Page 1 of 1

dual antenna

Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 9:34 am
by piwi3910
hi i have a RB500 running the MT 65mw atheros card.
no i first did a setup with a small 6dbi antenna connected to ant-A
i did some tests... connection dbi and different distances, thruput tests ad different distances.
then for test i connected another 6dbi antenna to the ant-B
and set the antenna mode to use them both.
one for tx and ne for rx.
and guess what...
did al the tests again, and got the exact same results.
so why would i use this???
is a dual setup of use in a PtMP situation... or only in PTP?

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 3:16 pm
by andreacoppini
Old question, but still valid. And since nobody bothered to answer, I will.

the tx-a/rx-b (or vice versa) option is there to connect two different antennas, one for transmitting and another for receiving. It does not change the speed or capacity directly, since you still only have 1 radio which is doing all the transmitting/receiving.

This is normally used due to transmit power limitations, where you would put a medium-gain antenna on the TX side, and a very high gain antenna on the RX side, increasing your receive strength, but not your transmit strength.

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 7:35 pm
by pd
Is diversity supported ?

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 7:40 pm
by andreacoppini
Is diversity supported ?

nope (not yet??)

Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 11:06 pm
by Alessio Garavano
what is the antenna-a connector in a dual connector R52 minipci? in the board can`t see...is the more inside or the near the corner of the board? thanks

Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 11:20 pm
by cibernet
what is the antenna-a connector in a dual connector R52 minipci? in the board can`t see...is the more inside or the near the corner of the board? thanks
Primary and Secondary port of antenna

Regards

Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 11:49 pm
by Alessio Garavano
Yes, but my question is what is the primary(antenna-a) in the board? don`t have nothing writed in the board, thanks

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:06 am
by normis
depends on the kind of miniPCI card

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 3:57 pm
by Alessio Garavano
It`s a Mikrotik R52 with Atheros AR5413 chipset.... have a connector U.fl in the corner and other in the middle... i think is the corner, but please confirm this to me...
Thanks, regards and sorry my bad english! i from Argentina

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 4:04 pm
by normis
the one closer to centre is main.

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 4:13 pm
by Alessio Garavano
Now i have the RB532 in the tower, have connected the antenna to the U.fl most in the corner and selected antenna-a in the wireless setting, and all work very well, the noise floor is -98 and have my 86 clients connected at 11Mb, when select antenna-b, the noise floor go to -88 and only connect 50 clients... i have this card connected to an amp 1W teletronics with AGC and this to a omni...

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 4:16 pm
by cibernet
Now i have the RB532 in the tower, have connected the antenna to the U.fl most in the corner and selected antenna-a in the wireless setting, and all work very well, the noise floor is -98 and have my 86 clients connected at 11Mb, when select antenna-b, the noise floor go to -88 and only connect 50 clients... i have this card connected to an amp 1W teletronics with AGC and this to a omni...
Why do you use ampĀ“s... it will amplifi noise too.. use SR2 it was 400mW :)

Regards

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 4:32 pm
by Alessio Garavano
Is not easy buy this card here... only SR5 is easy, i think is very much demand.
Thanks and regards

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 4:37 pm
by cibernet
Is not easy buy this card here... only SR5 is easy, i think is very much demand.
Thanks and regards
Send me an email, i have them :)

Posted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 10:21 pm
by jo2jo
im using an r52 and i have the 2 ports plugged into different antennas, the advcaned-> mode is set to tx-a tx-b.

(im only doing this as i happen to have 2 antennas identical anteanns moutne at each of these locations)

is this working or is it still using just 1 for both RX and TX as i read on the fourms that diversity is not suppored by routeOS

tks

Posted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 4:02 pm
by andreacoppini
im using an r52 and i have the 2 ports plugged into different antennas, the advcaned-> mode is set to tx-a tx-b.

(im only doing this as i happen to have 2 antennas identical anteanns moutne at each of these locations)

is this working or is it still using just 1 for both RX and TX as i read on the fourms that diversity is not suppored by routeOS

tks
tx-a/rx-b works fine. it is not diversity. Diversity would be something like tx/rx-a + tx/rx-b, this is different.

Posted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 5:08 pm
by jwcn
Diversity would actually be

tx/rx a
rx b

Posted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 9:24 pm
by andreacoppini
Diversity would actually be

tx/rx a
rx b
it very much depends on the wireless chipset. The old Hermes 802.11b chipset operates as yuo say, but most new Atheros-based interfaces adapt their TXs and RXs depending on which antenna was the most successful.

See the bottom of: http://www.simandl.cz/stranky/linux/ath ... herose.htm

... on that page you will also see how easy it would be for MT to allow diversity, by just adding another field to the 'Antenna Mode' drop down box and passing 0 as the parameter of RX and TX antennas to the madwifi driver.

Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 10:58 pm
by jonbrewer

See the bottom of: http://www.simandl.cz/stranky/linux/ath ... herose.htm

... on that page you will also see how easy it would be for MT to allow diversity, by just adding another field to the 'Antenna Mode' drop down box and passing 0 as the parameter of RX and TX antennas to the madwifi driver.
Why do you think that Mikrotik uses the madwifi driver?