Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
sonny
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:14 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Decreasing throughput/speed in PtMP installtion with NV2

Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:13 am

We have two APs running on Nstreme with 36 and 12 clients since 2 yaers flawlessly throughput is about 12-16 MBit/s down and 3 MBit/s up
RB fimrware is 4.14 / wlancards Atheros 5413 / clients from -65 to -85db / wlan locked at 36Mbit
Clients running 4.16 on 532 Boards and 5RC7 on RB433 and 411

When enabling NV2 (default settings) all traffic is viscous and throughput is dropping 20-30%

So max traffic is max. about 10 MBit/s down and 2 MBit/s up

On PTP configurations we have no problems to achieve 100 MBit/s one way

Can anyone acknowlegde this behavior?

Regards
Sonny
Karl Sonnleitner
Senior Wireless-Expert
Restlesspowerbox - managed powersupply for Routerboards
 
sonny
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:14 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Decreasing throughput/speed in PtMP installtion with NV2

Sun Jan 16, 2011 10:25 pm

Nobody uses NV2 in PTMP?
This is a real world traffic AP 12900 connections 12 APS connedted to sector
Image

after switching form NV2 to nstreme (sunday 21.00h)
Image

any comments?
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1838
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: Decreasing throughput/speed in PtMP installtion with NV2

Sun Jan 16, 2011 11:08 pm

My tests show similar results. In real life I see 802.11 performing
on some APs better than nstreme and nv2.
 
sonny
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:14 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Decreasing throughput/speed in PtMP installtion with NV2

Mon Jan 17, 2011 12:20 am

Thanks, ste for your reply.
I tried varius configurations but had no luck on PtMP.

in my opinion TDMA size is to small to achieve high throughput in PtMp.

sonny
Karl Sonnleitner
Senior Wireless-Expert
Restlesspowerbox - managed powersupply for Routerboards
 
chadd
Member
Member
Posts: 347
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 2:40 am

Re: Decreasing throughput/speed in PtMP installtion with NV2

Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:52 am

I can't keep NV2 running stable long enough in PTMP to do much testing in an outdoor environment. But from the testing I have been able to do you need to turn the timing up to about 8 to get good throughput out of it. Once you do that it will push some pretty good numbers until clients stop passing traffic and start chain disconnecting that is.
 
sonny
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:14 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Decreasing throughput/speed in PtMP installtion with NV2

Mon Jan 17, 2011 11:40 am

@chadd
I will try the settings 8 to 10 the next days on two APs 12 clients and 35 clients.
then reporting here the results here.
with 2 or 4 as tdma-period-size I got stable latency from AP to clients about 20-30ms.

with 8 it increases latency to 40ms but stable

@mikrotik
Any profund knowledge to NV2 welcome!

sonny
Karl Sonnleitner
Senior Wireless-Expert
Restlesspowerbox - managed powersupply for Routerboards
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1838
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: Decreasing throughput/speed in PtMP installtion with NV2

Mon Jan 17, 2011 12:33 pm

@chadd
I will try the settings 8 to 10 the next days on two APs 12 clients and 35 clients.
then reporting here the results here.
with 2 or 4 as tdma-period-size I got stable latency from AP to clients about 20-30ms.

with 8 it increases latency to 40ms but stable

@mikrotik
Any profund knowledge to NV2 welcome!

sonny
Yes. Maybe we have to accept some latency in the 40-60 range
to make it stable.
This is what you see using wimax and is no technical problem.
Well used sectors show higher latency anyhow.
 
sonny
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:14 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Decreasing throughput/speed in PtMP installtion with NV2

Tue Jan 18, 2011 8:32 pm

new update:
AP 4.16 Clients 5.0rc7 and 4.16
TDMA period size 4 / 6 / 8 marginal better throughput higher latancy - but really not good comparing nstreme
after upgrading the AP to 4.16 swichting back nstreme = clients keep not connected some fluctuating randomly.
with nv2 it is stable.

Image

Regards
sonny
Karl Sonnleitner
Senior Wireless-Expert
Restlesspowerbox - managed powersupply for Routerboards
 
chadd
Member
Member
Posts: 347
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 2:40 am

Re: Decreasing throughput/speed in PtMP installtion with NV2

Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:41 am

One think I have noticed is to make sure that you don't have any RTS/CTS settings enabled on the AP while you are in Nstreme with the NV2 package installed with 4.16. Clients will chain disconnect.
new update:
AP 4.16 Clients 5.0rc7 and 4.16
TDMA period size 4 / 6 / 8 marginal better throughput higher latancy - but really not good comparing nstreme
after upgrading the AP to 4.16 swichting back nstreme = clients keep not connected some fluctuating randomly.
with nv2 it is stable.

Image

Regards
sonny
 
pikpik
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:25 am

Re: Decreasing throughput/speed in PtMP installtion with NV2

Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:36 pm

What kind of tunnel use in PTMP on nv2 ? WDS is working fine ?
 
sonny
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 5:14 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Decreasing throughput/speed in PtMP installtion with NV2

Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:40 pm

We have installtions with WDS and some using Stationbridge mode.
We switched to NV2 on 5 sectors 6-8 weeks ago. Now all on ROS 5.6 - it is really stable 20 days up with no disconnction.
But the Network is slower than in Nstreme mode.
In NV2 mode all connections feel to be viscous and not as fast as in nstreme mode.
Nstreme is not stable in wireless connections Datarates fluctuates from 6 -130MBit up and down.

We expierenced possible MTU problems with ROS 5.6 on some eoip tunnels.
Karl Sonnleitner
Senior Wireless-Expert
Restlesspowerbox - managed powersupply for Routerboards
 
rpingar
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Decreasing throughput/speed in PtMP installtion with NV2

Thu Sep 15, 2011 11:17 am

we stated to complain with MT since 6-7 months ago about the NV2 in PtMP where it is slower then Nstreme of about 35%.

no real answer from MT.
Increasing the period size up to 20 didn't fix the issue, but increased the latency.

regards
ros
 
Wmillo
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 1:00 pm
Location: India

Re: Decreasing throughput/speed in PtMP installtion with NV2

Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:02 pm

there are news about NV2?
I'm going to activate a new PTMP sector for business clients.
i would use the best mk solution. I thought NV2 + 802.11n.
what is the best solution at the moment?NV2 +802.11n, NV2 + 802.11g, nstreme+802.11n, or nstreme + 802.11g ?
Thanks and Merry Christmas :)
 
Lakis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 701
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:52 pm

Re: Decreasing throughput/speed in PtMP installtion with NV2

Wed Dec 21, 2011 2:00 am

there are news about NV2?
I'm going to activate a new PTMP sector for business clients.
i would use the best mk solution. I thought NV2 + 802.11n.
what is the best solution at the moment?NV2 +802.11n, NV2 + 802.11g, nstreme+802.11n, or nstreme + 802.11g ?
Thanks and Merry Christmas :)
This is old post now I think 80-90% of nv2 problems are fixed, have more than 30 links + 8 PTMP sector with more than 30 clients on each after MT v5.9 I can say nv2 is faster than nstreem
If u are bilding new network just start with 5Ghz and 802.11n standart equipment, use SXT for clients - I think this is the best
after that with a klick of a batton u can choose what u want tu use nv2 or nstreme
 
rua
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 8:53 pm
Location: copenhagen, DK

Re: Decreasing throughput/speed in PtMP installtion with NV2

Mon Jul 11, 2016 6:21 pm

Nobody uses NV2 in PTMP?
This is a real world traffic AP 12900 connections 12 APS connedted to sector
Image

after switching form NV2 to nstreme (sunday 21.00h)
Image

any comments?
hi sonny
could you re-produce these two images.... iwould like to see them both... as of now, the links are broken
/john
MTCNA, MTCRE
Copenhagen, Denmark
Consulting, building and managing networks.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alextoth, r00t, R00tKit and 31 guests