Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

NV2 use disables other wireless settings?

Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:01 am

If I use NV2 on both AP and client what settings in wireless / advance are abolete/still off need?
- Hw Retries? I have no clue.
- Hw Fragmentation Threshold? I gues it still works?
- Hw Protection Mode? I gues not, NV2 takes over?
- Hw Protetion Threshold. NV2 takes over?
- Frame Lifetime? I don't know.
- Adaptibe Noise Immunity. I presume it still works.
- Preamble Mode. I presume it still is appicable
- Disconnect Timeout. I gues it still works, but am not sure.
- On Fail Retry Time. I gues it still works, but am not sure.

Nstreme: I presume all settings in Nstreme have no more means when NV2 enabled.
 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1684
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

Re: NV2 use disables other wireless settings?

Fri Jan 14, 2011 6:58 pm

Hi,

I know that HWretries is not working with NV2. Doesn't matter what you put there, NV2 don't use it.
for the Nv2 protocol the hw-reties setting is ignored.
Martín
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in Traffic Shaping, Wireless, Internetworking, Routing and User Management.
MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: NV2 use disables other wireless settings?

Sat Jan 15, 2011 12:36 am

Thks, at least someone replies to this topic. Otherwise it is ear-devastating silent. :(
 
User avatar
mjoksimovic
newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 1:19 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: NV2 use disables other wireless settings?

Sat Jan 15, 2011 1:23 am

Hi,

I know that HWretries is not working with NV2. Doesn't matter what you put there, NV2 don't use it.
for the Nv2 protocol the hw-reties setting is ignored.
We have some more different experiences with hw-retries and NV2 on 40MHz channel width, 802.11A. With hw-retries=4-7, NV2 works well, with 10 or more, routers freeze every 5-15 minutes. I contacted support with no solution for us.

Best regards,
Miroslav
"Your chances of success in any undertaking can always be measured by your belief in yourself". - Robert Collier
 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1684
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

Re: NV2 use disables other wireless settings?

Sat Jan 15, 2011 1:53 am

Uldis from Mikrotik said this...
Martín
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in Traffic Shaping, Wireless, Internetworking, Routing and User Management.
MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: NV2 use disables other wireless settings?

Sat Jan 15, 2011 2:08 am

Uldis from Mikrotik said this...
He said what?
 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1684
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

Re: NV2 use disables other wireless settings?

Sat Jan 15, 2011 12:25 pm

See my first reply..
Martín
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in Traffic Shaping, Wireless, Internetworking, Routing and User Management.
MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests