Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
whatda
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:05 pm

Need help Wireless Bridge cant see other side subnets

Wed Apr 10, 2013 10:42 am

Hi I have a bridge setup with two subnets 192.168.0.1 and 192.168.1.1 but I cant see the PC on either ends 192.168.0.5 & 192.168.0.22 and on the other end 192.168.1.127/128.
Both ends have their own ADSL. But I need to share 2 PC on either sides. I am using SXT-G-5HnD

Thanks in advance for any help

setup for AP

[admin@MikroTikAP] > /export compact
# jan/02/1970 00:28:45 by RouterOS 5.24
# software id = N8UG-UVGN
#
/interface bridge
add l2mtu=1600 name=bridge1
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
add authentication-types=wpa-psk,wpa2-psk eap-methods=passthrough \
management-protection=allowed mode=dynamic-keys name=profile1 \
supplicant-identity="" wpa-pre-shared-key=ghcfytr4xd6y
wpa2-pre-shared-key=ghcfytr4xd6yjo9bnlQ4
/interface wireless
set 0 band=5ghz-a/n channel-width=20/40mhz-ht-below disabl
5785 ht-ampdu-priorities=0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7 ht-rxchains=0
l2mtu=2290 mode=bridge security-profile=profile1 ssid=
wds-default-bridge=bridge1 wds-mode=dynamic wireless-p
/ip hotspot user profile
set [ find default=yes ] idle-timeout=none keepalive-timeo
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=wlan1
/ip address
add address=192.168.1.4/32 interface=bridge1 network=192.1
add address=192.168.0.4/32 interface=ether1 network=192.16
/ip neighbor discovery
set wlan1 disabled=yes
/system identity
set name=MikroTikAP
/system leds
set 0 interface=wlan1
/system routerboard settings
set cpu-frequency=250MHz
[admin@MikroTikAP] >

Setup for client
[admin@Client] > /export compact
# jan/02/1970 00:31:30 by RouterOS 5.24
# software id = AMPR-24DV
#
/interface bridge
add l2mtu=1600 name=bridge1
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
add authentication-types=wpa-psk,wpa2-psk eap-methods=passthrough management-protection=allowed mode=dynamic-keys name=\
profile1 supplicant-identity="" wpa-pre-shared-key=ghcfytr4xd6yjo9bnlQ4 wpa2-pre-shared-key=ghcfytr4xd6yjo9bnlQ4
/interface wireless
set 0 band=5ghz-a/n channel-width=20/40mhz-ht-below disabled=no frequency=5785 ht-ampdu-priorities=0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7 \
ht-rxchains=0,1 ht-txchains=0,1 l2mtu=2290 mode=station-wds security-profile=profile1 ssid=Mikyawawa43 \
wireless-protocol=nv2
/ip hotspot user profile
set [ find default=yes ] idle-timeout=none keepalive-timeout=2m
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=wlan1
/ip address
add address=192.168.0.4/32 interface=bridge1 network=192.168.0.0
add address=192.168.1.4/32 interface=ether1 network=192.168.1.0
/ip neighbor discovery
set wlan1 disabled=yes
/system identity
set name=Client
/system leds
set 0 interface=wlan1
[admin@Client] >
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Jorbu
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 4:23 am

Re: Need help Wireless Bridge cant see other side subnets

Thu Apr 11, 2013 9:46 pm

Hello Sir,

This is probably not working because routing has not been setup on the gateway routers, the IPs on the bridges are /32s, and there is nothing routing between the 192.168.0.0 & 192.168.1.0 subnet. My suggestion to you is:

Configure the SXts so they have a transport network (the network bridging 192.168.0.0 & 192.168.1.0), configure the wireless and ethernet interfaces with correct subnets and addresses, create the correct routing entries.

Bridge1:
IP addresses:
ethernet port 192.168.0.4/24
wireless port 172.16.1.1/30
Routes
0.0.0.0 -> 192.168.0.1
192.168.1.0/24 -> 172.16.1.2


Bridge2:
IP addresses:
ethernet port 192.168.1.4/24
wireless port 172.16.1.2/30
Routes
0.0.0.0 -> 192.168.1.1
192.168.0.0/24 -> 172.16.1.1

Main Gatweay Router A (192.168.0.1)
Routes
0.0.0.0 -> to your ISP
192.168.1.0/24 -> 192.168.0.4

Main Gateway Router B (192.168.1.1)
Routes
0.0.0.0 -> to your ISP
192.168.0.0/24 -> 192.168.1.4
 
whatda
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:05 pm

Re: Need help Wireless Bridge cant see other side subnets

Sat Apr 13, 2013 7:42 am

Many Thanks Jorbu for your help
I think I did it right?

AP
/ip address
add address=172.16.1.1/30 interface=wlan1
/ip route add dst-address=0.0.0.0 gateway=192.168.0.1
/ip route add dst-address=192.168.1.0/24 gateway=172.16.1.2


CP
/ip address
add address=172.16.1.2/30 interface=wlan1
/ip route add dst-address=0.0.0.0 gateway=192.168.1.1
/ip route add dst-address=192.168.0.0/24 gateway=172.16.1.1

AP Setting
[admin@MikroTikAP] > /export compact
# apr/13/2013 02:19:14 by RouterOS 5.24
# software id = N8UG-UVGN
#
/interface bridge
add l2mtu=1600 name=bridge1
/interface ethernet
set 0 speed=1Gbps
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
add authentication-types=wpa-psk,wpa2-psk eap-methods=passthrough \
management-protection=allowed mode=dynamic-keys name=profile1 \
supplicant-identity="" wpa-pre-shared-key=ghcfytr4xd6yjo9bnlQ4 \
wpa2-pre-shared-key=ghcfytr4xd6yjo9bnlQ4
/interface wireless
set 0 band=5ghz-onlyn channel-width=20/40mhz-ht-below disabled=no frequency=\
5785 ht-ampdu-priorities=0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7 ht-rxchains=0,1 ht-txchains=0,1 \
l2mtu=2290 mode=bridge security-profile=profile1 ssid=Mikyawawa43 tx-power=\
5 tx-power-mode=all-rates-fixed wds-default-bridge=bridge1 wds-mode=dynamic \
wireless-protocol=nv2
/ip hotspot user profile
set [ find default=yes ] idle-timeout=none keepalive-timeout=2m
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=wlan1
/ip address
add address=192.168.0.4/24 interface=ether1
/ip neighbor discovery
set wlan1 disabled=yes
/ip route
add distance=1 dst-address=0.0.0.0/32 gateway=192.168.0.1
add distance=1 dst-address=192.168.1.0/24 gateway=172.16.1.2
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Australia/Melbourne
/system identity
set name=MikroTikAP
/system leds
set 0 interface=wlan1
/system routerboard settings
set cpu-frequency=250MHz
[admin@MikroTikAP] >


CP Settings
[admin@MikroTik] > /export compact
# jan/02/1970 00:14:32 by RouterOS 5.24
# software id = AMPR-24DV
#
/interface bridge
add l2mtu=1600 name=bridge1
/interface wireless security-profiles
add authentication-types=wpa-psk,wpa2-psk eap-methods=passthrough \
management-protection=allowed mode=dynamic-keys name=profile1 \
supplicant-identity="" wpa-pre-shared-key=ghcfytr4xd6yjo9bnlQ4 \
wpa2-pre-shared-key=ghcfytr4xd6yjo9bnlQ4
/interface wireless
set 0 band=5ghz-a/n channel-width=20/40mhz-ht-below disabled=no frequency=5785 \
ht-ampdu-priorities=0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7 ht-rxchains=0,1 ht-txchains=0,1 l2mtu=\
2290 mode=station-wds security-profile=profile1 ssid=Mikyawawa43 tx-power=5 \
tx-power-mode=all-rates-fixed wireless-protocol=nv2
/ip hotspot user profile
set [ find default=yes ] idle-timeout=none keepalive-timeout=2m
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=wlan1
/ip address
add address=192.168.1.4/24 interface=ether1
add address=172.16.1.2/30 interface=wlan1
/ip neighbor discovery
set wlan1 disabled=yes
/ip route
add distance=1 dst-address=0.0.0.0/32 gateway=192.168.1.1
add distance=1 dst-address=192.168.0.0/24 gateway=172.16.1.1
/system leds
set 0 interface=wlan1
[admin@MikroTik] >
 
Jorbu
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 4:23 am

Re: Need help Wireless Bridge cant see other side subnets

Mon Apr 15, 2013 5:46 am

2 things I notice:

1) there is no need to create a bridge interface on the STXs. Since the router has two addresses built into it (the 192.168.x.x & the 172.16.x.x) it treats these as connected routes. This allows the router to route traffic between the two interfaces without having to bridge them. Remove the two ports from the bridge, then remove the bridge.

2) Your default route on the SXT says 0.0.0.0/32, change it to 0.0.0.0/0.

This should complete the config on the SXTs. Were you able to modify the routing for the default gateway?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests