Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
braidiano
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:29 am

PtP Link with 10db difference in chain 0 and 1

Mon Apr 08, 2013 11:57 am

Hi,

I have this ptp link, with a 10db difference between chain 0 and chain 1 (both signal and tx-singnal). The boards are RB 711G and the antennas are UBNT RD 30.
Tried to align better the link, but I cant get more. Tried to change the cables also.

Any suggestion?
             tx-rate: 270.0Mbps
                 rx-rate: 90.0Mbps
                    ssid: LINK1
                   bssid: D4:CA:6D:82:xx:xx
              radio-name: radio1
         signal-strength: -66dBm
     signal-strength-ch0: -67dBm
     signal-strength-ch1: -76dBm
      tx-signal-strength: -54dBm
  tx-signal-strength-ch0: -54dBm
  tx-signal-strength-ch1: -64dBm
             noise-floor: -112dBm
         signal-to-noise: 46dB
                  tx-ccq: 80%
                  rx-ccq: 37%
   authenticated-clients: 1
        current-distance: 13
                wds-link: no

 
hipro5
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 11:48 am
Location: Hellas (Greece)

Re: PtP Link with 10db difference in chain 0 and 1

Mon Apr 08, 2013 12:11 pm

Mmmmm!! :?

Have you tried to change the pigtale cables too?
Have you picked MANUAL Tx in any of them or so?
Try to REBOOT BOTH boards too at the config that you have.
 
braidiano
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:29 am

Re: PtP Link with 10db difference in chain 0 and 1

Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:44 pm

Hi,

fixed replacing the antenna at one side.

Does the SNR is too high? the tx power is now at "default", should I set it to manual and lower it?


station side:
  signal-strength: -53dBm
     signal-strength-ch0: -55dBm
     signal-strength-ch1: -57dBm
      tx-signal-strength: -52dBm
  tx-signal-strength-ch0: -56dBm
  tx-signal-strength-ch1: -56dBm
             noise-floor: -113dBm
         signal-to-noise: 60dB
                  tx-ccq: 71%
                  rx-ccq: 78%
   authenticated-clients: 1
        current-distance: 13
                wds-link: no
                  bridge: yes

This is the registration table stats on STATION side:

 interface=wlan1 radio-name="radio1" mac-address=xxxxx
   ap=yes wds=no bridge=yes rx-rate="240.0Mbps" tx-rate="180.0Mbps" 
   packets=416830,714804 bytes=112441462,984946617 frames=147838,679948 
   frame-bytes=113409671,959811916 uptime=17h25m15s last-activity=0ms 
   signal-strength=-53dBm signal-to-noise=60dB signal-strength-ch0=-55dBm 
   signal-strength-ch1=-58dBm tx-signal-strength-ch0=-55dBm 
   tx-signal-strength-ch1=-56dBm 
   strength-at-rates=-53dBm@6Mbps 0ms,-54dBm@HT20-0 17h23m14s990ms,-55dBm@HT20-
                  1 17h23m23s390ms,-54dBm@HT20-2 3h34m39s60ms,-55dBm@HT20-3 
                  3h34m38s220ms,-56dBm@HT20-4 3h2m43s630ms,-60dBm@HT20-5 
                  2h43m21s660ms,-61dBm@HT20-6 13m24s200ms,-62dBm@HT20-7 13m23s,-
                  57dBm@HT40-0 17h23m27s610ms,-57dBm@HT40-1 3h35m42s990ms,-
                  59dBm@HT40-2 2h58m26s470ms,-58dBm@HT40-3 7m37s450ms,-
                  60dBm@HT40-4 10ms,-61dBm@HT40-5 10ms,-64dBm@HT40-6 10ms,-
                  66dBm@HT40-7 40ms 
   tx-signal-strength=-52dBm tx-ccq=68% rx-ccq=77% distance=13 
   routeros-version="5.14" encryption=aes-ccm group-encryption=aes-ccm 
   tdma-timing-offset=81 tdma-tx-size=2544 tdma-rx-size=4000 tdma-retx=11 
   tdma-winfull=53 

AP side:
status: running-ap
                   band: 5ghz-n
              frequency: 5500MHz
      wireless-protocol: nv2
            noise-floor: -114dBm
     registered-clients: 1
  authenticated-clients: 1
      current-tx-powers: 6Mbps:19(19/22),9Mbps:19(19/22),12Mbps:19(19/22),
                         18Mbps:19(19/22),24Mbps:19(19/22),36Mbps:16(16/19),
                         48Mbps:13(13/16),54Mbps:12(12/15),HT20-0:19(19/22),
                         HT20-1:18(18/21),HT20-2:17(17/20),HT20-3:17(17/20),
                         HT20-4:16(16/19),HT20-5:13(13/16),HT20-6:12(12/15),
                         HT20-7:12(12/15),HT40-0:18(18/21),HT40-1:17(17/20),
                         HT40-2:16(16/19),HT40-3:16(16/19),HT40-4:15(15/18),
                         HT40-5:12(12/15),HT40-6:11(11/14),HT40-7:11(11/14)
    notify-external-fdb: no


This is the registration table stats on AP side:
0 interface=wlan1 radio-name="link1" mac-address=xxxxxx ap=no 
   wds=no bridge=yes rx-rate="180.0Mbps" tx-rate="240.0Mbps" 
   packets=276327,180974 bytes=370968919,39546937 frames=260900,85032 
   frame-bytes=371067093,24750861 uptime=17h27m43s last-activity=0ms 
   signal-strength=-52dBm signal-to-noise=61dB signal-strength-ch0=-56dBm 
   signal-strength-ch1=-56dBm tx-signal-strength-ch0=-55dBm 
   tx-signal-strength-ch1=-58dBm 
   strength-at-rates=-52dBm@6Mbps 0ms,-59dBm@54Mbps 260ms,-53dBm@HT20-0 
                  3h3m41s60ms,-54dBm@HT20-1 3h3m36s340ms,-54dBm@HT20-2 
                  3h3m45s450ms,-55dBm@HT20-3 1h30m44s390ms,-56dBm@HT20-4 
                  34m24s120ms,-59dBm@HT20-5 5m430ms,-61dBm@HT20-6 4m58s630ms,-
                  61dBm@HT20-7 5m1s600ms,-57dBm@HT40-0 3h3m53s120ms,-58dBm@HT40-
                  1 1h34m10s40ms,-59dBm@HT40-2 37m7s730ms,-59dBm@HT40-3 20ms,-
                  57dBm@HT40-4 30ms,-63dBm@HT40-5 40ms,-64dBm@HT40-6 100ms,-
                  65dBm@HT40-7 1s430ms 
   tx-signal-strength=-53dBm tx-ccq=77% rx-ccq=71% distance=13 
   routeros-version="5.21" last-ip=10.250.1.7 encryption=aes-ccm 
   group-encryption=aes-ccm tdma-timing-offset=81 tdma-tx-size=3056 
   tdma-rx-size=2544 tdma-retx=11 tdma-winfull=1 


 
hipro5
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 11:48 am
Location: Hellas (Greece)

Re: PtP Link with 10db difference in chain 0 and 1

Wed Apr 10, 2013 1:38 pm

DON'T touch anything!!!.......... :D

Now let's fix our Tx/Rx CCQ not to have "ups and downs" in the HT MCS table of the wireless config.

Go first to AP side and check via winbox from MCS 0 up to (and) MCS 12 on both tables. All the others uncheck it. (MCS 13, 14, 15)
Then do the same on CLE too.
By doing so, you will be able to STABLE LOCK at 180Mbps both with HIGH signal quality.
If you are still BELOW 90% CCQ on Tx or on Rx, UNCHECK the MCS 12 too (leave up to MCS 11).
Your last will be the MCS 11 because ALL of the below, DON'T WORK. (You will be oblidged to lock from MCS 7 and below then that they work).
IF you can't get CCQ ABOVE 90% from the above settings and it fluctuates a lot, then you have interfearence from something else.
After doing so, REBOOT BOTH AP and CLE.

