Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
Atlant
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 10:26 am

RouterBoard vs Own System

Wed Oct 19, 2005 10:35 am

Well, I need an 2.4Ghz outdoor AP!
On Mikrotiks site I saw a ready outdoor AP but I am not sure if those 266Mhz are good enough for me!

The question is:
If I want for ex. 70-100 clients to use one AP in range of 1-2km, would it be ok to buy a ready RB from Mikrotik, or beter make my own system with a 2-3Ghz CPU + bla bla?
As well if I make one, what CPU, Motherboard etc. would you recommend!?
Would an outdoor box from Mikrotik be ok for a self made system, or it can handle only RB?
What an outdoor box has to contain?
Will an 15-17dB omnidirectional antenna be ok for that purpose or i shall better use 4x90' directionals?

thx in advance
 
Hellbound
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 509
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:21 am

Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:27 pm

RB is easy to install, low power consumption and smaller space it takes while your own system may take alot of space, and higher power consumption and will be harder to install, but I don't think 266mhz is enough for that amount of user with 1mb bandwidth for each (70m).

however I have not tested routerboard by myself and still waiting for my shipping, I can put the result as soon as I got it
 
kenk
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 7:22 am
Location: Tumbi Umbi, Australia

Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:39 pm

Although i have never tried Routerboard, having gone down the path of using other products, Routerboard has its avantages in being fully compatible with the software. Things that might not work in other platforms are the system watchdog - important in an outside access-point,
system monitoring of voltages and temperature, and the ability of the
board to handle high traffic across the mini-pCI card without lockups, and
to operate from a wide voltage range... :) Sales commissions thankfully
accepted Ken K.
Ken Kirkby
 
wildbill442
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1050
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 7:29 am
Location: Sacramento, CA

Re: RouterBoard vs Own System

Wed Oct 19, 2005 6:04 pm

Well, I need an 2.4Ghz outdoor AP!
On Mikrotiks site I saw a ready outdoor AP but I am not sure if those 266Mhz are good enough for me!

The question is:
If I want for ex. 70-100 clients to use one AP in range of 1-2km, would it be ok to buy a ready RB from Mikrotik, or beter make my own system with a 2-3Ghz CPU + bla bla?
As well if I make one, what CPU, Motherboard etc. would you recommend!?
Would an outdoor box from Mikrotik be ok for a self made system, or it can handle only RB?
What an outdoor box has to contain?
Will an 15-17dB omnidirectional antenna be ok for that purpose or i shall better use 4x90' directionals?

thx in advance
first off, 1 antenna per AP is a good assumption.. If you start using splitters and trying to run multiple antennas off a single radio you're opening a bag of worms that's better left alone.

for 70-120 users, I'd say use 3 RB500 series boards with 3 x Ubiquiti SR2's and 3 x 120 degree sectors and setup the AP's on non-overlapping channels (ex:1,6,11). There's no real benchmark for how many users you can get on a RB500 but the general consensus is 50 per AP.

wisp-router.com has all the enclousers you'll need they even sell bundled systems for indoor/outdoor use.
 
Hellbound
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 509
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:21 am

Re: RouterBoard vs Own System

Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 pm

Well, I need an 2.4Ghz outdoor AP!
On Mikrotiks site I saw a ready outdoor AP but I am not sure if those 266Mhz are good enough for me!

The question is:
If I want for ex. 70-100 clients to use one AP in range of 1-2km, would it be ok to buy a ready RB from Mikrotik, or beter make my own system with a 2-3Ghz CPU + bla bla?
As well if I make one, what CPU, Motherboard etc. would you recommend!?
Would an outdoor box from Mikrotik be ok for a self made system, or it can handle only RB?
What an outdoor box has to contain?
Will an 15-17dB omnidirectional antenna be ok for that purpose or i shall better use 4x90' directionals?

thx in advance
first off, 1 antenna per AP is a good assumption.. If you start using splitters and trying to run multiple antennas off a single radio you're opening a bag of worms that's better left alone.

for 70-120 users, I'd say use 3 RB500 series boards with 3 x Ubiquiti SR2's and 3 x 120 degree sectors and setup the AP's on non-overlapping channels (ex:1,6,11). There's no real benchmark for how many users you can get on a RB500 but the general consensus is 50 per AP.

wisp-router.com has all the enclousers you'll need they even sell bundled systems for indoor/outdoor use.
have you really tried 3 sr2 on one box? I don't think it has enough power to supply three cards, I even have doubt if it support two
 
chucka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 4:46 am
Location: U.S.

Wed Oct 19, 2005 8:44 pm

He said 3 RB500s with 3 SR2 cards. I'm sure he's talking one per RB500.
 
Atlant
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 10:26 am

Wed Oct 19, 2005 9:08 pm

Thx guys for advice!
Well, now is anybody to recommend a good 120' antenna to a system described?

And something more, does the mikrotik AAA concept include user management per traffic, data rate,time? Or a Radius is a must?
 
wildbill442
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1050
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 7:29 am
Location: Sacramento, CA

Wed Oct 19, 2005 9:23 pm

He said 3 RB500s with 3 SR2 cards. I'm sure he's talking one per RB500.
Hellbound,

1 SR2 per RB530.. 3 x 530's in all..

Bill
 
Hellbound
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 509
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:21 am

Thu Oct 20, 2005 6:08 am

Thx guys for advice!
Well, now is anybody to recommend a good 120' antenna to a system described?

And something more, does the mikrotik AAA concept include user management per traffic, data rate,time? Or a Radius is a must?
it can do basic AAA but only if you have one gateway to internet and
if you have multiple gateway to internet you must have radius,

and sorry I didn't catch the 3 boards... however I was wondering if normal
Intel or AMD motherboard can handle two or three of SR2? or what if
we lower the RF output power to half? will it work on one routerboard 530?

thanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: zandhaas and 28 guests