Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1136
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

V4.17 with NV2 upgrade to V5.0 big issue...

Tue Apr 05, 2011 11:15 am

Dear all..

I have tried few link today, if you V4.17 running on wireless-NV2, Please do not upgrade to V5.0.
Cause if you do so, your wireless interface will be disable once you rebooted the routerboard.

then you need to travel and re-configure it again..

If you plan to upgrade to the V5.0, you have to disable the V4.17 wireless-NV2 package.
and let default run on wireless package.
 
Beccara
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 3:13 am

Re: V4.17 with NV2 upgrade to V5.0 big issue...

Tue Apr 05, 2011 12:19 pm

Pretty sure the same thing happened with 3.30 and wireless-test and routing-test with the upgrade to 4.0
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3442
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: V4.17 with NV2 upgrade to V5.0 big issue...

Tue Apr 05, 2011 2:04 pm

what board you are using? what packages were enabled/installed in v4.17 and what packages you used for upgrading to v5.0?
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1136
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

Re: V4.17 with NV2 upgrade to V5.0 big issue...

Tue Apr 05, 2011 2:27 pm

what board you are using? what packages were enabled/installed in v4.17 and what packages you used for upgrading to v5.0?
Dear Uldis..
The RB433, RB433AH, RB411 and RB411Ah also having same issue.
in just only enable advance tools, system, routerboard and wireless.

with the same system package, if in V4.17 by default running on wireless package instead of wireless-nv2 package.
then upgrading will have no issue.

What i have to do is, disable the wireless-nv2 and enable wireless, then reboot, then only upgrade to V5.0, it's safe with this.
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3119
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: V4.17 with NV2 upgrade to V5.0 big issue...

Tue Apr 05, 2011 2:36 pm

Uldis,
I had one rb433 running 4.17 with nv2 wireless package, dhcp-package, routerboard, routing and system package. Wireless running on normal 802.11 operation. Firmware 2.27
Did a remote upload of same 5 new 5.0 packages and link disconnected. After roll out found the new wireless package disabled.
Just enabled package and since then unit works fine.
 
chadd
Member
Member
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 2:40 am

Re: V4.17 with NV2 upgrade to V5.0 big issue...

Wed Apr 06, 2011 7:07 am

Same issue that I reported last week.

Just got done sending an spout to Uldis from a failed upgrade.

Chadd
 
pljubas
newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:46 pm

Re: V4.17 with NV2 upgrade to V5.0 big issue...

Wed Apr 06, 2011 10:30 am

Hi to all,

similar thing happened to me, but only when I used Dude to upgrade 4.17 to 5.0. New wireless 5.0 was not sent to router and now I'm without wireless package.

The worst thing is that location is 400km away from my current location and I can't access router anymore...

When you manually send packages to router, upgrade is ok.

Petar
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3442
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: V4.17 with NV2 upgrade to V5.0 big issue...

Wed Apr 06, 2011 2:49 pm

we have found a problem and we will fix it in v5.1.
you can wait till we release v5.1 or enable back the regular wireless package and then upgrade to v5.0.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exu9x, Google [Bot], vdecas and 14 guests