Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
alexbelck
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 1:23 am
Contact:

Howto improve AP with multi-sectors ?

Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:11 am

I've read many topics where people "split" one AP with omni- antena to 3 or 4 sectors
I'd like to know how to implement this.
Do I need one radio (like CM9) for each sector ?
Should I bridge all radios together ?
And can I setup 2 sectors on the same CM9 as there are 2 antena conectors ?

Thanks
 
User avatar
tneumann
Member
Member
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 6:38 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Howto improve AP with multi-sectors ?

Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:49 am

Do I need one radio (like CM9) for each sector ?
Yes, unless you install a power divider at the antenna cable (see http://www.mikrotik.com/antennas.php)

Power dividers split the power of your radio between all installed antennas, thus radio efficiency will suffer.
Should I bridge all radios together ?
Depends on your network design.
And can I setup 2 sectors on the same CM9 as there are 2 antena conectors ?
No, you can't.


--Tom
 
User avatar
mag
Member
Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 12:32 pm
Location: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Contact:

Re: Howto improve AP with multi-sectors ?

Tue Mar 21, 2006 8:19 am

I've read many topics where people "split" one AP with omni- antena to 3 or 4 sectors
Don't do this! One radio for each antenna is a must for professional use.

The two connectors are only for diversity or for separating RX and TX (interface wireless antenna-mode)
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Tue Mar 21, 2006 10:16 am

I think by "split" he didn't mean to use a power-divider (which I would stay away from, too), but to replace ONE omni with SEVERAL sector antennas...

Best regards,
Christian Meis
 
alexbelck
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 1:23 am
Contact:

Tue Mar 21, 2006 10:05 pm

Yes, cmit, my intention is to replace one omni with several sectors.

And if you could explain me better how it is intend to use the 2 connectors from CM9.
Is separate RX / TX for Nstream on one CM9 intendet but still too antenas with diferent DB or polarization ?

And still with sectors, it seams to be advised to have one radio for each sector, but then how should I setup them ? all the same freq/SSID, brigde together or better have separec ip ranges for each sector ?
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Tue Mar 21, 2006 10:44 pm

The two connectors can NOT be used for Dual-Nstreme, if you mean that. For that you really need two cards, because a wireless card can only send OR receive at one point in time, not both the same time.

What you CAN do, is connect two antennas (one to port A, one to port B) and configure RouterOS to use one antenna only for sending, and the other only for receiving.
One possible usage would be to be able to use a high gain receive antenna without it pushing your transmit power level over regulatory limits in your area. I.e. send with a 14 dBi antenna, and receive with a big 30 dBi ear :D ...

Best regards,
Christian Meis
 
ekkas
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 562
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 1:01 pm
Location: South Africa

Tue Mar 21, 2006 11:05 pm

I also need to split up an omni (2X180deg) but have 20+ client connected to it on the same ip range (rest of network is also subnetted)
Just a q:
steps?
1)Can I set up another card/antenna (replace existing with sector)
2)Create own SSID/Channel for new card
3)Create bridge & link both to bridge
4)'Move' ip for old-omni to the bridge interface?
5)Change SSID on (some) clients

Is that all that's needed to make clients keep their current IPs but link onto possibly different card?

How will this affect routing? Is it the best way (minimal WiFi traffic) or is it just best (optimal) to make another seperate subnet?

Thanks (hope it makes sense)
Ekkas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: abn and 24 guests