Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
mac86
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:52 am
Location: bahia blanca - argentina
Contact:

will work this PTP 50km link?

Sat Jun 11, 2011 5:57 pm

Hi,

I need to get 50 Mbit throughput on a 49km PTP link.

Image

Which equipment suggest for each point ?

I think that a rb800 (with nstreme or nv2), and 34db rocket dish antenna , with ....

- sr71-15 ?
- r52hn ?
- other suggests?
 
mgutz2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 8:55 pm
Location: Nicaragua

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Sat Jun 11, 2011 7:35 pm

No se si habras montado las graficas reales de la antena rocket dish porque miro que el freznel esta muy abierto, yo monte un enlace punto a punto a 45 km y he logrado pasar 20mbps full duplex a 20mhz, supongo que a 40mhz se podria lograr algo mejor, pero no me aventuro hacerlo porque la zona donde estoy esta muy congestionada de interferencia y esta a mas de 4 horas de mi locacion actual y si me encuentro con interferencia a los 40mhz mas bien puede ocasionarme que se me caiga el enlace.
El hardware que yo utilize es tarjeta madre rb411ah en ambos lados, tarjeta de rf sr71-15 en ambos lados y como no tenia antenas de doble polaridad utilize dos antenas de 34dbi marca Radiowave por cada lado, la ganancia que obtuve a esa distancia fue de 64db y el data rate se mantiene en 104mbps en ambos lados, la version de mis tarjetas es la 4.17 y no he probado con la version 5 en este punto por la lejania, aunque a 20km con este mismo hardware y version 5.9 he logrado pasar hasta 90mbps, y te hablo de conectar una maquina a un lado y al otro y hacer pruebas.
Slaudos.
 
User avatar
mac86
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:52 am
Location: bahia blanca - argentina
Contact:

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Sat Jun 11, 2011 8:24 pm

No se si habras montado las graficas reales de la antena rocket dish porque miro que el freznel esta muy abierto, yo monte un enlace punto a punto a 45 km y he logrado pasar 20mbps full duplex a 20mhz, supongo que a 40mhz se podria lograr algo mejor, pero no me aventuro hacerlo porque la zona donde estoy esta muy congestionada de interferencia y esta a mas de 4 horas de mi locacion actual y si me encuentro con interferencia a los 40mhz mas bien puede ocasionarme que se me caiga el enlace.
El hardware que yo utilize es tarjeta madre rb411ah en ambos lados, tarjeta de rf sr71-15 en ambos lados y como no tenia antenas de doble polaridad utilize dos antenas de 34dbi marca Radiowave por cada lado, la ganancia que obtuve a esa distancia fue de 64db y el data rate se mantiene en 104mbps en ambos lados, la version de mis tarjetas es la 4.17 y no he probado con la version 5 en este punto por la lejania, aunque a 20km con este mismo hardware y version 5.9 he logrado pasar hasta 90mbps, y te hablo de conectar una maquina a un lado y al otro y hacer pruebas.
Slaudos.

gracias por contestar mgutz2,

la prueba la voy a hacer en estos dias,
utilizare Dish34 de Ubiquiti, y voy aprobar con todo lo siguiente

- Rocket M5 en cada lado (airmax si, ack=no)
- Rb433ah + sr71-15 en cada lado (nv2 y nstream)
- Rb433ah + r52hn en cada lado (nv2 y nstream)

en ese orden....

probablemente intente hacer en 10mhz, luego en 20 y si
todo va bien en 40mhz
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1116
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Sun Jun 12, 2011 5:15 pm

Hi,

I need to get 50 Mbit throughput on a 49km PTP link.

Image

Which equipment suggest for each point ?

I think that a rb800 (with nstreme or nv2), and 34db rocket dish antenna , with ....

- sr71-15 ?
- r52hn ?
- other suggests?

i would suggest you the dbii F50-Pro.
it's great.
 
Muqatil
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: London - UK
Contact:

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Mon Jun 13, 2011 12:38 am

That link is not gonna work.
It will carry max 5mbit, whatever you do.
Even with big antennas.
Renato Bernardi

skype: medtech5
 
User avatar
mac86
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:52 am
Location: bahia blanca - argentina
Contact:

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Mon Jun 13, 2011 2:30 am

That link is not gonna work.
It will carry max 5mbit, whatever you do.
Even with big antennas.
why ???
 
Muqatil
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: London - UK
Contact:

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Mon Jun 13, 2011 11:20 am

You will face a lot of disconnections due Fresnel obstructions.
The link might go up for a while with good signals too but when you will try to pass some traffic, the CCQ will sink until disconnections.
Maybe lowering data rates and channel widht to bare minimum, the link might be more stable than i described, but it will not carry 50mbit traffic as you are trying to achieve.
The options are 2:
Raise one or both points until the Worst Fresnel is higher than 2
Add an hop in the middle to lower the distance and increase the Fresnel Coefficient.

What i said it's not only theory, but real experience.
And my experience says: Don't try to break the Laws of Physics :lol:
Renato Bernardi

skype: medtech5
 
chadii
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 9:54 pm

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Mon Jun 13, 2011 5:42 pm

Dude dont trust this guy. I have a 44km link, running 34db ubnt dishes + rocketm5 with 25db txpower.
I got a good signal -57, my worst fresnel zone was worst then yours, u got a very clean fresnel.
I can easily have 50mb troughput,btw Im running 20mhz channel. I dont know if u gonna get the 50mb u want,
but anyway at least 30mb it will work. If u dont have any noise on the enviorment, than go for it.
And if you really need this ptp, go for professional solution like radwin or motorola. On this same link I tryed
running rb433ah+WLM200N5-26dBm-ESD(compex), best signal was -65, and best troughput 2mb. Anyway
at that time nv2 sucked really bad, now it looks alot more stable.No time for tests now.Good luck!
 
User avatar
mac86
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:52 am
Location: bahia blanca - argentina
Contact:

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Mon Jun 13, 2011 5:52 pm

Dude dont trust this guy. I have a 44km link, running 34db ubnt dishes + rocketm5 with 25db txpower.
I got a good signal -57, my worst fresnel zone was worst then yours, u got a very clean fresnel.
I can easily have 50mb troughput,btw Im running 20mhz channel. I dont know if u gonna get the 50mb u want,
but anyway at least 30mb it will work. If u dont have any noise on the enviorment, than go for it.
And if you really need this ptp, go for professional solution like radwin or motorola. On this same link I tryed
running rb433ah+WLM200N5-26dBm-ESD(compex), best signal was -65, and best troughput 2mb. Anyway
at that time nv2 sucked really bad, now it looks alot more stable.No time for tests now.Good luck!
thank you chadii...!

I will test this PTP link with DISHes 34db (ubiquiti) with next options:
- rockets M5 (27db)
- rb433ah + SR71_15
- rb433ah + r52hn

thanks
 
User avatar
tsatasos
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 11:39 am
Location: Greece

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Tue Jun 14, 2011 3:21 pm

I would suggest 433ah + XR5.

There are 2 links here 104km & 80km that with r52hn work very bad, but with xr5 work excellent.
 
User avatar
mac86
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:52 am
Location: bahia blanca - argentina
Contact:

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Tue Jun 14, 2011 3:43 pm

I would suggest 433ah + XR5.

There are 2 links here 104km & 80km that with r52hn work very bad, but with xr5 work excellent.

thank you Tsatasos,
I will try XR5 too.
 
Muqatil
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: London - UK
Contact:

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Tue Jun 14, 2011 11:38 pm

Feedback your results please :)
Renato Bernardi

skype: medtech5
 
User avatar
mac86
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:52 am
Location: bahia blanca - argentina
Contact:

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Tue Jun 14, 2011 11:45 pm

Feedback your results please :)
yes, of course
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1896
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:41 pm

From the picture vertical polarity is used, with 50Km link and higher ground between both points i would suggest using horizontal polarity but once again assuming no fresnel issue with this?
N21roadie,
Network 100% MT for Now?
 
EarthStation
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 4:06 pm

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Thu Jun 16, 2011 1:32 pm

I would suggest 433ah + XR5.

There are 2 links here 104km & 80km that with r52hn work very bad, but with xr5 work excellent.
Would appreciate it if contributors to this thread could look at http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=52622 and give an opinion. Plan looks solid enough, but never been that far before!
 
gabrieldeloeste
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 4:46 am

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Mon Jul 18, 2011 2:05 am

a mac86, como te fue con el enlace de 50kms, me interesa saber ya que estoy buscando la mejor opcion para obtener 60 mbps full a 30 kms
 
User avatar
microwave
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 12:00 pm

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Tue Jul 19, 2011 3:30 pm

Hello everybody.
I even used Mikrotik. Now I need to use an Ubiquiti Dish with Mk. Do I have to use an adapter or is it better to install a aprticoular kind of radio card? Thanks.
 
artie11
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 12:08 pm

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:50 pm

How did this go?
 
User avatar
mac86
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:52 am
Location: bahia blanca - argentina
Contact:

Re: will work this PTP 50km link? (SOLVED)

Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:10 am

Hi Guys.

Finnaly this link WORKED !

I get -68 db signal (on each side). Nstreme with 40Mhz Channel
I've used XR5 + RB433ah + Hyperlink 33db single polarization
(vertical polarization)

I've tested NV2 but seems not stable yet :-S

I've a REAL 53.9 Mbits throughput. (tested with btest)
With nv2 I get 60 Mbit but unstable yet. (also with btest)

Next I will play with NV2 parameters in order to get NV2 stable link

NV2 RESULTS
tdma-period-size 3ms, cell radius 40km = get 55mbits and 17ms ping (with full loaded link)
4ms, 50km = 58mbits 14ms
6ms, 50km = 58mbits 14ms

NSTREME VERY STABLE
best fit, framer limit = 4000 --- 53.9 mbit , 16ms


I will post more info soon!
 
User avatar
mac86
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:52 am
Location: bahia blanca - argentina
Contact:

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:45 am

here are some pictures :-)

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
 
artie11
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 12:08 pm

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Thu Aug 04, 2011 11:37 am

40mhz Turbo?
What version of Mikrotik you got on the boxes, I haven't updated to the latest 5.6, but I haven't seen that in a channel width before.

Anyone?

Could just be my inexperience with the XR5 cards, I use R52hn across the board, The occaisional R2n for indoor stuff.
 
User avatar
mac86
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:52 am
Location: bahia blanca - argentina
Contact:

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:13 pm

40mhz Turbo?
What version of Mikrotik you got on the boxes, I haven't updated to the latest 5.6, but I haven't seen that in a channel width before.
....
you have 40mhz turbo on RoS too many years before from 5.6 version.
 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:15 am

Good post.
 
User avatar
mac86
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:52 am
Location: bahia blanca - argentina
Contact:

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:42 am

Good post.
Gracias jorgito, un abrazo.
(tengo mas info ... pero tengo que ponerme a subir las imagenes)
 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 261
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:52 am

Cool, subelas ...!!!! -- Upload those images... very helpfull for everybody ... Thanks
 
Muqatil
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: London - UK
Contact:

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Fri Aug 05, 2011 11:27 am

Can you post TCP both directions throughput?
And Latency at 5mbit Full duplex traffic?
Thanks
Renato Bernardi

skype: medtech5
 
User avatar
mac86
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:52 am
Location: bahia blanca - argentina
Contact:

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Fri Aug 05, 2011 3:37 pm

Can you post TCP both directions throughput?
And Latency at 5mbit Full duplex traffic?
Thanks

not yet, because if I do TCP test (from RB to RB), this cause RB reach 100%
cpu load doing test, and slow down traffic for that reason

I will do TCP test with IPERF client and server.

If I do Both directions test, I get about 33Mb / 33 Mb
 
kesay
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 10:29 pm

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Mon Aug 22, 2011 12:37 am

WAW...Great JOBS !!!! Congrats...
 
User avatar
mac86
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 12:52 am
Location: bahia blanca - argentina
Contact:

Re: will work this PTP 50km link?

Mon Aug 22, 2011 1:52 am

WAW...Great JOBS !!!! Congrats...
thank you Keasy!!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 17 guests