Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
wispwest
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 3:48 am

150/300Mbps Data Rates with NV2?

Sun Jan 02, 2011 3:53 am

I never got a response from this when posting in other threads. I am just simply wondering if there are any plans on implementing the FULL 802.11n data rates with NV2. We really need them at our backhaul sites.

I am hoping the next firmware will include a fix for this, or is not ever going to be possible with the NV2 protocal?
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: 150/300Mbps Data Rates with NV2?

Sun Jan 02, 2011 4:57 am

It will be perfectly possible - but in reality it will be unlikely you can attain those rates on links of any real distance. Not legally anyway... and not in unlicensed band.
 
wispwest
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 3:48 am

Re: 150/300Mbps Data Rates with NV2?

Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:07 am

Well I have a few short links (1-5 miles) that will connect at 150Mbps-HT, but not both directions. I found with NV2,I can maintain a stable 135 TX/ 135 RX. Some of my regular Nstreme links are 150/39, and NV2 helps maintain the higher data rates. If only NV2 could do 150 and 300 rates, I'd have a perfect fix.
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: 150/300Mbps Data Rates with NV2?

Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:11 am

The rates lock - but do you get that kind of throughput? we run several links locked at lower rates which still give us 100mbit REAL TCP throughput - but any higher than that I honestly cant see happening - unless maybe 1km or less, using high gain (22dB) antennas, in a clean environment. Remember that Rates don't equal real throughput.

Plus you would have to be running it on a board which supports GIG connections too...
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: 150/300Mbps Data Rates with NV2?

Sun Jan 02, 2011 5:13 am

Oh, also worth mentioning the N cards with MT have a few idiosyncrasies...

Do you run single chain, or dual chain? obviously you have extension channel enabled (this is where your higher rates come in) - clean environment? we've found N cards pick up self interference from co-located radios like crazy!
 
wispwest
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 3:48 am

Re: 150/300Mbps Data Rates with NV2?

Sun Jan 02, 2011 6:15 am

I have a 2 mile, dual-chain link working at 270/270Mbps in NV2 mode. I can push 210Mbps UDP and around 120Mbps TCP. We are going to upgrade to the RB800 boards to give us GB ports. I was thinking if I can link up at the full 300Mbps, I can get ~145Mbps REAL throughput.
 
Stanislav Hrncir
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: CZ
Contact:

Re: 150/300Mbps Data Rates with NV2?

Sun Jan 02, 2011 2:47 pm

Really problem isnt with national regulations / legality or no / but with absent implementation of short guard interval with thus rates
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: 150/300Mbps Data Rates with NV2?

Sun Jan 02, 2011 9:58 pm

MMM - i would first be asking yourself why you cant get 145mbits when locked to 270mbps rates...
 
wispwest
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 3:48 am

Re: 150/300Mbps Data Rates with NV2?

Sun Jan 02, 2011 10:06 pm

^^ because the 270Mbps rates are "air data rates", in which you never get but maybe 1/2 of that. That is why the Potential Throughput of G-Turbo 108Mbps is only 55Mbps, and so on...

I might be able to get around 120Mbps REAL throughput on 270Mbps Rates, but will eventually need more :), as this backhaul feeds around 1700 of our customers
 
User avatar
Belyivulk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:53 pm
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: 150/300Mbps Data Rates with NV2?

Sun Jan 02, 2011 10:10 pm

Fair enough :) You can always go licensed :)
 
Montana
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 6:24 am
Location: Moscow Idaho

Re: 150/300Mbps Data Rates with NV2?

Sat Jan 22, 2011 7:32 am

Licensed link is the way to go for a major backhaul. We just put in a new OC3 link in from Helena to our small town in Whitehall 2 months ago. The local competitor is using Trango equipment and is causing major interference in the 5.2/5.8 band for any serious unlicensed backhaul to work that is why we have gone to licensed equipment.
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1896
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: 150/300Mbps Data Rates with NV2?

Sat Jan 22, 2011 1:19 pm

........we've found N cards pick up self interference from co-located radios like crazy!
The pickup of co-located radio interference from AP's + Ptp's (on same band) is a major problem and it would require NV2 to wireless sync all the radio's, when this is implemented we will see big jump in performance?
N21roadie,
Network 100% MT for Now?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 36 guests