Page 1 of 1

AP suddenly stopped working

Posted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 4:39 pm
by bholler
hello

(RB/B2I) MikroTik 5GHz Access Point Package with Directional Antenna

above is the acces point i use on my network, i have 2 ethernet cable down into the office inthe equipment room----one for ether1/poe (ip 10.1.0.1/24) and the second for ether2 (ip 10.2.0.1/24). the wireless interface has no clients on it yet.

it suddenly stopped working about 2 days ago, it worked after a lot of restarting. but this morning it sudeenly stopped working and when i PINGed the ether interface, none of them replied. it has version 2.8.23 on it.

i dont know what to do about it, can anyone assist based on past experince.

thanks .

Posted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 4:49 pm
by sten
Routerboard? Make sure you have latest BIOS.
Your version is old. I never had success with 2.8.23.

Posted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 5:01 pm
by bholler
hello sir,

What do u advice i should do, and how do i get the latest BIOS and is it adviceable for me to upgrade to 2.8.28. or version 2.9?

Posted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 9:11 pm
by jarosoup
have you checked the power supply for the POE adapter?

Posted: Sat Sep 17, 2005 1:21 am
by sten
What do u advice i should do, and how do i get the latest BIOS and is it adviceable for me to upgrade to 2.8.28. or version 2.9?
2.8.28 is a pretty safe bet.

Install routerboard package.
Open terminal window
Type in:

/ system routerboard print

And you'll see what version is installed and what version is available in the routerboard package. Just out of curiosity, could you post the one that is installed?

Anyway, to upgrade you type in the following:

/ system routerboard upgrade

Router will now reboot and new software is available.

Remember to upgrade software before upgrading BIOS as the BIOS is available in the BIOS.

One alternate method of upgrading the BIOS is to download the bios file at http://www.routerboard.com and ftp it to the router and then typing:

/ system routerboard upgrade

Posted: Sat Sep 17, 2005 9:07 pm
by bholler
hello,

i have done the upgrade of the firmware and routerOS but i now realised that the routerboards hangs during bootup, and when i removed the RouterBouard 71 from the PCI slot of the R230, the routeboard boots successfully. i ready through the manual,and i could deduced that one should disable "pci-backoff" should in case this kind of problem is occurs.
i have tried everything i could. Can anybody be of help?

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 1:49 pm
by goldclick
hello,

i have done the upgrade of the firmware and routerOS but i now realised that the routerboards hangs during bootup, and when i removed the RouterBouard 71 from the PCI slot of the R230, the routeboard boots successfully. i ready through the manual,and i could deduced that one should disable "pci-backoff" should in case this kind of problem is occurs.
i have tried everything i could. Can anybody be of help?
I had same problem months back. RB230, RB14 and 4 Atheros 65mW a/b/g cards. Router boots and hangs midway. I later discovered that one of the regulators on the RB14 was warming up. After some trial removing the a/b/g cards one after the other, I found the bad card, replaced it and no problems again.

If you have a card on your RB71 riser, remove and boot router without it and see.

Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 5:02 pm
by bholler
hello sonny,

i have tried it that way before and the only time i had a successful booting was whn i removed the entire RB 17 from the PCI slot. Please anyone with a solution cos i dont know what to do again.