Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Milan0
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 5:15 pm
Location: There...
Contact:

Another P 2 P Problem

Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:26 pm

Hello buddies,

i have link between two points, with these details !
1- Distance 30 KM
2- 30 M tower ,32 DB dish, RB433, XR5,LMR 1M
3- First site configuration ( Bridge , 40M Nstream,TX power 30,using supper channels )
4- 2nd side configuration ( Station WDS , 40M N stream , TX power 30)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
before 1 month the signal was between -70 and -75 and all was good and i can transfer 50 MB/sec without any problems

My Problem :- but now i have always noise and i should changing channels every 3 or 4 hours because the CCq became less with 50% and after finding another good channel its back good but after couples hours i need to find another channel and ping going high , its too hard to find good channel this is weird it was working fine before

Note:- i changed all things RBB and LMR and XR5 but same problem and i have two links with the same problem and i need to transfer 40MB/sec for each one


Thanks for reading and im waiting any solution or and advice help me

Best of regards
Still learning .......
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Another P 2 P Problem

Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:37 pm

i have link between two points, with these details !
1- Distance 30 KM
2- 30 M tower ,32 DB dish, RB433, XR5,LMR 1M
3- First site configuration ( Bridge , 40M Nstream,TX power 30,using supper channels )
4- 2nd side configuration ( Station WDS , 40M N stream , TX power 30)
Does that mean the Tx power set manually at 30db on both radios?
 
Milan0
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 5:15 pm
Location: There...
Contact:

Re: Another P 2 P Problem

Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:48 pm

i have link between two points, with these details !
1- Distance 30 KM
2- 30 M tower ,32 DB dish, RB433, XR5,LMR 1M
3- First site configuration ( Bridge , 40M Nstream,TX power 30,using supper channels )
4- 2nd side configuration ( Station WDS , 40M N stream , TX power 30)
Does that mean the Tx power set manually at 30db on both radios?
yeah exactly
Still learning .......
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Another P 2 P Problem

Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:52 pm

Then that is 2db more than the max rating on those radios. Maybe overheating on the transmitters?
http://www.titanwirelessonline.com/v/vs ... asheet.pdf
 
Milan0
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 5:15 pm
Location: There...
Contact:

Re: Another P 2 P Problem

Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:21 pm

Then that is 2db more than the max rating on those radios. Maybe overheating on the transmitters?
http://www.titanwirelessonline.com/v/vs ... asheet.pdf
really im not sure i was trying to decrease the tx power many times but useless
Still learning .......
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Another P 2 P Problem

Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:30 pm

When you changed the tx-power setting, did you set the tx-power-mode also? If you did not change the "tx-power-mode=all-rates-fixed", then it will normally continue to use the default card rates. That would have saved your radios, and the problem may lie elsewhere.

I have burnt up my share of radios by overpowering them. My last mistake was installing a R52 and a R52H radio on the same router. I got the mac addresses backwards, and instead of decreasing the power on the R52H, I increased the power on the R52. It made it about two minutes, and that R52 has not transmitted since. :(
 
Milan0
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 5:15 pm
Location: There...
Contact:

Re: Another P 2 P Problem

Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:40 pm

When you changed the tx-power setting, did you set the tx-power-mode also? If you did not change the "tx-power-mode=all-rates-fixed", then it will normally continue to use the default card rates. That would have saved your radios, and the problem may lie elsewhere.

I have burnt up my share of radios by overpowering them. My last mistake was installing a R52 and a R52H radio on the same router. I got the mac addresses backwards, and instead of decreasing the power on the R52H, I increased the power on the R52. It made it about two minutes, and that R52 has not transmitted since. :(
yeah i did with tx-power-mode=all-rates-fixed
but same problem my problem is how i can prevent noise or using good channel or maybe protect it from noise
Still learning .......
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Another P 2 P Problem

Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:49 pm

It is possible you have already damaged the radios. The Ubiquiti radios are notorious for a power setting offset. Something about MadWiFi. Take a look at the bottom of this page under "Conclusion".
http://dl.ubnt.com/ubi_mtik_power.pdf
I have found the power offsets mentioned are shown only in WinBox. The CLI shows only the programmed tx-power, not the true offset power.
 
Milan0
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 5:15 pm
Location: There...
Contact:

Re: Another P 2 P Problem

Thu Aug 16, 2012 4:01 pm

It is possible you have already damaged the radios. The Ubiquiti radios are notorious for a power setting offset. Something about MadWiFi. Take a look at the bottom of this page under "Conclusion".
http://dl.ubnt.com/ubi_mtik_power.pdf
I have found the power offsets mentioned are shown only in WinBox. The CLI shows only the programmed tx-power, not the true offset power.
Thanks i got it now its solve the problem a bit
im still need to change channel every 3 or 4 hours
Still learning .......
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Another P 2 P Problem

Thu Aug 16, 2012 4:07 pm

Thanks i got it now its solve the problem a bit
im still need to change channel every 3 or 4 hours
How do you know? It hasn't been 3 hours since you changed that power setting. It may have taken that long for the radios to overheat.
 
Milan0
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 5:15 pm
Location: There...
Contact:

Re: Another P 2 P Problem

Thu Aug 16, 2012 4:09 pm

Thanks i got it now its solve the problem a bit
im still need to change channel every 3 or 4 hours
How do you know? It hasn't been 3 hours since you changed that power setting. It may have taken that long for the radios to overheat.
no im not sure till now im waiting and i will be happy if you gonna check with me by team viewer
Still learning .......
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Another P 2 P Problem

Thu Aug 16, 2012 4:16 pm

It is a good sign for your radios if they start transmitting without noise after a frequency change. That shuts off the transmitter for a few seconds during the change, and allows it to cool a bit. I hope for you that it does not pick up the noise again. If the noise starts again, then you should post again.
 
Milan0
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 5:15 pm
Location: There...
Contact:

Re: Another P 2 P Problem

Thu Aug 16, 2012 4:22 pm

It is a good sign for your radios if they start transmitting without noise after a frequency change. That shuts off the transmitter for a few seconds during the change, and allows it to cool a bit. I hope for you that it does not pick up the noise again. If the noise starts again, then you should post again.
Okay Thanks i will be back and give you my report
Still learning .......
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Another P 2 P Problem

Thu Aug 16, 2012 5:56 pm

Insure you stay within the power limitations of the XR5.
If you are using "tx-power-mode=all-rates-fixed", then you must set the tx-power=13 (23db true), unless you limit the speed to 24Mbps or less.
http://dl.ubnt.com/xr5_datasheet.pdf

I recommend setting "tx-power-mode=default". It selects the correct power setting for each speed.
 
Milan0
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 5:15 pm
Location: There...
Contact:

Re: Another P 2 P Problem

Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:24 pm

Insure you stay within the power limitations of the XR5.
If you are using "tx-power-mode=all-rates-fixed", then you must set the tx-power=13 (23db true), unless you limit the speed to 24Mbps or less.
http://dl.ubnt.com/xr5_datasheet.pdf

I recommend setting "tx-power-mode=default". It selects the correct power setting for each speed.
i made it 27 db for each side and its working good with me now but im still waiting
Still learning .......
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Another P 2 P Problem

Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:54 pm

i made it 27 db for each side and its working good with me now but im still waiting
Don't say you were not warned.
 
Milan0
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2011 5:15 pm
Location: There...
Contact:

Re: Another P 2 P Problem

Fri Aug 17, 2012 12:16 am

i made it 27 db for each side and its working good with me now but im still waiting
Don't say you were not warned.
After putting in bridge side 28 db nd in stations WDS side 27 db

Solved ......


Thanks dude for helping me
Still learning .......

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bennyuk, hades198686 and 17 guests