Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
gnuttisch
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:49 pm

10 AP running mesh on ethernet

Fri Jun 29, 2012 3:37 pm

Hi

I have a wireless network in a warehouse.

10 pices off 711 acts as AP connected to a rb1100AH via ethernet.

I'am running mesh and have set admin mac on every meshinterface

I using channels 1, 6 and 11 and the same on all AP's.


The problem is that when the user is walking around in the warehouse it looses the wifi connection and after a wile its connects again, to another AP.

The is the log from one off the AP's.

01:48:00 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:B1:AA@wlan1: connected
01:48:27 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: disconnected, extensive data loss
01:49:08 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: connected
01:49:34 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: disconnected, extensive data loss
01:49:44 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: connected
01:50:19 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: disconnected, group key exchange timeout
01:51:57 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: connected
01:52:12 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:B1:AA@wlan1: disconnected, extensive data loss
01:52:23 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: disconnected, extensive data loss
01:53:14 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:B1:AA@wlan1: connected
01:55:54 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: connected
01:58:28 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:B1:AA@wlan1: disconnected, registered to other device in network
01:59:42 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: disconnected, extensive data loss
02:00:13 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: connected
02:03:17 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: disconnected, registered to other device in network
02:10:54 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:B1:AA@wlan1: connected
02:11:59 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:B1:AA@wlan1: disconnected, extensive data loss
02:13:24 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: connected
02:13:50 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: disconnected, extensive data loss
02:18:50 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: connected
02:18:57 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: disconnected, registered to other device in network
02:22:59 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:B1:AA@wlan1: connected
02:24:45 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:B1:AA@wlan1: disconnected, extensive data loss
02:37:34 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:B1:AA@wlan1: connected
02:37:47 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:B1:AA@wlan1: disconnected, registered to other device in network
02:40:39 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: connected
02:45:10 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: disconnected, registered to other device in network
02:46:18 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: connected

Thanks.
 
User avatar
TheWiFiGuy
Member
Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:26 pm
Location: UK

Re: 10 AP running mesh on ethernet

Fri Jun 29, 2012 5:38 pm

Thats what it will do, its not seamless fast roaming.

If all your access points are wired (unclear in the post) then get rid of Mesh
----------------------
Mikrotik Consultant.
MTCNA, MTWCE, MTCTCE, MTCRE, MTCINE
 
syadnom
Member
Member
Posts: 422
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 7:29 am

10 AP running mesh on ethernet

Fri Jun 29, 2012 6:35 pm

Get rid of mesh, useless for you.
 
gnuttisch
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:49 pm

Re: 10 AP running mesh on ethernet

Fri Jun 29, 2012 7:14 pm

all off them is wired and I have changed it now to running rstp bridge. wrong or right ?
 
User avatar
TheWiFiGuy
Member
Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:26 pm
Location: UK

Re: 10 AP running mesh on ethernet

Fri Jun 29, 2012 10:30 pm

Thats correct. All units bridged, different channels.

Nodes will drop and re-associate with a nearer node as you move, but should take no more than 1 second or so. Some clients roam better, and its down to the individual software/client device when it switches.

If you need fast roaming you'll need something like Ruckus with a ZoneController.
----------------------
Mikrotik Consultant.
MTCNA, MTWCE, MTCTCE, MTCRE, MTCINE
 
gnuttisch
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:49 pm

Re: 10 AP running mesh on ethernet

Sat Jun 30, 2012 10:49 am

Yes, different channels but same ssid.

The nodes that will be running on this wireless network are, http://www.motorola.com/Business/US-EN/ ... s/MC9190-G but i dont know how fast they will shift AP.

Is their any more setting that I can change to help the node shift AP faster?
 
gnuttisch
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:49 pm

Re: 10 AP running mesh on ethernet

Sat Jun 30, 2012 11:55 am

another question?

When should I use Mesh and when should I use Bridge?
 
User avatar
TheWiFiGuy
Member
Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:26 pm
Location: UK

Re: 10 AP running mesh on ethernet

Sat Jun 30, 2012 10:31 pm

Only use mesh when the devices (access points) need multiple routes to work out the best way to get back the portal. When all wired, theres no need as they all have a direct route.

Also, if using Mesh wirelessly (dynamic-mesh and wds) then dont use version 5.x. The WDS bridge loop fixed in 5.18 has not been fixed in mesh and support email from Uldis basically says its not important and they might fix it.
----------------------
Mikrotik Consultant.
MTCNA, MTWCE, MTCTCE, MTCRE, MTCINE
 
gnuttisch
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:49 pm

10 AP running mesh on ethernet

Sat Jun 30, 2012 11:25 pm

Thanks for the input.

On Monday I will test if the clients connects faster to a different AP.
 
slech
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 534
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 4:03 pm
Location: Moldova, Chisinau

Re: 10 AP running mesh on ethernet

Sun Jul 01, 2012 2:01 am

gnuttisch, I have similar setup - WareHouse wireless network based on Mikrotik
I tested Android and PC reconnection to the nearest AP, you can find ping screens in the topic.
"extensive data loss" - local interface decided to drop connection to remote device because of inability to send data to remote after multiple failures at lowest possible rate. Possible causes - too weak signal, remote device turned off, strong interference, some other RF related issue that makes communication impossible.
In my setup I have:
# ban MU with low signal strength
interface wireless access-list add interface=wlan1 mac-address=00:00:00:00:00:00 signal-range=-80 authentication=no forwarding=no
sorry for my english
 
gnuttisch
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:49 pm

Re: 10 AP running mesh on ethernet

Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:51 am

Hi and thanks for your response.

I also gets this error message in logs. couldn't find out what it means in the faq?

22:51:00 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: connected
22:52:20 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: disconnected, registered to other device in network
22:52:58 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: connected
22:56:38 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: disconnected, registered to other device in network
22:56:40 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: connected
23:00:57 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:CA:7E@wlan1: disconnected, registered to other device in network
23:02:35 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:B1:AA@wlan1: connected
23:03:12 wireless,info 00:23:68:CE:B1:AA@wlan1: disconnected, registered to other device in network

edit. and what to do about it?
 
gnuttisch
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:49 pm

Re: 10 AP running mesh on ethernet

Mon Jul 02, 2012 4:46 pm

to answer my own post.

It seems that the router generates this message when the client connects to another AP. And is therefore it is not a error message.
 
gnuttisch
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:49 pm

10 AP running mesh on ethernet

Fri Aug 17, 2012 11:15 am

Hope to kick alive a old post.

It seems that the hand scanners has a bad written wireless driver. It takes sometime about 15-30s to change ap. then the truck already have left that zone and it has to change again.

What I have done since last is that now are we only running B and the same freq. on all of the APs.

Any ideas?

Maybe I have to mount a 951 on the truck that are roaming to the wireless network. The handscanner then are only connected to that truck? How should I config then?
 
VicRace
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 7:17 pm

Re: 10 AP running mesh on ethernet

Thu Sep 27, 2012 11:29 pm

A couple of our customers are having the same issue:

"disconnected, registered to other device in network "

In one case there are four APs. Only one AP has backhaul the other three are using WDS bridging to the first AP. The further out AP has to hop through one AP to get to the root AP. There are no redundant links.

In the second case each AP has it's own fibre backhaul. I believe there is some redundancy in the way the fiber is deployed.

There is no intention to support roaming, but it should be possible for a client to associate, even if he was using a different AP a few minutes before.

How long does a client have to keep his radio off before he can associate with a different AP in the net?

If I understand the above correctly, downgrading to version 4.17 is the only fix. Is that correct?
 
gnuttisch
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:49 pm

10 AP running mesh on ethernet

Thu Sep 27, 2012 11:41 pm

We are now running 5.20.

The problem was a bad written driver. At first we used static addresses. The solution for us was to use dhcp. Now we have about 3-4 packets drop when the handscanner switches to a new ap.
 
mobile4lte
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:10 am

Re: 10 AP running mesh on ethernet

Fri Sep 28, 2012 6:47 am

Portable router in AP mode, wan mouth as LAN port. Ordinary router if can choose AP mode of words, wan mouth is also used as LAN of the mouth. Can not choose the mode, only oneself as the AP use, the wan wan or mouth mouth, will not work.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot], tojanashinigami and 41 guests