Community discussions

 
ddenia
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:39 pm

WDS or VPLS for Mikrotik?

Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:40 am

WDS or VPLS for Mikrotik?
Recently used the WDS, but noted that it is less fast, and then decided to try VPLS and noticed that it is faster ... Like it or not? and what do you recommend I use?
 
sup5
Member
Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:37 am

Re: WDS or VPLS for Mikrotik?

Wed Apr 18, 2012 1:50 pm

use station-bridge instead.
much easier to setup.
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

Re: WDS or VPLS for Mikrotik?

Wed Apr 18, 2012 2:01 pm

use station-bridge instead.
much easier to setup.

what's the different station-wds and station-bridge.
any much different on it?

thanks.
 
rodolfo
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 543
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 11:50 am

Re: WDS or VPLS for Mikrotik?

Wed Apr 18, 2012 3:05 pm

I think wds is an apple and vpls is a table.
completely different things to answer your question.
could you explain what do you want to achieve ?
rodolfo
IZ0UQV
 
ddenia
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:39 pm

Re: WDS or VPLS for Mikrotik?

Thu Apr 19, 2012 11:23 am

I think wds is an apple and vpls is a table.
completely different things to answer your question.
could you explain what do you want to achieve ?

I need so that the base station connected to 10 clients, and so they each received a 20-50Mbit.
 
sup5
Member
Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:37 am

Re: WDS or VPLS for Mikrotik?

Thu Apr 19, 2012 1:59 pm

use 'ap-bridge' on your access-point
use 'station-bridge' on your clients

there is no need to mess around with WDS, EoIP or even VPLS.
They all add complicated configuration and in case of EoIP and VPLS unnecessary overhead.
 
User avatar
Hotz1
Member
Member
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 6:55 am

Re: WDS or VPLS for Mikrotik?

Thu May 03, 2012 3:14 pm

use 'ap-bridge' on your access-point
use 'station-bridge' on your clients

there is no need to mess around with WDS, EoIP or even VPLS.
They all add complicated configuration and in case of EoIP and VPLS unnecessary overhead.
What if you need both ends to be ap-bridge? (e.g., backhaul radios that connect to each other as well as to others.)
Principal, Engineering
Cape Ann Communications, Inc.
Gloucester, MA, USA

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests