Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020

cr1mson
just joined
Topic Author

Severe Problems in creating WDS using two Mikrotik RB751u-2H

Sun Mar 04, 2012 5:56 am

First of all a warm hello to all. I am a rookie and just now delved into Mikrotik routers to play with. I have looked up many different sources to create a WDS between two Mikrotik RB751u-2HnD. My internet setup is as follows:
I have a cable from the ISP which goes into a modem to which I have my original Linksys router connected via CAT5 cable which provides wireless access in the entire apartment. Now I want to do range extension using the WDS feature of Mikrotik routers. I am using two Mikrotik RB751u-2HnD routers and RouterOS version 5.6. Also I have removed my Linksys router totally because I want to test out an all Mikrotik RB751u-2HnD setup for the WDS.

Here's a step-by-step approach I have adopted to form the WDS:
1] Connecting the first RB751u-2HnD to the modem via a CAT5 cable and then configuring it.
2] After logging in it I have a bridge-local already available with wlan1 as one of the port.
3] I goto Interfaces -> Click on wlan1 -> wireless tab and select mode=ap bridge, SSID=MikroTik, frequency=2412MHz, Channel width=20/40MHz and Above and security profile=default. Then wireless tab -> WDS -> WDS mode=dynamic and WDS Default bridge to be the bridge-local.
4] Next Click on Wireless -> Create a new WDS interface say wds1. Configure this wds1 to have master interface=wlan1 and wds address to be the MAC address of wlan1 interface of second MikroTik.
5] Add the wds1 interface as the second port in the Bridge "bridge-local". At this point the interfaces wlan1 and wds1 are bridged.
6] Next I configure the ether1 interface to be the DHCP client and bridge-local to be DHCP server. In the DHCP setup of the server these are the parameters:
Name=default
DHCP Server Interface=bridge-local
DHCP Address Space=192.168.88.0/24
Gateway for DHCP Network=192.168.88.1