Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
bgs
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 11:35 pm

Is 802.1x supported on RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN RouterOS ver 6

Wed Feb 05, 2014 11:49 pm

Hi,

I am assuming to way to use 802.1x authentication is by creating a profile and select 802.1x. But I do not see that option.
Wireless -> Security Profiles ->Add New. Authentication Types does not show 802.1x

Can someone please advice whether this is supported in this device, and with this version.

If not will it be supported in a future rouer OS version on RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN.

What other device from MikroTik support 802.1x ?

Tx,
BG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2433
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Is 802.1x supported on RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN RouterOS ver

Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:27 pm

Try with winbox
 
bgs
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 11:35 pm

Re: Is 802.1x supported on RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN RouterOS ver

Thu Feb 06, 2014 6:48 pm

Winbox gave more options. But I still do not see 802.1x or hostapd.

Print screen attached.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
pradeepsekar
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 6:21 am

Re: Is 802.1x supported on RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN RouterOS ver

Sun Feb 23, 2014 5:50 pm

Here is how I enabled WPA2 Enterprise with Radius.

Using Winbox -
1. Go to Wireless->Security Profiles. Create a new security profile.
  • a. Under the General tab, select Mode=dynamic keys, Authentication Types - only WPA2 EAP (deselect WPA PSK and WPA2 PSK), Unicast Chiper - only aes ccm, Group Chipers - only aes, Enter your Supplicant Identity, Management Protection=Allowed.
    b. Under the Radius Tab, Select MAC accounting (as I wanted accouting based on MAC), MAC Mode = as username, MAC Caching time = disabled.
    c. Under the EAP Tab, EAP Methods=Passthrough, TLS Mode=no certificates, TLS Certificate=none
2. Under the Radius Menu, Add a new server. Selecte Service - only Wireless, Enter the Radius Server IP Address, and Secret (you need to enter what has been entered in your RADIUS server)

3. Go to Wireless, select the interface, and set the Security profile to the one created in step #1

I configured mine based on http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=23185

Best,
Pradeep

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests