviceable for me to upgrade to 2.8.28. or version 2.9?
2.8.28 is a pretty safe bet.

Install routerboard package.
Open terminal window
Type in:

/ system routerboard print

And you'll see what version is installed and what version is available in the routerboard package. Just out of curiosity, could you post the one that is installed?

Anyway, to upgrade you type in the following:

/ system routerboard upgrade

Router will now reboot and new software is available.

Remember to upgrade software before upgrading BIOS as the BIOS is available in the BIOS.

One alternate method of upgrading the BIOS is to download the bios file at http://www.routerboard.com and ftp it to the router and then typing:

/ system routerboard upgrade
 
User avatar
bholler
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 10:22 pm
Location: Nigeria
Contact:

Sat Sep 17, 2005 9:07 pm

hello,

i have done the upgrade of the firmware and routerOS but i now realised that the routerboards hangs during bootup, and when i removed the RouterBouard 71 from the PCI slot of the R230, the routeboard boots successfully. i ready through the manual,and i could deduced that one should disable "pci-backoff" should in case this kind of problem is occurs.
i have tried everything i could. Can anybody be of help?
Mikrotik Certified Trainer Partner, MTCNA, MTCTCE, MTCWE, MTCRE. YIM: oseniabiola Skye: habholler1, Tel.+2348060319130, +2348182556717, Email: abiola@trisatcom.net
 
goldclick
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2004 10:48 pm
Location: Nigeria
Contact:

Mon Sep 19, 2005 1:49 pm

hello,

i have done the upgrade of the firmware and routerOS but i now realised that the routerboards hangs during bootup, and when i removed the RouterBouard 71 from the PCI slot of the R230, the routeboard boots successfully. i ready through the manual,and i could deduced that one should disable "pci-backoff" should in case this kind of problem is occurs.
i have tried everything i could. Can anybody be of help?
I had same problem months back. RB230, RB14 and 4 Atheros 65mW a/b/g cards. Router boots and hangs midway. I later discovered that one of the regulators on the RB14 was warming up. After some trial removing the a/b/g cards one after the other, I found the bad card, replaced it and no problems again.

If you have a card on your RB71 riser, remove and boot router without it and see.
Sunday Idajili
ITClick Networx Limited
 
User avatar
bholler
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 10:22 pm
Location: Nigeria
Contact:

Mon Sep 19, 2005 5:02 pm

hello sonny,

i have tried it that way before and the only time i had a successful booting was whn i removed the entire RB 17 from the PCI slot. Please anyone with a solution cos i dont know what to do again.
Mikrotik Certified Trainer Partner, MTCNA, MTCTCE, MTCWE, MTCRE. YIM: oseniabiola Skye: habholler1, Tel.+2348060319130, +2348182556717, Email: abiola@trisatcom.net

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: timotei and 37 guests