Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
TheRoDent
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 12:46 am

What happened to the channels above 2.5Ghz?

Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:04 pm

I have an AP with the "extra-wireless" feature with RouterOS 2.8.27.

The documentation mentions that one can use channels in the 2512-2732Khz range. (2.5Ghz-2.6Ghz) (See the bold section below)
interface wireless info> print
0 interface-type=Atheros AR5212 tx-power-control=yes ack-timeout-control=yes
alignment-mode=yes virtual-aps=yes noise-floor-control=yes
scan-support=yes burst-support=yes nstreme-support=yes
supported-bands=2ghz-b,5ghz,5ghz-turbo,2ghz-g
2ghz-b-channels=2312,2317,2322,2327,2332,2337,2342,2347,2352,2357,2362,2367, 2372,2412,2417,2422,2427,2432,2437,2442,2447,2452,2457,2462, 2467,2472,2512,2532,2552,2572,2592,2612,2632,2652,2672,2692, 2712,2732,2484
I have an AP with extra-channels but it does not show any of these frequencies. It stops at 2499.

Is this a radio/hardware issue?
 
abuomer59
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 4:03 pm
Location: Baghdad
Contact:

Re: What happened to the channels above 2.5Ghz?

Mon Feb 13, 2006 12:12 pm

Yes this is right, I have many MT routers with extra channels features (Level4 & Level5 licenses), some of them have the range 2.5-2.6GHz while the others stop at 2499MHz although I have paid for the extra frequencies licenses !
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon Feb 13, 2006 12:17 pm

it depends on what your wireless card supports.
 
Borage
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 10:19 pm

Mon Feb 13, 2006 2:54 pm

How come that there is only one 2ghz-g-turbo-channel?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon Feb 13, 2006 3:18 pm

because of regulatory domain restrictions in your country
 
abuomer59
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 4:03 pm
Location: Baghdad
Contact:

Re: What happened to the channels above 2.5Ghz?

Mon Apr 03, 2006 9:12 pm

Yes this is right, I have many MT routers with extra channels features (Level4 & Level5 licenses), some of them have the range 2.5-2.6GHz while the others stop at 2499MHz although I have paid for the extra frequencies licenses !
Hi All
I want to add some thing about this topic I used the same wireless lan card in several MT routers ,some of them do have channals above 2.5 GHz and some doesn't .strange !!
 
hautespot
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 5:38 pm
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Contact:

AR5006x extra-channel support

Fri Jul 28, 2006 9:16 pm

Question regarding extra-channel support:

On a MT 2.9.27 system on a Wrap.2c (i386 build) licensed for extra-channel support we have seen that the EMP-8602 cards, which use the AR5006x chipset (AR5413) only support the default 802.11 US Regulatory Domain channels in both b, g and a band operation.

However, the SR2, which uses the AR5004 chipset (AR5112/AR5213), supports channels from 2312Mhz up to 2499Mhz, but only when superchannel is selected. Even when the band is set to b only.

First, shouldn't extra-channels be available regardless of superchannel setting or not?

Second, it appears that MT does not detect or understand the SUBVENDOR_ID of the EMP-8602/AR5413 which should allow this card to use extra channels too.

Also, EnGenius now has released the EMP-8601 which is based on AR5006xs chipset (AR5414) which supports superchannel mode (turbo). Again, if MT could add support for this card, it would be nice.
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 972
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Fri Aug 18, 2006 5:10 am

mt response?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Fri Aug 18, 2006 9:01 am

depends on what your card supports. we take the values from the card's EEPROM
 
simonkizi
newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 10:38 pm

Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:08 am

To Mikrotik.

Please give us examples of which cards support 2.5 Ghz as we have a license for 2.5Ghz in South Africa through our affiliation with Sentech.
2000+ clients ie 2000+ RBs and Mikrotik to be obtained!

Else,

we will head for Wimax and dump MT as we need this urgently and till today we haven't seen any proper response on this forum regarding this issue.

Help Please!
 
tully
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 505
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:07 am

Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:50 pm

Cards based on the Atheros 5211 chipset (b/a) -- so you would only be able to use 'b' in 2.5GHz.
 
simonkizi
newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 10:38 pm

Sun Aug 20, 2006 2:47 am

Cards based on the Atheros 5211 chipset (b/a) -- so you would only be able to use 'b' in 2.5GHz.
Thx.

Which of the following may fall under the 5211 chipset category:

CM9
NL-5354MP
SR2
NMP-8602

If none, please advise brands that do.
 
budi_a
newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 11:57 am
Location: Jakarta
Contact:

Sun Aug 20, 2006 6:31 am

Cards based on the Atheros 5211 chipset (b/a) -- so you would only be able to use 'b' in 2.5GHz.
Thx.

Which of the following may fall under the 5211 chipset category:

CM9
NL-5354MP
SR2
NMP-8602

If none, please advise brands that do.
- Nortel based cards (old ones)
- Old Ambit
- Philips based cards

Thx
//Budi
 
kutty
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 10:08 am

Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:50 am

Cards based on the Atheros 5211 chipset (b/a) -- so you would only be able to use 'b' in 2.5GHz.
I Think , Senao SL 3054 MP Plus Aries2 will be cheaper card for 2.5Ghz deployments.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:25 am

- Nortel based cards (old ones)
- Old Ambit
- Philips based cards

Thx
//Budi
we have not tested any of these
 
simonkizi
newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 10:38 pm

Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:50 am

Thx to all.

Now that we have an idea of what to use, how do we get the frequency license upgrade?

Can we just purchase the upgrade or does it require documentation to be submitted to Mikrotik? If so, we can provide.

Thx again.
Simon
 
simonkizi
newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 10:38 pm

Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:10 pm

None to reply?

That is not impressive!
 
regardtv
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 72
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 6:54 pm
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Contact:

Mon Sep 04, 2006 10:40 pm

...
 
advantz
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 4:11 am

Tue Sep 05, 2006 4:22 am

orinoco's b/g pcmcia do support 2.4g - 2.7g
 
simonkizi
newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 10:38 pm

Tue Sep 05, 2006 4:57 pm

because of regulatory domain restrictions in your country
I got the upgrade fine. Yet as said before, only allowed till 2499 Ghz.

So, is it Mikrotik that is not allowing or the mini-pci cards???

Does Mikrotik provide frequency upgrades only according to the regulatory domains? Or it is the card manufacturers that limit the frequencies relative to the country to be exported to!

If it is Mikrotik, then we will appreciate an upgrade to cover 2.5-2.6 Ghz as we are licensed to use 2.5-2.6 Ghz.

Else, if the problem lies in the cards, can anyone advise on how to flash them, or else which countries to import from so that the 2.5 Ghz frequencies may be available. Or else maybe Mikrotik can provide us with the proper cards and we will surely purchase.

This will be a major acheivement in South Africa, as we shall be working closely with the Second Network Operator assigned by the government!

Thx to all.
Simon
 
TheRoDent
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 12:46 am

Wed Sep 06, 2006 10:44 am

I've found that the restriction lies in the card EEPROM's. ROS will report whatever the eeprom allows, as Nomis said.
 
simonkizi
newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 10:38 pm

Wed Sep 06, 2006 2:51 pm

I've found that the restriction lies in the card EEPROM's. ROS will report whatever the eeprom allows, as Nomis said.
Thx.

Anyone knows how to reflash the eeprom? Anyone has the firmware for extra 2.5 Ghz frequencies?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests