Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
anpena
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:46 am

Same MAC registered twice OS 4.11

Mon Nov 15, 2010 5:38 pm

Hello There

We are seeing an issue that looks not normal, same MAC address registered twice in the same AP on different WLAN, our AP are running OS 4.11 and this seeing on three different AP so far.

See attached screen shots.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
nawas
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 2:20 pm

Re: Same MAC registered twice OS 4.11

Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:27 pm

:( :( :(
???????
 
mbsteez
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 2:37 pm

Re: Same MAC registered twice OS 4.11

Mon Nov 29, 2010 7:14 pm

If you copy a config from one CPE into another, the wireless MAC address may also go with it. The MAC address of the wireless interface can actually be changed via winbox or the CLI.
jj.jpg
Or try to pop a new terminal window and use this:

> interface wireless print
Flags: X - disabled, R - running
0 R name="r5h-1" mtu=1500 mac-address=00:0C:42:60:F3:C7 arp=enabled
interface-type=Atheros AR5413 mode=station-wds

If the MAC addresses of the wireless cards are the same but the ethernet MAC's are different, you have copied the wireless MAC into another radio unknowingly. Easy enough to fix but you have to know what the proper MAC should be. It should be printed on the card itself but then you have to go replace the CPE, unless you keep records of which radio card goes into which RouterBoard.

To change the MAC address via Winbox, just select the MAC Address field and enter the correct address.

To change via CLI, use:

> int wireless set 0 mac-address=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX

where XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX is the correct MAC address.

Note that if you are using MAC addresses for authentication, you will have to change your entry for that user in your Access List/User Manager/Radius server.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
xxiii
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 12:55 am

Re: Same MAC registered twice OS 4.11

Tue Nov 30, 2010 2:11 am

If the above is not the issue, does it still appear if you close and re-open winbox?
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1896
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: Same MAC registered twice OS 4.11

Tue Nov 30, 2010 2:35 am

If you copy a config from one CPE into another, the wireless MAC address may also go with it. The MAC address of the wireless interface can actually be changed via winbox or the CLI.
If you change mac address will you not lose connectivity as the new mac address will not auto reassociate with the AP ?
N21roadie,
Network 100% MT for Now?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests