Community discussions

 
User avatar
saintofinternet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 757
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:52 am

what to use from mikrotik stable....

Sat Jul 13, 2013 8:07 am

hi guys...

i have to establish a 15 kms PTP link in hilly area...
ptp.png
now i plan to use something readymade from Mikrotik stable..... like SXT or SEXTANT or Groove etc....

need it to be MIMO so i suppose Groove is ruled out.... to be used for mission critical data link.....

suggestions are appreciated... :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
by professionals, for professionals....
Don't forget to give KARMA!!!
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2293
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: what to use from mikrotik stable....

Sat Jul 13, 2013 8:55 am

Sxt and Sextant = too low antenna gain for 15km. Is your environment with interterence?

You can use http://en.jirous.com/anteny-5ghz/jrc-29_mimo
and http://routerboard.com/RB911G-5HPnD
on both sides
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
saintofinternet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 757
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:52 am

Re: what to use from mikrotik stable....

Sat Jul 13, 2013 7:51 pm

no interferences.....

actually i am being lazy to integrate an entire system... and it turns out more costly than the readymade units... :-)

i think i have no choice but to integrate it :-)
by professionals, for professionals....
Don't forget to give KARMA!!!
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2293
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: what to use from mikrotik stable....

Sat Jul 13, 2013 9:33 pm

LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

Re: what to use from mikrotik stable....

Sun Jul 14, 2013 3:37 am

According to your graph the 10m is too low for that link - the 1-st fresnel zone has obstacles and if you happen to have any trees/forest then it may be blocked wholly.
 
User avatar
saintofinternet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 757
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:52 am

Re: what to use from mikrotik stable....

Sun Jul 14, 2013 4:54 am



:-) unfortunately in India we don't have Jirous available.... and nor do we have high quality antenna and enclosures available locally ultimately importing them increased the cost drastically :-)
by professionals, for professionals....
Don't forget to give KARMA!!!
 
User avatar
saintofinternet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 757
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:52 am

Re: what to use from mikrotik stable....

Sun Jul 14, 2013 4:56 am

According to your graph the 10m is too low for that link - the 1-st fresnel zone has obstacles and if you happen to have any trees/forest then it may be blocked wholly.

hi agreed... 10 m is the original building height from the ground level.... i might go another 5 meter up by putting up a single pole.... the user is not ready to spend on tower constructions...
by professionals, for professionals....
Don't forget to give KARMA!!!
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2293
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: what to use from mikrotik stable....

Sun Jul 14, 2013 10:31 am

:-) unfortunately in India we don't have Jirous available.... and nor do we have high quality antenna and enclosures available locally ultimately importing them increased the cost drastically :-)
Surely will be available a local manufacturer? It takes a high gain antenna. At least 24dBi
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
saintofinternet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 757
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:52 am

Re: what to use from mikrotik stable....

Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:54 am

how about using an SXT with reflectors ??
by professionals, for professionals....
Don't forget to give KARMA!!!
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2293
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: what to use from mikrotik stable....

Mon Jul 15, 2013 9:06 am

how about using an SXT with reflectors ??
You can try it
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=68395
I have no experience with this
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
saintofinternet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 757
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:52 am

Re: what to use from mikrotik stable....

Tue Jul 16, 2013 4:03 am

You can try it
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=68395
I have no experience with this
people have mixed reviews.... very complicated to figure out....
by professionals, for professionals....
Don't forget to give KARMA!!!
 
zyzelis
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 212
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 9:25 pm

Re: what to use from mikrotik stable....

Tue Jul 16, 2013 10:36 pm

Hello,
if you have available simple 80cm SAT dish, just simple mount to it sxt 5G and you will have stable at least 10 km link with -55db signal
(believe me - i have tested and i have 24/7 working ptp link for 1 year)
 
User avatar
saintofinternet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 757
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:52 am

Re: what to use from mikrotik stable....

Wed Jul 17, 2013 10:42 am

Link Distance 14 Kms approx...

LOS : ok... [image given above for reference]

so now investing in a 29dBi dish [ http://www.telimart.com/pdf/antennas/di ... ISH-29.gif ] + RB911G-5HPnD would be wise??

or

investing into a SXT with a reflector would be a wise??

please let me know a real long term solution... of the above....
by professionals, for professionals....
Don't forget to give KARMA!!!
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2293
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: what to use from mikrotik stable....

Wed Jul 17, 2013 12:16 pm

I think that the 29dB parabolic antenna will be better. It is possible to mount the box for rb911?
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests