Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
ucheonyeaka
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 6:07 pm
Location: Nigeria
Contact:

Web Proxy

Mon Jan 30, 2006 6:18 pm

Hi guys,

I want to do some caching using Router Board 532 with two SR5 cards. Please has anyone tried this and what was the result?

Thanks in advance



Uche
 
blankman
newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 6:14 am

Tue Jan 31, 2006 6:38 am

Not sure that is the best idea ... everything will have to be writen to CF which is slow, so I am guessing you don't want to do that ... though ... I suppose it will work. Also, the web proxy in the rb hardware code (home grown) is different than the web proxy in the none rb (modified squid i heard).
 
ucheonyeaka
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 6:07 pm
Location: Nigeria
Contact:

Tue Jan 31, 2006 3:12 pm

I plan to use Microdrive hard drive
 
ucheonyeaka
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 6:07 pm
Location: Nigeria
Contact:

Tue Jan 31, 2006 11:34 pm

Guys,

I assume nobody has tried this yet. But experts what do you think? :roll:



-Uche
 
User avatar
HarvSki
Member
Member
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:37 pm
Location: London, UK

Wed Feb 01, 2006 3:34 pm

The Proxy on the RouterBoard 500 is not a caching proxy.
 
Jrslick22
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 3:25 am

???

Thu Feb 02, 2006 11:27 pm

web-proxy is an additional package which when installed.....still doesn’t work?? well i cant find any other traces of web-poxy apart from listing installed packages, any ideas??
 
User avatar
HarvSki
Member
Member
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:37 pm
Location: London, UK

Thu Feb 02, 2006 11:46 pm

look from the command line
 
Jrslick22
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 3:25 am

Still nothing

Thu Feb 02, 2006 11:51 pm

Nope not there, assuming its still found under ip>web-proxy
 
User avatar
HarvSki
Member
Member
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 3:37 pm
Location: London, UK

Fri Feb 03, 2006 12:05 am

I would think so, you can try IP then press TAB twice to see the options
 
cibernet
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 610
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 7:22 pm
Location: Marcos Juárez, Córdoba, Argentina
Contact:

Re: ???

Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:13 am

web-proxy is an additional package which when installed.....still doesn’t work?? well i cant find any other traces of web-poxy apart from listing installed packages, any ideas??
web-proxy package is only avaible on x86 instalations of MT, for the RB532 there is web-proxy-test package and you will find it on IP>Proxy

Regards
José Ignacio Acosta
MikroTik Consultant IDAR0001
Mikronet

Movile: +54 9 3472-624722
Email/Msn: info[at]mikronet.com.ar
 
wisp
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 10:50 pm

Mon Feb 06, 2006 5:52 pm

Please what is x86 instalations of MT?
 
cibernet
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 610
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 7:22 pm
Location: Marcos Juárez, Córdoba, Argentina
Contact:

Mon Feb 06, 2006 10:42 pm

Please what is x86 instalations of MT?
It´s for regular PC.. example: P4...


Regards
José Ignacio Acosta
MikroTik Consultant IDAR0001
Mikronet

Movile: +54 9 3472-624722
Email/Msn: info[at]mikronet.com.ar
 
Jrslick22
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 3:25 am

Re: ???

Sun Feb 12, 2006 3:11 am

web-proxy is an additional package which when installed.....still doesn’t work?? well i cant find any other traces of web-poxy apart from listing installed packages, any ideas??
web-proxy package is only avaible on x86 instalations of MT, for the RB532 there is web-proxy-test package and you will find it on IP>Proxy

Regards
You cant use proxy for transparent caching though right?
 
User avatar
djape
Member
Member
Posts: 469
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 7:54 pm
Location: Serbia

Sun Feb 12, 2006 2:37 pm

Why can't you just upload a web-proxy package and reboot?
After that you can configure transparent web-proxy and do redirection in dst-nat.
Someone correct me if I missed something.
I drink like a pirate and smoke like a hippie...
 
blankman
newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 6:14 am

Still think it is best to stay away from the RB web-proxy.

Mon Feb 20, 2006 6:51 am

So, from the MuM, it seemed that the web-proxy for RB was a new "re-write" from MT. That is they are writing it from "scratch" ... thus is isn't so stable. The web-proxy on the x86 is actaully some squid derived system. Lastely, you could always make your "own" transparent web proxy as djape said:
After that you can configure transparent web-proxy and do redirection in dst-nat.
Someone correct me if I missed something.
You can simply grab all the traffic that is coming through the forward rules and send them to your own squid server. Then special case the squid server so that it can actaully get out.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 30 guests