Community discussions

 
moly
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 3:14 pm
Contact:

CPU utilization with WPA/WEP

Tue Dec 06, 2005 3:20 pm

I use Atheros CM9 and if I activate encryption my CPU usage goes from 25% to 50% with the same load on Wireles card. On atheros page is writen - " Standard (AES), Temporal Key Integrity Protocol (TKIP) and Wired
Equivalent Privacy (WEP) without performance degradation ". It is normal? I use Mikrotik 2.9.7 on normal PC.
 
NZLamb
newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 6:10 am
Location: New Zealand

Sun Dec 18, 2005 10:27 pm

I use WPA/AES on a P2P link with SR5s (Atheros) in RouterBOARD 532s. Enabling WPA added about 20% load on the CPU over leaving it unencrypted under heavy load.

What hardware are you running RouterOS on?
Last edited by NZLamb on Mon Dec 19, 2005 1:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
gerd
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 5:54 pm
Location: Leidersbach, Niemcy

Mon Dec 19, 2005 1:37 am

I use WPA PSK and with no load my CPU is about 4% and with 400kByte load on wireless it encrease to 40-50%..
HW RB532A...@260Mhz
Ciao Gerd
 
NZLamb
newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 6:10 am
Location: New Zealand

Mon Dec 19, 2005 2:00 am

Oops! :oops:

I just performed a quick test on my rig, the CPU usage does go up a bit (I have edited my first post accordingly) but the actual data throughput remains the same as before.

I assume this is what Atheros meant in their documentation as throughput is the part that really counts to the end user. 8)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests