Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
ShShZ
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 11:26 pm

r52hn speed problem

Thu Jan 13, 2011 12:08 pm

I set up a RB433AH with a R52HN and a 2db ant.
Anything I could find on MikroTik was not helped me to increase the connection rate.
With the same notebook I connect to Linksys wag120n with 150Mbps but to R52HN with 54Mbps.
Any help would be appreciated.
Last edited by ShShZ on Sun Jan 16, 2011 5:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Best Regards,
Shahram Shams
 
User avatar
mahnet
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: r52hn speed peroblem

Fri Jan 14, 2011 5:43 pm

In the Mikrotik winbox with r52hn have u enabled 2.4 "n" mode. if u r running on b/g mode it would obviously connect at 54mbps.
 
ShShZ
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 11:26 pm

Re: r52hn speed peroblem

Sun Jan 16, 2011 2:13 pm

Thank you for your reply but In winbox I set the Band=2GHz-b/g/n and also HT Extension=above control but its still 54Mbps. Any other help will be appreciated.
Best Regards,
Shahram Shams
 
ShShZ
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 11:26 pm

Re: r52hn speed problem

Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:01 pm

I wonder if there is any document specially for R52HN?
I searched many times but couldn't find anything except the "802.11n Setup Guide" which presented "TP-Link Wireless N MiniPCI Adapter"
Above mentioned document was helpful but I still have some question and still couldn't connect above 54 Mbps. Use it as AP indoor.
Best Regards,
Shahram Shams
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3428
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: r52hn speed problem

Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:37 pm

try to push more date through the link and you should notice that the data-rates increases. Also check in your client device if has N mode enabled.
 
ShShZ
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 11:26 pm

Re: r52hn speed problem

Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:29 pm

There are 5 notebooks with N enabled and when I connect them to Linksys wag12n, they connect at 150 Mbps.
At the same time I connect them to RB433AH with R52HN equiped with one Antenna, they connect at 54 or even less.
FYI they are working and trying to push their data transfer and at I check rate at the same time.
Best Regards,
Shahram Shams
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3428
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: r52hn speed problem

Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:35 pm

try to make the support output file at the time when you send the data and send it to support@mikrotik.com
 
User avatar
MCT
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: r52hn speed problem

Tue Jan 18, 2011 8:07 am

The linksys N router runs multiple chains. If you're only using a single antenna with the R52Hn then you're only using one of the two chains if I'm not mistaken.
 
ShShZ
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 11:26 pm

Re: r52hn speed problem

Tue Jan 18, 2011 9:48 am

Thanks, I'll send the support file today, but I have some question.
- Do I have to install the second ant to RH52 in role of Indoor AP for max 6 notebook with N enabled?
- Is the distance matter in this problem? I mean at the place I installed the RB433AH equiped with R52H and just one Ant. there is an open office which the notebooks are in radius of maximum 5 meter away from the AP.
Best Regards,
Shahram Shams
 
Vova
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:05 am
Location: Riga

Re: r52hn speed problem

Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:07 am

I have the same problem :-(

(R52Hn wireless card with two antennas, RB433AH, v5.0rc10)
Вова.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3428
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: r52hn speed problem

Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:21 pm

what is your client and what kind of problem you have?
 
Vova
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:05 am
Location: Riga

Re: r52hn speed problem

Sat Mar 05, 2011 2:09 pm

Client - intel centrino 6200 AGN.

Problem solved:
To achieve transfer rates greater than 54 Mbps on 802.11n connections, WPA2-AES security must be selected. No security (None) can be selected to enable network setup and troubleshooting. An administrator can enable or disable support for high throughput mode to reduce power-consumption or conflicts with other bands or compatibility issues.
P.S. on 5.0 i have problems with wireless, but on 4.17 - almost everything is allright.

(distance from my laptop to this router - 3 meters)

PING log on 5.0:
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=59ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=81ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=114ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=63ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=9ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=51ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=227ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=60ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=66ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=151ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=194ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=228ms TTL=644
4.17:
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=45ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=69ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.3.254: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Any ideas? Or it's just wireless interference ? There is many wireless networks around..
Вова.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3428
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: r52hn speed problem

Mon Mar 07, 2011 2:29 pm

compare the data-rates when you were doing the pings and background traffic that you had.
 
User avatar
djape
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: r52hn speed problem

Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:39 pm

P.S. on 5.0 i have problems with wireless, but on 4.17 - almost everything is allright.
I can confirm this.
I was having very poor performance on 5.x
Once I read this and downgraded to 4.17 I'm getting around 25mbit/s on 2m distant AP.

I except more, but hey, this is great comparing 7-8 mbit/s with 5.x

Cheers ;)
I drink like a pirate and smoke like a hippie...
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3428
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: r52hn speed problem

Thu Mar 10, 2011 5:00 pm

djape, what is your configuration?
How do you test ir?
 
User avatar
djape
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: r52hn speed problem

Sat Mar 12, 2011 1:58 am

Hi uldis.

My configuration is as follows:

RB433 (mipsbe)

R52hn wireless miniPCI card (connectors and rubber antennas attached properly - after 8 years I know that much)

Desktop (10 of them) connected to TP-Link 1gbit/s 48-port rack mount switch.

2 latops, one with 965 a/g/n Intel wireless card and other one with AR9285 Wireless card.

Everything default! Tried all 2.4 channels.

I had 5.10 then 5.11 and both I tested by downloading large video file from one of the desktop machines (tried from several and let me point that LAN is working superb) to one of my laptops.

Intel 965 was performing about 7-8 mbit/s on a 2 meter distance while 5 meter distant AR9285 was getting 3-4 mbit/s.

Once I downgraded to 4.17, all setting default and I tried all 2.4 channels I noticed huge difference.

Intel 965 is going 25mbit/s (sometimes to 27mbit/s) while AR9285 is going 8-9 mbit/s.

Of course, this is good, but still disappointing and I will tell you why...

I plugged TP-Link Access Point Model No: TL-WA701ND which is very cheap AP and guess what:
Intel 965 is getting 38-39mbit/s and AR9285 is getting 13-14 mbit/s ?!

So, you guys have some major problems with wireless and I will repeat my self again...

...I'm faithful Mikrotik user since 2003, spread all good words about Mikrotik, but seriously, FIX wireless, please.
Fix it to work decently, nothing spectacular, just try not to be worse than cheap Access Points on the market.


That would be all on this subject from me and please do understand that I wrote this in good manner.
I don't want anybody insulted, just want to point that Mikrotik should provide best wireless performance by all means if you guys want to stay in this game.

Cheers,
Djape
I drink like a pirate and smoke like a hippie...
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3428
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: r52hn speed problem

Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:28 pm

is it possible that you make support output files during the file transfer from v5.0rc11 and from v4.17 and do that for each wireless card (Intel and Atheros) - total you would have 4 files.
Send those cards to support@mikrotik.com

That file download you were using HTTP, FTP or windows sharing from other PCs shared folder?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: LotusBG04 and 25 guests