Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
Alessio Garavano
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 304
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 12:49 am
Location: Corrientes, Argentina
Contact:

PtP distance with 2 R52 in 5Ghz

Tue May 02, 2006 10:27 pm

Hi, what is the max distance to do a PtP link at 54Mbps or more with 2 RB512 with 1 R52 each one and parabolic grill 5.8Ghz 27dbi?

I need only 10Km, it can work with these cards or I need more power? Somebody tested the NMP-8602 in 5Ghz PtP?
Is recommended to enable Nstreme?

Thanks in advanced!
Alessio
Alessio Garavano
http://www.isparg.com.ar
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Wed May 03, 2006 1:34 pm

10kms easy

We do 8kms with 26dbi's & cm9 radio down to 10
Locked in at 24, I'm sure with radio up to 15 or 16 would get 54.
 
User avatar
Alessio Garavano
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 304
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 12:49 am
Location: Corrientes, Argentina
Contact:

Wed May 03, 2006 6:22 pm

Thank you! in middle of may i have to do this link, after i comment! :lol:
Regards!
Alessio
Alessio Garavano
http://www.isparg.com.ar
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 967
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:10 pm

how much bandwidth do you need? The most we can get between two 532s at 5ghz is ~30mb UDP un encrypted..24-26 encrypted.

Just so u know..
 
User avatar
sten
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 920
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:10 pm

Thu Jun 29, 2006 11:48 pm

The best i've gotten between two RB 500's in a lab is 75 Mbit/s but that was using dual CM9s pr unit.
I'm sure someone has gotten more than that (i was just trying out a particular concept)
Move along. Nothing to see here.
 
jober
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:16 pm
Location: Louisiana,USA

Fri Jun 30, 2006 7:54 am

The best i've gotten between two RB 500's in a lab is 75 Mbit/s but that was using dual CM9s pr unit.
I'm sure someone has gotten more than that (i was just trying out a particular concept)
To Sten,
Off topic but I was just wondering if you made it to FL.
 
BelWave
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 12:49 am

Sat Jul 01, 2006 6:57 am

The best i've gotten between two RB 500's in a lab is 75 Mbit/s but that was using dual CM9s pr unit.
I'm sure someone has gotten more than that (i was just trying out a particular concept)
Hello Sten,

Care to share your configuration or concept on exactly how you achieved 75Mbps between two RB500's? NStreme2 or some other configuration using two cards? That sounds like it could be a record for a single RB500 series board.

Best,

Brad
 
User avatar
sten
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 920
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:10 pm

Sun Jul 02, 2006 11:45 pm

The best i've gotten between two RB 500's in a lab is 75 Mbit/s but that was using dual CM9s pr unit.
I'm sure someone has gotten more than that (i was just trying out a particular concept)
Hello Sten,

Care to share your configuration or concept on exactly how you achieved 75Mbps between two RB500's? NStreme2 or some other configuration using two cards? That sounds like it could be a record for a single RB500 series board.

Best,

Brad
According to my notes (these are lab conditions);

two cm9's using turbo (i didnt note frequencies)
tx power 4
nstreme dynamic framer-limit 2000 polling enabled
preamble short
fixed at 54 mbit
absolutly all irrelevant services disabled (even the occassionally useful ones)
bonding on both interfaces, ( round robin ??? )
not using bridge
cpu @ 330mhz
one side had 2 cards in 'bridge' (wds = static ) mode and the other had 2 cards in 'station-wds'

bandwidth tested between two lazy computers using mikrotik bandwidth tester.

unfortunately i didnt have the manners to write down burst
Move along. Nothing to see here.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests