Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

CPE Console crashed? Brings AP down?

Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:23 am

rb711-5Hn as CPE running 5.23 in other wise all CPE 5.24 network from AP rb433AH with R52Hn (5.24) that ran for months now suddenly has no more conectivity.
The unit is registrated and can be pinged (both mac as normal) but when trying to log in (mac or telnet) the message comes that the console is crashed........
Client cannot go on the internet.

In many attempts managed to log in once by telnet, did do a /sys /reboot and as a result my whole rb433AH rebooted!
What is going on?
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: CPE Console crashed? Brings AP down?

Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:25 am

It actually shows in telnet:
 MMM      MMM       KKK                          TTTTTTTTTTT      KKK
  MMMM    MMMM       KKK                          TTTTTTTTTTT      KKK
  MMM MMMM MMM  III  KKK  KKK  RRRRRR     OOOOOO      TTT     III  KKK  KKK
  MMM  MM  MMM  III  KKKKK     RRR  RRR  OOO  OOO     TTT     III  KKKKK
  MMM      MMM  III  KKK KKK   RRRRRR    OOO  OOO     TTT     III  KKK KKK
  MMM      MMM  III  KKK  KKK  RRR  RRR   OOOOOO      TTT     III  KKK  KKK

  MikroTik RouterOS 5.23 (c) 1999-2013       http://www.mikrotik.com/


Console has crashed; please log in again.
Connection closed by foreign host.
which foreign host???
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CPE Console crashed? Brings AP down?

Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:33 am

This message just means that telnet session was interrupted because router disconnected
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: CPE Console crashed? Brings AP down?

Mon Apr 29, 2013 11:51 am

According the registration table the router did not disconnect. And I could even ping the unit at the same time, not any interuption on the ping so definately the router did not disconnect...

I managed to get to call the client and they did a power cycle and not everything is fine.
Doesn't it aint an issue anymore, just want to know what was happening....
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CPE Console crashed? Brings AP down?

Mon Apr 29, 2013 11:53 am

I meant disconnected telnet, not wireless. If it crashed, it just closed your telnet session, but could remain connected over wireless. In any case, you should attempt reinstall with the latest version, and if this ever repeats, email supout.rif file to support.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: CPE Console crashed? Brings AP down?

Mon Apr 29, 2013 2:00 pm

I meant disconnected telnet, not wireless. If it crashed, it just closed your telnet session, but could remain connected over wireless. In any case, you should attempt reinstall with the latest version, and if this ever repeats, email supout.rif file to support.
"disconnected telnet", hmm, Ok.

I always like you guys's suggestion: "e-mail supout.rif file to support." if the only way to manage a board is to power cycle it! After that obviousle the problem is gone and a supout.rif is not of use any longer.
So how do I make an unreachable board to produce a supout.rif before I have the client to power cycle it? Ping still works so watchdog is of no help neither....
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CPE Console crashed? Brings AP down?

Mon Apr 29, 2013 2:03 pm

The file will still contain any crashes that happened before the reboot.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: CPE Console crashed? Brings AP down?

Mon Apr 29, 2013 4:50 pm

The file will still contain any crashes that happened before the reboot.
Ok, now I'm a bit confused, please explain:

A supout.rif created before the crash, yes I agree it will have data from what happened before the crash that might have led to the crash. It is saved as a file and stored in the memory which is not erased during the reboot.

Do you mean a supout.rif created after a (manually initiated power cycle) reboot would still show information from before the crash? If you say so.... you obviously know the system better than us users.
But up to when does that count? One minute after? One hour? One day? A week?
Sounds a bit strange to me that a supout.rif created after a crash would have any info from before that crash if the unit now works fine. Strange... but if you say so... I can still produce it now, some hours after the event?

Imho a supout.rif created after a crash would only show errors that are present at the time of the creation. If these are leading to a crash, or taken just before a new crash, we might be lucky.
But the board runs fine now ...
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: CPE Console crashed? Brings AP down?

Tue Apr 30, 2013 9:46 am

Do you mean a supout.rif created after a (manually initiated power cycle) reboot would still show information from before the crash? If you say so.... you obviously know the system better than us users.
yes, I meant this. make it as soon as possible after the reboot.
No answer to your question? How to write posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests