Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
magnitude
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: India, New Delhi

SuperChannel

Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:16 pm

I have Routerboard 433AH Licence5...and i want to use superchannel feature..do i have to pay extra to use 2.3 ghz Frequency ?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: SuperChannel

Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:17 pm

There is no more need to upgrade your license for Superchannel mode support. Since RouterOS v4.3 Superchannel frequency mode is available to all users. Simply upgrade to the latest version, and set wireless mode to superchannel, to be able to test frequencies that are outside your regulatory domain. Please remember that you can do this only if you are within a controlled environment, know what you are doing, or have a special permission from the local regulatory office.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
magnitude
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: India, New Delhi

Re: SuperChannel

Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:28 pm

There is no more need to upgrade your license for Superchannel mode support. Since RouterOS v4.3 Superchannel frequency mode is available to all users. Simply upgrade to the latest version, and set wireless mode to superchannel, to be able to test frequencies that are outside your regulatory domain. Please remember that you can do this only if you are within a controlled environment, know what you are doing, or have a special permission from the local regulatory office.
Thanks Normis, which MiniPci card supports 2.3 GHz Band ?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: SuperChannel

Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:28 pm

I think all of them.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
magnitude
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:00 pm
Location: India, New Delhi

Re: SuperChannel

Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:36 pm

I think all of them.
Thanks a lot normis.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: SuperChannel

Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:39 pm

More precisely, Atheros cards supported in RouterOS work in the following range: 2.224 – 2.539
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

Re: SuperChannel

Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:14 pm

More precisely, Atheros cards supported in RouterOS work in the following range: 2.224 – 2.539
Any card can work on 10ghz?
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6624
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: SuperChannel

Thu Aug 04, 2011 4:06 pm

RouterOS is fully compatible with 802.11 a/b/g/n
I believe none of mentioned standard is working on 10GHz.
 
SV1EOD
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 5:06 pm

Re: SuperChannel

Thu Oct 25, 2012 12:51 pm

I have a RB133 routerboard with a level 3 licence that cannot be upgraded to a routeros newer than 3.30 .

How can I obtain superchannel?
 
User avatar
Raf
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 4:26 pm
Location: Olesnica, Poland
Contact:

Re: SuperChannel

Thu Oct 25, 2012 2:05 pm

Try to do Netinstall. It should install ROS 5.x or 6.x. Normis wrote about this feature some time ago IIRC.
Rafał Wójcik from AWB-NET
High Definition enthusiast
 
Zod
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 91
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:02 pm

Re: SuperChannel

Thu Oct 25, 2012 2:31 pm

I have a RB133 routerboard with a level 3 licence that cannot be upgraded to a routeros newer than 3.30 .

How can I obtain superchannel?
Upgrade to 3.30, then update Licence Key. Update Routerboot **very important**.
Reboot, and then upgrade to 4.14, Update Routerboot AGAIN then upgrade licence again (if needed) and the upgrade to 5.x or whatever you want.

It's VERY important that you upgrade router boot at each step or you'll need to console and netinstall because the unit may fail to boot.

open a terminal window and type the following

sys ro pr
sys ro up
(answer yes)
sys ro pr (verify routerboot updated)
sys reboot
 
SV1EOD
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 5:06 pm

Re: SuperChannel

Sat Nov 24, 2012 6:36 pm

I have a RB133 routerboard with a level 3 licence that cannot be upgraded to a routeros newer than 3.30 .

How can I obtain superchannel?
Upgrade to 3.30, then update Licence Key. Update Routerboot **very important**.
Reboot, and then upgrade to 4.14, Update Routerboot AGAIN then upgrade licence again (if needed) and the upgrade to 5.x or whatever you want.

It's VERY important that you upgrade router boot at each step or you'll need to console and netinstall because the unit may fail to boot.

open a terminal window and type the following

sys ro pr
sys ro up
(answer yes)
sys ro pr (verify routerboot updated)
sys reboot
Thank you very much for your instructions. I am going to try and then I will post my results.
 
SV1EOD
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 5:06 pm

Re: SuperChannel

Tue Jul 02, 2013 5:47 pm

Finally I did it but in the process I messed the upgraded licence. I was impatient and I formatted the NAND. I've sent email to the technical support regarding the licence issue as now I am stuck again to the 3.30 version with the 7-letter licence without superchannel support for different reason though.

I don't know if technical support is going to give me an updated licence as paying 10 $ doesn't worth for this old piece of hardware. At least I learned a lot......

Thanks for the info anyway.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Reinis and 14 guests