Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Raid0
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:08 pm

Omnitik and SXT low speed

Wed May 09, 2012 11:52 am

Hello,

Im having troubles with SXT speeds with Omnitik. The distance between two links is only 200M with nothing between them.
I have 3 cameras behind the SXT. Im having some trouble with the PTZ camera. When I tested the speeds from Omnitik
i got ~4Mbps receive and ~80Mbps for send from Omnitik. Same speeds from SXT sent to Omnitik is ~4Mbps and receive ~70Mbps.

Im using Nv2 protocol. Tried 802.11 to. Got the same speeds but speed test connecting took longer and PTZ camera was even slower.
Is the ~4Mbps normal speed for receiving info from SXT to Omnitik? What could be causing this?
 
User avatar
cbrown
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1840
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Wed May 09, 2012 10:54 pm

Can you post some details about the wireless. What is the signal strength and CCQ?
C.Brown

cbrown[at]ravenrocknetworks.com
MTCNA - MTCRE - MTCWE - MTCTCE
MTCSE - TRAINER-0179
 
Raid0
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:08 pm

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Thu May 10, 2012 1:32 pm

Signal strenght is -63/-62 dBm and CCQ is 73/84%. Tried to realign the antennas but nothing.
 
User avatar
cbrown
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1840
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Thu May 10, 2012 3:40 pm

Can you post /interface wireless export
C.Brown

cbrown[at]ravenrocknetworks.com
MTCNA - MTCRE - MTCWE - MTCTCE
MTCSE - TRAINER-0179
 
Raid0
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:08 pm

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Thu May 17, 2012 11:36 am

I attatched the wireless export images from the Omnitik and one of the SXT
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
ddd
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:39 am

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Fri May 18, 2012 1:20 am

Do a spectrum scan on the Omnitik and find the best channel with no usage.

/interface wireless spectral-scan wlan1 range=5ghz
 
Raid0
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:08 pm

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Tue May 22, 2012 11:38 am

I did that scan, it didnt find anything.
 
brosky
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 3:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Tue May 22, 2012 11:56 pm

i have the same problem here, i have 2 sxt connected to a omnitik, distance is 300m and 1km.
Signal is -59 to -65, i'm alone on the 5180 freq. (i got a pair of loco's on 5500mhz)

This is my second setup with omnitik with no 'luck' finding a good and working configuration, and i'm starting to think
that it's the device that's defective, or the software. And yes, i have 5.16 installed. And no, quickset does not work at all.
08:28:28 wireless,info 00:0C:42:DC:88:D7@wlan1 established connection on 5180, SSID ap-codor 
08:54:24 wireless,info 00:0C:42:DC:88:D7@wlan1: lost connection, no beacons received 
08:54:27 wireless,info 00:0C:42:DC:88:D7@wlan1 established connection on 5180, SSID ap-codor 
08:55:17 wireless,info 00:0C:42:DC:88:D7@wlan1: lost connection, no beacons received 
08:55:21 wireless,info 00:0C:42:DC:88:D7@wlan1 established connection on 5180, SSID ap-codor 
this happents when i try to do some traffic.
 
ddd
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:39 am

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Wed May 23, 2012 3:33 am

I did that scan, it didnt find anything.
Now thats out of the way, try switching the wireless protocol the nstreme and see if that improves the speeds.

Also try another frequency. I think I remember reading that the SXTs preform best around 5400-5600ghz
Last edited by ddd on Thu May 24, 2012 1:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
davidw
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:11 pm

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Wed May 23, 2012 1:45 pm

I too just setup an omnitik with sxt using nv2. Very slow speeds over 2km link nothing in the way .

No one else on the same frequency as me

Huge snr of about 40b

Have tried turning power down but no luck

Any other suggestions

Will try replacing the omnitik tomorrow wit an sxt to see if that fixes anything.
 
brosky
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 3:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Thu May 24, 2012 8:41 pm

solved my problem, i had to force NV2 protocol.
 
davidw
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:11 pm

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Thu May 24, 2012 9:51 pm

solved my problem, i had to force NV2 protocol.
So what speeds are you getting now ?

Can summarize your settings ?

Channel
Band
Wireless protocol
Mode
Ht chains
Etc etc

Distance between aps
 
brosky
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 3:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Thu May 24, 2012 11:25 pm

sure,

the setup was needed to go around a hill.

1st client
[admin@txCodor2] > interface wireless print
Flags: X - disabled, R - running 
 0  R name="wlan1" mtu=1500 mac-address=00:0C:42:84:6F:55 arp=enabled 
      interface-type=Atheros 11N mode=station-bridge ssid="ap-codor" 
      frequency=5180 band=5ghz-onlyn channel-width=20/40mhz-ht-below 
      scan-list=default wireless-protocol=nv2 wds-mode=disabled 
      wds-default-bridge=none wds-ignore-ssid=yes bridge-mode=disabled 
      default-authentication=yes default-forwarding=yes default-ap-tx-limit=0 
      default-client-tx-limit=0 hide-ssid=no security-profile=default 

APOmnitk , as the 'relay' point
[admin@AP Codor] > interface wireless print
Flags: X - disabled, R - running 
 0  R name="wlan1" mtu=1500 mac-address=00:0C:42:DC:88:D7 arp=enabled 
      interface-type=Atheros 11N mode=ap-bridge ssid="ap-codor" frequency=5180 
      band=5ghz-onlyn channel-width=20/40mhz-ht-below scan-list=default 
      wireless-protocol=nv2 wds-mode=dynamic wds-default-bridge=bridge1 
      wds-ignore-ssid=no bridge-mode=enabled default-authentication=yes 
      default-forwarding=yes default-ap-tx-limit=0 default-client-tx-limit=0 
      hide-ssid=no security-profile=default compression=no

2nd client, as the endpoint
[admin@rx_CodorCapat] > interface wireless print
Flags: X - disabled, R - running 
0  R name="wlan1" mtu=1500 mac-address=00:0C:42:87:E0:9D arp=enabled interface-type=Atheros 11N 
mode=station-bridge ssid="ap-codor" frequency=5785 band=5ghz-a/n channel-width=20mhz 
scan-list=default wireless-protocol=nv2 wds-mode=disabled wds-default-bridge=none wds-ignore-ssid=no 
bridge-mode=enabled default-authentication=yes default-forwarding=yes default-ap-tx-limit=0 default-client-tx-limit=0 
hide-ssid=no security-profile=default compression=no 

I need only 10mbps, but i got 38mbps duplex, 80mbps udp, 50mbps tcp.

signal is -55/-57 (300/150mbps) for the 300m link
and -62/-60 (117/117mbps) for the 1km link
 
davidw
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 11:11 pm

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Thu May 31, 2012 11:43 pm

I too just setup an omnitik with sxt using nv2. Very slow speeds over 2km link nothing in the way .

No one else on the same frequency as me

Huge snr of about 40b

Have tried turning power down but no luck

Any other suggestions

Will try replacing the omnitik tomorrow wit an sxt to see if that fixes anything.

All fixed - spectral scan showed interference - selected a different channel

Now getting 100mb

:)
 
gio
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:59 pm

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Tue Jun 05, 2012 1:31 pm

solved my problem, i had to force NV2 protocol.
Hi brosky, please can you explain to me ( i have the same installation 1 OmniTIK 2 SXT) what you mean force NV2 protocol where i will find this? and must i do the same to the SXT's or only on the omniTIK?

(hope you understood, because of my bad english) :)

have a nice connection!

thanx in advance!
 
brosky
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 3:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Thu Jun 07, 2012 1:04 am

force maybe is a too strong word.

I used before as wireless protocol "any", then i change it to NV2 to all devices (2 cpe + 1omnitik)
 
gio
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:59 pm

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Thu Jun 07, 2012 11:42 am

Hmm... thanx for the reply!
and i thought it was something else, i have choosen NV2 protocol but at this time very bad connection bzw.(german) very low speed under 200 Kbps.

I will try to update / upgrade my installation (2 SXT & 1 OmniTIK).
I have a Question about it (to everyone). Can i upgrade RouterOS and Firmware of the OmniTIK in the same way like it is shown for the SXT's in this link???

thanx!
 
ddd
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:39 am

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:51 am

Can i upgrade RouterOS and Firmware
Yes
 
gio
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:59 pm

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:27 am

many thanx for the Answer!

After upgrade RouterOS and Firmware to 5.17 in the Section (via browser) from the left Menu Tools --> Bandwith Test after choosing one of the connected SXT's and setting user as admin and press the START Button i can't se anything in the Graph (like before upgrade) but the [Tx/Rx 10s Average] is ~ [7.0 Mbps/4.0Mbps] (and i think this will be OK or am i wrong?) why is nothing shown on the Graph?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests