Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

RB 433AH upgrade

Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:05 pm

Hi all,

I have a RB433AH that had ROS 3.25 on it. For some reason I would not detect the wireless card(R52H). I then decided to upgrade the ROS to 5.14. I downloaded and installed the ROS 5.14 on the RB but after that the board does not seem to be booting. How do I recover this board? TIA.
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

Re: RB 433AH upgrade

Fri Mar 02, 2012 12:36 am

I and to relevant info concerning the upgrade process. I followed the instructions that I found and this is what had happened. So it seem I bricked the router. How do I recover it.

Is it possible to download older versions of ROS/ Where?
 
User avatar
Aug
Member
Member
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 2:10 am

Re: RB 433AH upgrade

Fri Mar 02, 2012 12:53 am

Aug
 
vik1988
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 2:18 pm
Location: India

Re: RB 433AH upgrade

Fri Mar 02, 2012 4:23 am

It happened due to Old bootloader... you have to upgrade Bootloader of RB 433G to 2.3X or greater.
Vikas Kumar Gupta
If you Like my post then add KARMA
skype- kumarvikas_gupta
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

Re: RB 433AH upgrade

Fri Mar 02, 2012 5:34 pm

Thanks for the responses. Does the Bootloader thing apply to the RB433AH? I will check it and uograde as necessary.
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

Re: RB 433AH upgrade

Fri Mar 02, 2012 6:11 pm

How do you upgrade the Bootloader? I read that you upgrade the ROS and afterm successful upgrade you issue the command "system routerboard upgrade" But if the upgrade is causing me problem, which should be done first?
 
0ldman
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1446
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:01 am

Re: RB 433AH upgrade

Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:26 pm

Can you get into the 433 at all?

I know you can flash it with a newer version (3.30, 4.17, etc).

Sounds like you need an alternate method, which I haven't tried yet.
 
vik1988
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 2:18 pm
Location: India

Re: RB 433AH upgrade

Sat Mar 03, 2012 4:30 am

Hi,

You can upgrade the bootloader manual by console. Download RB433AH routerboot firmware from routerboard.com or on mentioned link this is 2.39 bootloader

http://routerboard.com/fwf/37/ar7100-2.39.fwf

chk the third method on the below link

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Bootloader_upgrade

or chk Sergejs reply http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=28769
Vikas Kumar Gupta
If you Like my post then add KARMA
skype- kumarvikas_gupta
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

Re: RB 433AH upgrade

Sat Mar 03, 2012 5:12 am

I upggraded the bootloader through the serial console using Serjes's method. The board still does not boot at states: "system halted" at the serial console. I gues I have to try the Netinstall.
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

Re: RB 433AH upgrade

Sat Mar 03, 2012 6:15 am

I tried the net install method, but still no success. I show on the serial console that it is trying to Bootp, but I don't see the router in the Netinstall window. What could I be doing wrong? I followed the instructions as mentioned.
 
vik1988
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 2:18 pm
Location: India

Re: RB 433AH upgrade

Sat Mar 03, 2012 7:21 am

try 5.x version netinstall, run as administrator for Vista and win7... and disable firewall of ur PC.
Vikas Kumar Gupta
If you Like my post then add KARMA
skype- kumarvikas_gupta
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

Re: RB 433AH upgrade

Sun Mar 04, 2012 4:23 am

Well after several attempts I finally got to install ROS 5.14 on this board using netinstall. Firstly the computer that I had first tried with did not support PXE, so I had to use my netbook. Secondly I had to use an ethernet crossover cable between the netbook and the RB. After that I was able to complete the activity with the instructions at the website.

I am now back to square one where the Wireless card are not identified. The RB seems to be faulty because at tmes the card are identified. I tried another board and it worked without problem.

Thanks for all your input/responses.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests