Page 1 of 4

Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 8:26 am
by shiraz
I have purchased Metal 2 SHPN with mikrotik 5.18 Version , and after alot of settings , antennas changing all the time , poe changing , ehternet wire changing , i am getting the problem of response time of about 2000-3000ms and no data communication at all , poe cable length is 15meters and i have configured it on ( B) data rate of about 11mbps , all the settings are good it is new device my clients are tplink 722n , on the other hand if i install bullet 2hp on the same location it is working great tx ccq is about 50-70%. is that a devcei problem or a software issue.

messages are disconnected due to extensive data loss in logs.....

user is only 1 meter from the devices and alot of data loss and mind that my bullet 2 hp form ubnt is working great on the same data and mode.

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 1:18 pm
by ohara
user is only 1 meter from the devices and alot of data loss and mind that my bullet 2 hp form ubnt is working great on the same data and mode.
Metal 2 has a very powerful radio transmitter (1.6 WATT). If you are testing it indoors then I would try lowering the power settings and set the distance to indoors under the advanced tab.

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Wi ... he_best.3F

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Sat Dec 22, 2012 5:56 pm
by normis
Yes, that is correct. You must lower the power, or move away, until your Registration Table in RouterOS shows signal in the range of -55 to -65. For example -30 is much too strong.

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 8:14 am
by shiraz
Thanks to ALL for replys , ihave purchasedit for high power plus the problems comes when it is installed on the tower , where i have a another user antenna connected to my TPlink tl wn 651g card . ping is ok there but as i start to download anything ping goes to 3000+ms and download speed goes to 0 to 6 k over a 10mbit profile .

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Mon Dec 24, 2012 2:10 pm
by normis
I undestand that you purchased it for this feature, but - too much power (and too high signal) will result in worse performance. Could you please show printout from the registration table when you have the issue?

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 1:25 pm
by shiraz
Log just contains




disconnected due to extensive data loss

and no other messages.

this problem comes to other devices know ping goes high i am using mikrotik 5.19 for load balancing using pcc + hotspot+pppoe on same pc, users are connected via Local named interface to gigabit switch but there are no problems on wired network , problem just comes on Metal .

I have assigned tow ip's to same lan card like 10.0.0.1/24 for pppoe and 169.254.241.1/24 for hotspot for Local interface but my issue just remains to the metal and some times it comes to other wifi devices.............

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 1:28 pm
by shiraz
CCQ is between 29-50%

distance goes to dynamic
72km

clients are just two

when the problem comes

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Tue Dec 25, 2012 1:33 pm
by shiraz
i have claimed the warranty they are sending me new device if the problem comes again i will let you know thanks for replies plus


the older device gave problem just after opening the box and installing it on the tower.

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:00 pm
by TomjNorthIdaho
YES - there is for sure a problem with the 2.4 metal !!!

I started with a mikrotik 433 and mikrotik 2.4 card (no problems) --- later changed to another brand (no problems) --- Then two weeks ago changed to the Mikrotik 2.4 ghz metal and that is when the problems began....

I have been everywhere in all the settings and the mikrotik 2.4 metal just does not work correctly!

I have 8 connections (802.11b only) (some are neighbors and others are about 7 miles away)
The distance reported by the metal mikrotik shows 48 and 50 km on some client connections. However the client mikrotik (RB411) reports distance of 7km.

There is something wrong with the AP mode of the Mikrotik metal 2.4 device (ver 5.22)

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:31 pm
by siyoa
I ran into similar issues with Groove A-2Hn.

4 different antennas. Was able to get it finally going 3 days ago. ~45dB SNR and proper distance of 1km from tower was reported. Now 3 days passed, distance changes from 30km to 55km randomly. SNR varies from 25 to 35 dB with occasional drop in connectivity. (v5.14)

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:36 pm
by siyoa
my post disappeared, so here is the recap

same experience with Groove A-2Hn (v5.14)

tried 4 different antennas, got it going finally, reported proper distance from tower (1km), SNR ~45dB, smooth performance

3 days after, distance fluctuate from 30km-50km, SNR from 25-35dB and there is occasional drop in connectivity

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:03 am
by Inssomniak
Ack setting in both dynamic mode (goes to ridiculous values) and manual ack (doesnt work at all)

I wish I could set manual ack but traffic fails to pass at all. (All versions from 3.x to 6.x) affected

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:52 am
by zoomaha
access tp link & linksys messages are disconnected due to extensive data loss in logs....

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:00 pm
by zoomaha
Image

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 1:55 pm
by shaawa
Image
i'm from egypt and i have same problem
please reply

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:38 am
by normis
Can at least one of you show the registration table printout please?

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:08 am
by shaawa
Image
Image

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:17 am
by johnnydaou
I have the same problem when I install the metal rb outside, but inside it works great even when signal is about 100db.

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:07 pm
by uldis
if the clients are not so far away then you can switch the distance setting from dynamic to indoors.
What is the ambient temperature where that Metal is located?
Have you tried to lower the tx-power a little bit?

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 1:58 pm
by johnnydaou
I tried indoors instead of dynamic and lower tx power but it didn't work.
2 clients are about 100m and 2 about 500m.
The temperature is between 10 and 20 degrees celcius.

More than all of that, when I detach the meltal from the antenna away for about 5mm only , it works!!!
I tried longer pigtails but didn't do anything.

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:59 pm
by ALSHAERI
i know a little bit about metal but i noticed that you have placed 0 value for antenna gain,
changed to 28 and try,

regards

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:44 am
by johnnydaou
I tried to change antenna gain but nothing, the same problem still exists.
Also , I noticed that when connected as station to another mikrotik, the signal is unstable at all
all the time getting up and down from -51 to -83 and the ping requests timeout or high delay.

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 2:02 pm
by masterpis
i have same problem with omni hyperlink..

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 12:03 pm
by adryfia
so there is no solution to this problem?, I also experienced the same problem. I have followed the instructions to the lower tx power but still same problem. :shock:

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:22 am
by normis
If you have issues with wireless, start by resetting wireless to default with this command:

ros code

[admin@MikroTik] /interface wireless> reset-configuration
If this doesn't help, I suggest you to email support with your supout.rif file and we will try to solve the issue.

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2013 3:11 pm
by sabbirahasan
every thing done but same prablem

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 1:55 am
by ba7abak
me too have this problem i have 7 device of Metal 2SHPn and didn't know why this problems happens
working perfect indoors but outdoors not working the client access is disconnected and some time connect again after that disconnected again try every thing the same problems
i asked every one have this device about this problem and they tell me that they have the same problem in there devices ...

we ask for the Solution , and how solve this problem

Thanks

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 4:07 am
by theWISP
I posted in my own thread , and now have seen this one here is a copy/paste of that thread.

We have a site that has been serviced by a 433ah with an XR2 for years. This had a 30ft run of LMR400 up to the 11dbi omni. It services about 60 Clients, and has worked great.



We saw some interference or what could be water in the coax. We have been elminating as much coax as possible over the past 2 years. So we took this opportunity to replace this with a Metal 2.4Ghz Groove.

However, this did not resolve the problem. Signals went from a range -50 t0 -80 and increased to a -15 to - 55. This is kinda crazy. I am not sure why there would have been such a huge jump in the -Rx signals of the groove. I am afraid something else is causing these weird signals or the groove is not reporting the sigs right.

This is a very old ap location, and we used to use Demarc brand cpe's. So about 85% of the CPEs are demarc with the other 15% mikrotik. I used the access list to only allow the mikrotik cpes to connect. Problem still existed of ping times from the ap to the cpes 700ms+. Even with no traffic. I switched from 802.11 to nv2, and then had PERFECT times, 1-12ms consistently with good traffic running. Once its switched back to 802.11b/g or b, the problem returns.

We have had cpes go bunk in the past and would go into compresion and spew out huge amounts of garbage RF. So this is kinda where I am leaning.

Now, when all of the clients are allowed and 802.11b/g is active, the problem still exists. At random times, the problem completely disappears in just 1-2secs, and ping times go <10ms for all the clients, and the interface starts passing around 3Mbps. This will last for less than a minute, and then the problem returns.

I have my methods of identifying the solution, but I would love to hear what others would do. It's been a long, cold, and windy day on towers and am burnt out. But i can't relax with this problem out there.

This is versions 5.21 - 6.0rc11.

Please give me some feedback, Thanks!

Adam

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 7:56 am
by theWISP
Must be Friday....hahahaol

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 5:19 pm
by ba7abak
you have the same Problem too Adam :)

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Sat Mar 02, 2013 7:10 pm
by theWISP
Yup.......and customers are getting very upset. Will have to swap it out for something else.

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 9:35 pm
by theWISP
Yes, that is correct. You must lower the power, or move away, until your Registration Table in RouterOS shows signal in the range of -55 to -65. For example -30 is much too strong.

Normis - The issue for me is that the signals where no where near that high with a different radio in its place. Also, NV2 Solves this problem. So what would nv2 be doing that would lend an idea to what is going wrong here. If I put the RB52hn or the XR2 back in place, the problem will vanish. Please advise!

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 12:39 am
by theWISP
Any updates out there? Did anyone get a fix for this? I am in dire need of a fix!

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 1:47 am
by theWISP
Downgraded 6.0rc11 to 5.1 remotely, and grove never came back...... :(

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 3:05 am
by wirelesswaves
I am also seeing 15dB jumps in receive signal, and I have lost all contact with it (ssh, winbox, mac-tel) etc etc.

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:33 pm
by theWISP
Mikrotik? Can you please advise, I have submitted a support ticket with no response. I find it so odd how Mikrotik has avoided extending their support services to the same level that other vendors have (well just about all companies have). We have real businesses relying on this stuff. Please advise.

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 9:59 am
by normis
Mikrotik? Can you please advise, I have submitted a support ticket with no response. I find it so odd how Mikrotik has avoided extending their support services to the same level that other vendors have (well just about all companies have). We have real businesses relying on this stuff. Please advise.
Support answers within 3 business days. Tell me your ticket number here, and I will check the status.

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 2:06 pm
by ba7abak
sorry Adam for what happen to your grove :(

try this : http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Netinstall

and this : http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Flashfig

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:32 am
by TychoX
Hello,

are there any updates on this? We have exactly the same problem with an Metal shpn access point. Clients get disconnected while "extensive data loss" is logged on the metal.

I tried lowering the tx-power from 16 to 10 and then up to 13, which resultet in somewhat better dbi values for the connected clients but otherwise the problem persists.

All our RB33 boards work perfectly though.

Please Help!

cheers,

Tycho

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 8:29 pm
by TomjNorthIdaho
I am starting to think that Mikrotik is blind to the concept that there is a serious problem with a Mikrotik product.

To to point - it does not work!!!!
Unless you call constant disconnects and high error rates and no throughput and distances 10x what a client really is, then it works just great (in the round file that is).

There is a serious problem, the problem is not software - the problem is the hardware - it is a bad product.

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 11:31 am
by normis
I am starting to think that Mikrotik is blind to the concept that there is a serious problem with a Mikrotik product.

To to point - it does not work!!!!
Unless you call constant disconnects and high error rates and no throughput and distances 10x what a client really is, then it works just great (in the round file that is).

There is a serious problem, the problem is not software - the problem is the hardware - it is a bad product.
Tom, did you email support? Please tell me your ticket number, and I will check the status. The forum is not an official ticketing system, it is a user forum, like it says on the top.

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Mon Mar 18, 2013 2:14 pm
by laithmikrotik
I am starting to think that Mikrotik is blind to the concept that there is a serious problem with a Mikrotik product.

To to point - it does not work!!!!
Unless you call constant disconnects and high error rates and no throughput and distances 10x what a client really is, then it works just great (in the round file that is).

There is a serious problem, the problem is not software - the problem is the hardware - it is a bad product.
BAD IDEA. :evil: :evil: :evil: ..

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 10:14 am
by normis
Everybody with Metal 2SHPn problems, please write the following:

- did the problems start right out of the box, or it worked for some time at first?
- did you properly connect an antenna before you powered on the unit?
- if yes, what antenna did you use exactly ?

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:57 pm
by injuredx
Everybody with Metal 2SHPn problems, please write the following:

- did the problems start right out of the box, or it worked for some time at first?
- did you properly connect an antenna before you powered on the unit?
- if yes, what antenna did you use exactly ?
- yes, the problems start right out of the box, it worked sometime but ping are not stable, sometimes above 2000ms, and get timeout. many client are disconnected with info= extensive data loss...
- yes.. i'm using omni tplink 15dbi... attached in 2 pipe (+-11meter height) with wds client tplink 5201g which only +-600meter distance from tower

have try to lower the power and try many setting... but the problem still occured.

and there's an experience, theres laptop using wifi atheros chipset(bgn) which cannot connect, it just about 10mtr from tower, but then i set the metal to 20mhz channelwidth, and then it can connect. i dont know whats the difference, while the other laptop(mostly using broadcom chipset) are just fine when the metal is set into 20 40mhz

hope theres solution for this... have been a month finding the answer.. thanks

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 2:17 pm
by ba7abak
i asking for solution from long time and nothing happen distance between the Metal AP and the wireless clients less than 1 km , i'm using 12db omni antenna in Metal and trying another antenna Hyperlink and the same problem , update firmware in wireless clients the same problem , try many setting ,
u must know many peoples have problem with Metal 2SHPn :(

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 4:57 pm
by Deac
A problem called 'ver. 6.xx' coz it's buggy.

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2013 5:15 pm
by ba7abak
A problem called 'ver. 6.xx' coz it's buggy.
i'm back to v 5.24 and nothing new the same problem clients access disconnected or high ping 3533ms and request time out :(

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:14 am
by lunchboxrts
Everybody with Metal 2SHPn problems, please write the following:

- did the problems start right out of the box, or it worked for some time at first?
- did you properly connect an antenna before you powered on the unit?
- if yes, what antenna did you use exactly ?
1: Yes, right out of the box
2: Yes
3: connected to 12db grid before turning on

seeing spikes from -65 then back to -85, erratic ping times

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 9:26 am
by normis
Does any one of you have more than one Metal 2SHPn? Do all of your metals have this issue, or only some? Can you send the defective units directly to MikroTik for inspection? Please contact support@mikrotik.com to arrange this

Re: Metal 2 shpn Problem in WIFI

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:11 pm
by normis
ba7abak, are you receiving our emails? I see that we have six closed support tickets with your email. Did you try what MikroTik support suggested?