Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
rodja990
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:54 am

High Signal to noise, please help!

Thu Jun 20, 2013 11:34 pm

I have ptmp link. On AP side i have RB433AH with SR5 card and dish parabola 26db antenna. On client sides i have RB433AH with CM9 cards and dish parabola 32db. One link distance is 15km and 18km. When i look at AP signal strength is -60db and tx signal strenght is -80db. Noise is 50db. When i look at client sides signal strength is -80db and tx signal strength is -60db and noise is 20db. Why on AP side is so much noise? I will add screenshots to see it better.

I will change on AP side antenna to 32db, i think i will get better signal, yes?

Thanks!
Network isn't network if it's not wireless network
SASNet wireless mreza
 
rodja990
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:54 am

Re: High Signal to noise, please help!

Thu Jun 20, 2013 11:45 pm

First image is ap with 2 clients. Second is client that is 15km from ap. And third is client that is 18km from ap.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Network isn't network if it's not wireless network
SASNet wireless mreza
 
gcs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 10:06 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas USA

Re: High Signal to noise, please help!

Thu Jun 20, 2013 11:52 pm

looks like you have some interference on the AP side. you might try a scan and see what is on your channel and see if there is a cleaner one.
 
rodja990
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:54 am

Re: High Signal to noise, please help!

Fri Jun 21, 2013 2:03 am

This is freq usage on ap side but i am in superchannel and my freq is 5070. This is best freq with max bandwidth.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Network isn't network if it's not wireless network
SASNet wireless mreza
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

Re: High Signal to noise, please help!

Sat Jun 22, 2013 5:38 am

This is freq usage on ap side but i am in superchannel and my freq is 5070. This is best freq with max bandwidth.
is both of you client within the parabolic antenna coverage?
usually the parabolic antenna is 3~5 degree for 29~32dbi.

the other thing is, check you antenna covered frequency, it will given worse result if you are not within the covered range.
 
rodja990
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:54 am

Re: High Signal to noise, please help!

Sat Jun 22, 2013 10:37 am

I have checked it. I wouldn't place parabolic antenna in other case. Difference in angle is 0.5 degrees because distance is 15km. Two clients are on same line. They just have height difference about 100m.
Network isn't network if it's not wireless network
SASNet wireless mreza
 
rodja990
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:54 am

Re: High Signal to noise, please help!

Sat Jun 22, 2013 10:39 am

the other thing is, check you antenna covered frequency, it will given worse result if you are not within the covered range.
Covered frequency is 5150-5850 but in that range is get even worse result. This lower frequencies are best... i don't know how.
Network isn't network if it's not wireless network
SASNet wireless mreza
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

Re: High Signal to noise, please help!

Sun Jun 23, 2013 5:11 am

the other thing is, check you antenna covered frequency, it will given worse result if you are not within the covered range.
Covered frequency is 5150-5850 but in that range is get even worse result. This lower frequencies are best... i don't know how.
can you perform the wlan snooper and scan and post it up...
when you use super channel make sure on client side you scan list is 5000-5900 ok...
 
rodja990
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:54 am

Re: High Signal to noise, please help!

Mon Jun 24, 2013 10:29 am

Yes, i know that. I won't even connect to network if i don't put scan list. Here is snooper. Highlight is my network. As you see it has lot of free channels around my freq.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Network isn't network if it's not wireless network
SASNet wireless mreza
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

Re: High Signal to noise, please help!

Mon Jun 24, 2013 12:10 pm

Yes, i know that. I won't even connect to network if i don't put scan list. Here is snooper. Highlight is my network. As you see it has lot of free channels around my freq.

can you send me the link of you antenna, then we can figure it what happened already.
 
rodja990
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 1:54 am

Re: High Signal to noise, please help!

Tue Jun 25, 2013 11:37 am

here are my links. Lowest height(top of hill in middle) is 43.81m on lower link.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Network isn't network if it's not wireless network
SASNet wireless mreza
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1896
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: High Signal to noise, please help!

Tue Jun 25, 2013 2:08 pm

Radio cards ??? As you are using 433AH on both AP + Client side, then I would use R5SHPn radio cards
N21roadie,
Network 100% MT for Now?
 
hipro5
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 11:48 am
Location: Hellas (Greece)

Re: High Signal to noise, please help!

Thu Jun 27, 2013 12:03 pm

I think that one of your CM9 cards is "going down" or if they're not alone, they interfear with some other links there.
Try to replace it and check again.

ALSO, we need HIGHER S/N.
For exapmle: 50dB is good but 20dB is BAD.

"And third is client that is 18km from ap." >> This seems that it gets interfearence from something else OR that the CM9 is "down" - get another one and check again.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Roxer and 19 guests