EDIT: You MUST run a bandwidth test (or something else) on BOTH to see where you are locked to.
Last edited by hipro5 on Wed Apr 10, 2013 5:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
braidiano
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 1:29 am

Re: PtP Link with 10db difference in chain 0 and 1

Wed Apr 10, 2013 5:07 pm

Many Thanks!! Now the CCQ is stable at 99/100% both sides. :D

The results are:
link_status.png
TCP test:
test_TCP.png
UDP test:
test_UDP.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
hipro5
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 11:48 am
Location: Hellas (Greece)

Re: PtP Link with 10db difference in chain 0 and 1

Wed Apr 10, 2013 5:24 pm

Heh, heh, heh........THAT'S IT M8...... :D

DON'T TOUCH ANYTHING now.......MAKE you backups and your export compacts to have them and you're ready. :D
 
User avatar
paams
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 216
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: PtP Link with 10db difference in chain 0 and 1

Fri Aug 04, 2017 2:51 pm

Hello There! I have done a PtP wireless links with router board RB433 with two wlan cards R52HN (dual chain). I have done ap-bridge wireless configuration mode on RB433 board and station bridge on the another sites. All the other station sites are at different directions. So i decided to utilize the dual chain R52HN radio cards with single chain 24dBi grid antennas for different location based station directions that is four different directions with chain0 connectors to two directions and chain1 connectors to another two station directions. For chain0 link connectivity at station end i have used Mikrotik groove52Hpn having single chain0 and link connected good with Rx/Tx signal strength -65/-63dBm. For chain1 connectivity i am using Mikrotik dual chain DISC Lite 5 with activating both chain0 and chain1 on this station end, as there is no radio with single chain1. But chain1 is not making link from AP base site to this dual chain DISC Lite 5 station. It must work at least with chain1 on this dual chain DISC Lite 5 station. Why this is so it must detect the station and get connected? Any link connectivity technical support will be appreciated from Mikrotik Wireless Network Exert here. Thank you very much.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
p3rad0x
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 604
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 5:42 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: PtP Link with 10db difference in chain 0 and 1

Fri Aug 04, 2017 5:51 pm

My advice would be not to connect a dual chain client to a single chain ap
There you go then you touched something ;-) : it only takes a change in wind direction to screw with your nat :-)
 
User avatar
paams
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 216
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: PtP Link with 10db difference in chain 0 and 1

Fri Aug 04, 2017 6:24 pm

My advice would be not to connect a dual chain client to a single chain ap
Thanks for your advice. I understand your concern very well wireless point of view. But right now i have no other option to upgrade the AP site and at the same time would like to utilizing dual chain connectivity with different configuration setup. I have tried to work to align and configure wireless setting one more time again visiting at AP base site and now one remote dual chain client site get connected with Tx/Rx signal strength at chain1 is -81/-76dBm and at chain0 -77/-95 dBm and overall signal strength is -75/-76dBm at registration tab. Should i make some more configuration changes at AP site for better signals. Thanks.
 
esbenrug
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2016 4:11 pm

Re: PtP Link with 10db difference in chain 0 and 1

Tue Aug 08, 2017 10:48 am

Hi,
What command did you use to get this output ?
signal-strength: -53dBm
signal-strength-ch0: -55dBm
signal-strength-ch1: -57dBm
tx-signal-strength: -52dBm
tx-signal-strength-ch0: -56dBm
tx-signal-strength-ch1: -56dBm
noise-floor: -113dBm
signal-to-noise: 60dB
tx-ccq: 71%
rx-ccq: 78%
authenticated-clients: 1
current-distance: 13
wds-link: no
bridge: yes

Best Regards
Esben

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests