Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
daiceman
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 9:43 pm

RB532 + Cold = ???

Thu Oct 27, 2005 11:03 pm

I just put my first 532 at 230' and it gets pretty cold where I am at. Like -30F/-34C what are my chances of having to climb in the dead of winter to replace a radio that freezes to death?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24496
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:24 am

we put some working routerboards in a freezer and let them stay there for a few hours (days?). it was working fine. as you can see in the specs it says operational temperature from -20C (-4F)
 
daiceman
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 9:43 pm

Fri Oct 28, 2005 4:28 pm

Thanks for the reply.

When we hit -30F this winter, and we always do, I will post how they fared.

Jeff
 
jarosoup
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 9:02 am

Fri Oct 28, 2005 5:16 pm

You might want to consider using a ceramic heater or at least lining your outdoor enclosure with insulation (if it doesn't get too hot in the summer).
 
johnlaska
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:29 pm

Re: RB532 + Cold = ???

Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:58 pm

We use rb133s and have had a pretty nasty cold snap, -30C . We also live in an area with MAJOR weather swings! Happy to report that during high and low humidity, ice coating the outside unit, windchill, high winds, blah blah and everything survived the weather.

BUT (and it's a big, round, Jennifer Lopez butt)

MAKE SURE that your enclosure is completely tight, I recommend using Butel tape, aka "tar tape," (basically pliable tar that you peel off of a paper backing) to cover over every possible leak area. If your enclosure has weather stripping, keep a close eye on it during the cold months. We have learned that the things that need to heat up on the board (processor, voltage regulator, etc.) will stay warm and warm up other things on the board as well.
 
User avatar
jp
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 5:06 am
Location: Maine
Contact:

Re: RB532 + Cold = ???

Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:12 am

Do not seal it completely tight. It will draw in condensation as the pressure/temperature/humidity around it changes. You want it tight enough to keep the insects out, but open enough to permit moisture draining. Look at your antennas (panel/sector), they have drain holes in them.
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Re:

Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:23 am

----
hai frens,
so, we are sorry here in the Tropical Paradise ....
try visit our place here: :wink: http://www.bucuview.com/

regards
Hasbullah.com
----
we put some working routerboards in a freezer and let them stay there for a few hours (days?). it was working fine. as you can see in the specs it says operational temperature from -20C (-4F)
 
johnlaska
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:29 pm

Re: RB532 + Cold = ???

Fri Jan 25, 2008 6:57 pm

JP, thanks for the correction, we will stick a drain/breathing hole in our equipment right away.

(PS: I should have added that we have also insulated our boxes with a thin foam.)
 
fcwireless
newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 6:38 am

Re: RB532 + Cold = ???

Sun Jan 27, 2008 8:27 am

We just replaced 3 rb153's with 532's

Just after that we got a BIG cold snap. Our 3 new 532's are in northern wisconsin and have been running consistently for the past 3 months with no problems or outages whatsoever.

During this time the temp has gotten down to -40 w/wind chill. The temperature there can sometimes swing 40F between day and night.

We use outdoor sealed plastic boxes and set the cpu-mode to regular during the winter. Seems to be all we need to do..
system routerboard settings cpu-mode regular
although... we are R&Ding a larger outdoor solar powered box with a integrated heat exchanger (don't ask, so far we can't find a way to make it cost-effective and may just need to build them one off for us only)
 
jcremin
Member
Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 7:57 am

Re: RB532 + Cold = ???

Sun Feb 10, 2008 6:51 pm

Where in WI are you located?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], rioven, Spaz and 49 guests