Page 1 of 1

tx rates

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 7:47 pm
by lordiceman
after i updated to 5.11 from 2.9.98 i started to notice that all clients are connecting to my prism 2.5 (2.4 ghz 200mW) minipci only with 2mbits but rx is usualy 11mbit ccq is 100% signal strength is under -60

i'm pretty sure they used to connect at higher speeds, did i missed something? are there some new settings for rate selection?

Re: tx rates

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 7:55 pm
by laithmikrotik
do you mean ...that the internet of your clients became bad after you ubdate your routerboard ?

Re: tx rates

Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2012 10:38 pm
by lordiceman
when i check connection rates on mikrotik ap, it states 2mbit/11mbit (tx/rx) for all of clients, but signal strength is under -60 so i don't see why its only 2 mbits. Because they are connected only with 2mbits their internet went bad too, its not reaching 2mbit just something around 1.75mbit and at that time, latency goes from 10ms to 300ms for that client

tx rates

Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:57 am
by andreacoppini
Do a bandwidth test or a long ping flood. When a wireless connection is idle (no data being transmitted), it is slowed down to the lowest data rate it supports. When data starts flowing, the wireless interface tries to negotiate the faster speeds.

Re: tx rates

Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:31 pm
by lordiceman
i tried ping flooding and client still stayed at 2mbit/11mbit (tx/rx), i even tried to download something bigger at client side but still only 2mbits

today i was at the site where i have 2 mikrotiks with same minipci but different antenas and tried to connect from 2m distance with notebook, i could only at 2mbits as other clients

any other ideas?

Re: tx rates

Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:13 pm
by andreacoppini
signal strengths?

Could you show the wireless config of the AP and of the client?

Re: tx rates

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 4:07 pm
by lordiceman
ap:

name="wlan2" mtu=1500 mac-address=xxxxxxxxxx arp=enabled disable-running-check=no interface-type=Prism
prism-cardtype=200mW radio-name="xxxxxx" mode=ap-bridge ssid="xxxxxx" area="" frequency-mode=manual-txpower
country=slovak republic antenna-gain=0 frequency=2452 band=2ghz-b channel-width=20mhz scan-list=default
wireless-protocol=unspecified rate-set=default supported-rates-b=1Mbps,2Mbps,5.5Mbps
basic-rates-b=1Mbps,2Mbps,5.5Mbps max-station-count=2007 distance=dynamic tx-power-mode=default
periodic-calibration=default periodic-calibration-interval=60 dfs-mode=none antenna-mode=ant-a wds-mode=disabled
wds-default-bridge=none wds-default-cost=100 wds-cost-range=50-150 wds-ignore-ssid=no update-stats-interval=disabled
bridge-mode=enabled default-authentication=yes default-forwarding=yes default-ap-tx-limit=0
default-client-tx-limit=0 proprietary-extensions=post-2.9.25 wmm-support=disabled hide-ssid=no
security-profile=default disconnect-timeout=3s on-fail-retry-time=100ms compression=no allow-sharedkey=no
station-bridge-clone-mac=00:00:00:00:00:00 tdma-period-size=2 nv2-queue-count=2 nv2-qos=default nv2-cell-radius=30
nv2-security=disabled nv2-preshared-key="" hw-retries=7 frame-lifetime=0 adaptive-noise-immunity=ap-and-client-mode
hw-fragmentation-threshold=disabled hw-protection-mode=cts-to-self hw-protection-threshold=512 frequency-offset=0
rate-selection=advanced

clients are airlive wl5460 so not much to configure there

what i noticed with my tests is that if i enable rate-set=configured and set basic-rates-b=1Mbps,2Mbps,5.5Mbps,11Mbps clients sudenly connect with higher speeds than 2Mbps, all but one, that one client doesn't connect at all

shouldnt be basic rates set to all when rate-set is default?

Re: tx rates

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 4:58 pm
by gcs
I had and still have in a box on my bench many NL-2511MP PLUS card which use the prism. They worked great in my ap's and cpe with 3.30 ros but did not work with any higher ros like 4.17.
I asked Mikrotik and they said prism is not supported and go back to 3.30.

so I have most of my network running 4.17 and some older cpe with 3.30. I have not tried the 5.X yet due to the horror stories I read about here in the forums

Re: tx rates

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 9:02 pm
by lordiceman
I had and still have in a box on my bench many NL-2511MP PLUS card which use the prism. They worked great in my ap's and cpe with 3.30 ros but did not work with any higher ros like 4.17.
I asked Mikrotik and they said prism is not supported and go back to 3.30.

so I have most of my network running 4.17 and some older cpe with 3.30. I have not tried the 5.X yet due to the horror stories I read about here in the forums
your prism cards did not work at all or just not upto their max performance?

Re: tx rates

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 9:51 pm
by gcs
ROS 4.17 saw the cards correctly but no one could connect to it.
Mikrotik said it was a unsupported driver then.

Re: tx rates

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 9:55 pm
by gcs
here is what I got from Mikrotik support after I emailed support.rif

Hello,

a lot of changes in the wireless driver has been done between those versions. I
would suggest to migrate to Atheros chipset card or stick with v3.30 for now.

Regards,
Uldis