Community discussions

 
Taleb
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 3:13 am

create PTP network for 3km

Tue Feb 04, 2014 3:25 am

Image



Hi
The internet is far from our village , so i want to create network to transfer the ADSL from station1 to station2 then distribution internet to users by access point (wi-fi) as you see in the picture.

notes:
# The distance between station1 and station2 less than 3 km.
# The users will be about 10 , but I want to be the network capacity to accommodate 40 users.
# The ADSL speed will be betwen 4mbps to 16mbps.
# I want to make the Wi-Fi signal to cover a distance of 500 to 800 meters.
# I need a device for control using the network (for Example Mikrotik RB750GL).

So..
What hardware will I need to create this network ?
What will I need in the station1 ?
What will I need in the station2 ?
Please give me the names of the devices :D

and what about Mikrotik RB750GL ! Is it good and enough for network like this ? :?

Please tell me the best choose for me.
**my English language not so good so please please try to understand what i need exactly**
thanks :)
 
troy
Member
Member
Posts: 304
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:47 pm

Re: create PTP network for 3km

Tue Feb 04, 2014 8:24 pm

For the PTP between the two locations, you'll want a pair of RouterBoard SXT radios.

On the AP side (in the village), the equipment selection gets a little more complicated. If the AP will be centrally located and easily visible to everyone, you can use something like the OmniTik.

If you need to set up multiple APs to get coverage, use the new BaseBox with an appropriate sector antenna to provide coverage.

Save yourself a HUGE headache, and make sure to go with 5Ghz only... leave the 2.4Ghz for end-users to use on their routers.

Oh, and pick up a pair of 493s. One will go on each end. Station 1 will be your router/DHCP server. Station 2 will simply bridge everything together for the backhaul.

Good luck!
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2425
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: create PTP network for 3km

Tue Feb 04, 2014 9:14 pm

For a point to point configuration look this link.
http://www.wirelessinfo.be/index.php/mi ... /omnitikpp
It is with other hardware but configuration are the same

For point to point link use example SXT Lite5 http://routerboard.com/RBSXT5nDr2 for low budget
or http://routerboard.com/RBSEXTANTG5HPnD for wat more mony.

As router can you use a omnitik http://routerboard.com/RBOmniTIKU-5HnD
 
User avatar
shahbazian
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 6:22 pm
Location: Iran
Contact:

Re: create PTP network for 3km

Wed Feb 05, 2014 12:44 am

You can use SXT lite5 or SXT lite2 for PTP link between station1 and station2.
And AP for your customers in station2: you need use RBOmniTIKU-5HnD for 360 degree 5GHz band or use RBSXTG-5HPnD-SAr2 for 90 degree 5GHz band or if you want the customers to use laptop or smartphones for direct connect to AP, you need to use SXT G-2HnD as AP for 60 degree 2GHz band.
Learn MikroTik to improve your network.
( MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE, MTCUME, MTCIPv6E, MTCINE )
MikroTik Certified Trainer & Consultant
RIPE NCC Trainer
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2425
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: create PTP network for 3km

Wed Feb 05, 2014 7:03 am

Don't use 2.4 GHz devices for poinjt to point links.
Verry bad performance with that.
 
Taleb
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 3:13 am

Re: create PTP network for 3km

Wed Feb 05, 2014 1:31 pm

Hi brothers :D
Thank you for your interaction ,realy realy thanks. :)
also i want to ask about RB750GL !
can i use it for 50 or 70 users ?
What is the maximum number of users supported in this device ??

And by the way what it means Karma ? I will give you Karma but how i can do that ?

my English not so good :?

thanks alot
 
troy
Member
Member
Posts: 304
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:47 pm

Re: create PTP network for 3km

Thu Feb 06, 2014 7:19 pm

If you're just straight routing (with NAT)... ether1 for the Internet, ether2-9 for the LAN, the 750 should be able to handle several hundred users.

If you need to do bandwidth management, use PCQ and Queue Tree. Though Simple Queues in ROS6 might be efficient enough.
 
User avatar
shahbazian
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 6:22 pm
Location: Iran
Contact:

Re: create PTP network for 3km

Sat Mar 01, 2014 12:40 am

I will give you Karma but how i can do that ?
You can click + in below the name under part written karma.
Learn MikroTik to improve your network.
( MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE, MTCUME, MTCIPv6E, MTCINE )
MikroTik Certified Trainer & Consultant
RIPE NCC Trainer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests