Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

snooper tool - manual please!

Sat Nov 30, 2013 2:53 am

Has anybody any idea on what the 'snooper' tool in winbox is actually telling us?

And what the different pictograms mean?

If I snoop against my own network I see that snooper gives the same picto to either a cpe or an AP.
But other units get another sign.

Than I see some trapped level units. Does this mean cpe connected to AP? Makes no sense because some have even 3 levels....

There is this column "Networks". But its either "0" or nothing mentioned on my own MT-ROS routerboard driven network???
Same for the column "Stations". Only one of my AP's is showing the correct no. of stations... but the rest is showing nothing or "0"?

I think it can be a great tool, if it at least was documented.....
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.
 
gniers
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 3:37 pm

Re: snooper tool - manual please!

Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:54 pm

I have the same question.

I'm trying to use snooper via CLI and save the results to a file or syslog
/interface wireless snooper snoop wlan1 interval=00:00:01.000 append file=wifitest1

In Winbox you can select display: all/stations/frequencies/networks
Can you select this on the CLI ?

You can define: Interval -- 00:00:00.020..00:00:05 (time interval)
I assume that this is something like the duration parameter with the wireless scan
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=44323

scan works but gives me not the needed information. Snooper via winbox does but now how do i get these results to a file or syslog or ..

I didn't manage to get it working.

A kind of manual or some suggestions how to realise this would be of great help.

thanks in advance

Gerard
 
soundsticks
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 10:55 am

Re: snooper tool - manual please!

Mon Jan 26, 2015 7:43 am

Anyone getting this work out, I'm looking this as well. Please
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: snooper tool - manual please!

Mon Jan 26, 2015 12:31 pm

Well, as you can see on the data of my first post, its been a while. But never got an answer though.......
Show your appreciation of this post by giving me Karma! Thanks.

Rudy R. Puister

WISP operator based on MT routerboard & ROS.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests