Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
fi3ndlich
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 8:11 pm

Routing Wireless Network to external swtich

Tue Jan 28, 2014 6:30 pm

I am hoping someone here can help me out with routing of wifi traffic compared to switch traffic on my mikrotik router.

The devices i have has 8 Ethernet ports and wifi built in.

Currently I want to route all internet traffic though a transparent bridge proxy server.
This works fine for LAN traffic because I have all LAN computers plugged into a switch, switch is plugged into proxy server and proxy server is plugged into 1 LAN port on the mikrotik router.

However since Wifi is directly into the mikrotik it doesn't affect the wifi traffic.

Is there a way to essentially bridge wifi traffic to one of the Ethernet ports on the mikrotik and then plug that into the external switch so it would essentially act like a separate access point?

In other words even though the wifi is in the same unit as the mikrotik router it would be segmented off so it couldn't talk to the router unless it was plugged into the external switch to get back to the mikrotik router?

I hope this makes sense.
Thanks
KJ
 
fi3ndlich
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 8:11 pm

Re: Routing Wireless Network to external swtich

Sat Feb 01, 2014 9:57 pm

This is my 2nd post on this forum and I have not gotten a reply from anyone. Is there anyone out there that can help resolve this issue or is this site just completely worthless?

KJ
 
User avatar
Farhadgh
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing Wireless Network to external swtich

Sat Feb 01, 2014 10:15 pm

What device is your proxy server?
Everyday, a better day!
 
Lakis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 701
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 7:52 pm

Re: Routing Wireless Network to external swtich

Sat Feb 01, 2014 10:55 pm

I really can not understand u well u have external proxy, MT board + switch scheme will be helpful
when u create bridge and u put as ports wlan1 and lets say ether3 they act basically as one

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rioven, Spaz, StephenL and 53 guests