Page 1 of 1

Omnitik and SXT low speed

Posted: Wed May 09, 2012 11:52 am
by Raid0
Hello,

Im having troubles with SXT speeds with Omnitik. The distance between two links is only 200M with nothing between them.
I have 3 cameras behind the SXT. Im having some trouble with the PTZ camera. When I tested the speeds from Omnitik
i got ~4Mbps receive and ~80Mbps for send from Omnitik. Same speeds from SXT sent to Omnitik is ~4Mbps and receive ~70Mbps.

Im using Nv2 protocol. Tried 802.11 to. Got the same speeds but speed test connecting took longer and PTZ camera was even slower.
Is the ~4Mbps normal speed for receiving info from SXT to Omnitik? What could be causing this?

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Posted: Wed May 09, 2012 10:54 pm
by cbrown
Can you post some details about the wireless. What is the signal strength and CCQ?

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Posted: Thu May 10, 2012 1:32 pm
by Raid0
Signal strenght is -63/-62 dBm and CCQ is 73/84%. Tried to realign the antennas but nothing.

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Posted: Thu May 10, 2012 3:40 pm
by cbrown
Can you post /interface wireless export

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Posted: Thu May 17, 2012 11:36 am
by Raid0
I attatched the wireless export images from the Omnitik and one of the SXT

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Posted: Fri May 18, 2012 1:20 am
by ddd
Do a spectrum scan on the Omnitik and find the best channel with no usage.

/interface wireless spectral-scan wlan1 range=5ghz

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Posted: Tue May 22, 2012 11:38 am
by Raid0
I did that scan, it didnt find anything.

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Posted: Tue May 22, 2012 11:56 pm
by brosky
i have the same problem here, i have 2 sxt connected to a omnitik, distance is 300m and 1km.
Signal is -59 to -65, i'm alone on the 5180 freq. (i got a pair of loco's on 5500mhz)

This is my second setup with omnitik with no 'luck' finding a good and working configuration, and i'm starting to think
that it's the device that's defective, or the software. And yes, i have 5.16 installed. And no, quickset does not work at all.
08:28:28 wireless,info 00:0C:42:DC:88:D7@wlan1 established connection on 5180, SSID ap-codor 
08:54:24 wireless,info 00:0C:42:DC:88:D7@wlan1: lost connection, no beacons received 
08:54:27 wireless,info 00:0C:42:DC:88:D7@wlan1 established connection on 5180, SSID ap-codor 
08:55:17 wireless,info 00:0C:42:DC:88:D7@wlan1: lost connection, no beacons received 
08:55:21 wireless,info 00:0C:42:DC:88:D7@wlan1 established connection on 5180, SSID ap-codor 
this happents when i try to do some traffic.

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Posted: Wed May 23, 2012 3:33 am
by ddd
I did that scan, it didnt find anything.
Now thats out of the way, try switching the wireless protocol the nstreme and see if that improves the speeds.

Also try another frequency. I think I remember reading that the SXTs preform best around 5400-5600ghz

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Posted: Wed May 23, 2012 1:45 pm
by davidw
I too just setup an omnitik with sxt using nv2. Very slow speeds over 2km link nothing in the way .

No one else on the same frequency as me

Huge snr of about 40b

Have tried turning power down but no luck

Any other suggestions

Will try replacing the omnitik tomorrow wit an sxt to see if that fixes anything.

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Posted: Thu May 24, 2012 8:41 pm
by brosky
solved my problem, i had to force NV2 protocol.

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Posted: Thu May 24, 2012 9:51 pm
by davidw
solved my problem, i had to force NV2 protocol.
So what speeds are you getting now ?

Can summarize your settings ?

Channel
Band
Wireless protocol
Mode
Ht chains
Etc etc

Distance between aps

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Posted: Thu May 24, 2012 11:25 pm
by brosky
sure,

the setup was needed to go around a hill.

1st client
[admin@txCodor2] > interface wireless print
Flags: X - disabled, R - running 
 0  R name="wlan1" mtu=1500 mac-address=00:0C:42:84:6F:55 arp=enabled 
      interface-type=Atheros 11N mode=station-bridge ssid="ap-codor" 
      frequency=5180 band=5ghz-onlyn channel-width=20/40mhz-ht-below 
      scan-list=default wireless-protocol=nv2 wds-mode=disabled 
      wds-default-bridge=none wds-ignore-ssid=yes bridge-mode=disabled 
      default-authentication=yes default-forwarding=yes default-ap-tx-limit=0 
      default-client-tx-limit=0 hide-ssid=no security-profile=default 

APOmnitk , as the 'relay' point
[admin@AP Codor] > interface wireless print
Flags: X - disabled, R - running 
 0  R name="wlan1" mtu=1500 mac-address=00:0C:42:DC:88:D7 arp=enabled 
      interface-type=Atheros 11N mode=ap-bridge ssid="ap-codor" frequency=5180 
      band=5ghz-onlyn channel-width=20/40mhz-ht-below scan-list=default 
      wireless-protocol=nv2 wds-mode=dynamic wds-default-bridge=bridge1 
      wds-ignore-ssid=no bridge-mode=enabled default-authentication=yes 
      default-forwarding=yes default-ap-tx-limit=0 default-client-tx-limit=0 
      hide-ssid=no security-profile=default compression=no

2nd client, as the endpoint
[admin@rx_CodorCapat] > interface wireless print
Flags: X - disabled, R - running 
0  R name="wlan1" mtu=1500 mac-address=00:0C:42:87:E0:9D arp=enabled interface-type=Atheros 11N 
mode=station-bridge ssid="ap-codor" frequency=5785 band=5ghz-a/n channel-width=20mhz 
scan-list=default wireless-protocol=nv2 wds-mode=disabled wds-default-bridge=none wds-ignore-ssid=no 
bridge-mode=enabled default-authentication=yes default-forwarding=yes default-ap-tx-limit=0 default-client-tx-limit=0 
hide-ssid=no security-profile=default compression=no 

I need only 10mbps, but i got 38mbps duplex, 80mbps udp, 50mbps tcp.

signal is -55/-57 (300/150mbps) for the 300m link
and -62/-60 (117/117mbps) for the 1km link

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Posted: Thu May 31, 2012 11:43 pm
by davidw
I too just setup an omnitik with sxt using nv2. Very slow speeds over 2km link nothing in the way .

No one else on the same frequency as me

Huge snr of about 40b

Have tried turning power down but no luck

Any other suggestions

Will try replacing the omnitik tomorrow wit an sxt to see if that fixes anything.

All fixed - spectral scan showed interference - selected a different channel

Now getting 100mb

:)

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2012 1:31 pm
by gio
solved my problem, i had to force NV2 protocol.
Hi brosky, please can you explain to me ( i have the same installation 1 OmniTIK 2 SXT) what you mean force NV2 protocol where i will find this? and must i do the same to the SXT's or only on the omniTIK?

(hope you understood, because of my bad english) :)

have a nice connection!

thanx in advance!

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 1:04 am
by brosky
force maybe is a too strong word.

I used before as wireless protocol "any", then i change it to NV2 to all devices (2 cpe + 1omnitik)

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2012 11:42 am
by gio
Hmm... thanx for the reply!
and i thought it was something else, i have choosen NV2 protocol but at this time very bad connection bzw.(german) very low speed under 200 Kbps.

I will try to update / upgrade my installation (2 SXT & 1 OmniTIK).
I have a Question about it (to everyone). Can i upgrade RouterOS and Firmware of the OmniTIK in the same way like it is shown for the SXT's in this link???

thanx!

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:51 am
by ddd
Can i upgrade RouterOS and Firmware
Yes

Re: Omnitik and SXT low speed

Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:27 am
by gio
many thanx for the Answer!

After upgrade RouterOS and Firmware to 5.17 in the Section (via browser) from the left Menu Tools --> Bandwith Test after choosing one of the connected SXT's and setting user as admin and press the START Button i can't se anything in the Graph (like before upgrade) but the [Tx/Rx 10s Average] is ~ [7.0 Mbps/4.0Mbps] (and i think this will be OK or am i wrong?) why is nothing shown on the Graph?