Page 1 of 1

CM10 - TXpower via antenna gain

Posted: Fri May 05, 2006 3:56 am
by fusion
Hi, I have a problem with CM10.I use 24dBi dishes for backbone links. So I have to set cca 22dBi to antenna gain (calculate with some attenuation on cables and connectors). But there is no link. Link distance is about 1km. When I set antena gain to 16dBi, link is OK, signal strength about +-73. But when I set 17dBi, link is going down. I think there is some bug on TX-power regulation on CM10. Have you an experiences with this problem?

Edit 1: manual txpower set to 10dBi = signal -74, 9dBi = signal -85!! This is hudge attenuation. CM9 are OK.

Posted: Sat May 06, 2006 10:40 am
by djape
Hm, just leave tx-power default...

Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 8:20 pm
by fusion
Hm, just leave tx-power default...
But we have to regulate Tx power on our country..

Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 11:17 pm
by wildbill442
Specify your country and antenna gain in the wireless interface settings. Also set the frequency domain to "regulatory domain". This will automatically adjust the tx-power of the card to the requirements of your local regulatory requirements.

Posted: Thu May 11, 2006 8:38 am
by djape
But we have to regulate Tx power on our country..
I understand, but setting tx-power to 10 is not gonna work, everything bellow 17 will not work properly.

Just my two cents...

Posted: Thu May 11, 2006 10:18 am
by normis
incorrect. it will work and it has been tested. maybe on some specific cards.

Posted: Thu May 11, 2006 9:52 pm
by Gradius
It is my understanding that Mikrotik RouterOS, when left at the default settings will automatically use the default radio power designed for that particular radio card. All you have to do is let the router know where you are and the tx power, etc, should be pre-programmed.

Posted: Sat May 13, 2006 4:09 am
by fusion
Yes I know how to set all, but if I use 24dBi dish, I have to regulate output power to 27dBi. this means, to set output power to 2-4dbi (cable loss etc.) and it means I have to set antenna gain to 22-24dBi. But, when i set higher number than 17dBi, link will loss. But with 17dBi set, there is very good signal. numbers below 17 are also OK. I use Wistron CM10. On CM9 is this OK. I think there is some bug..

Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 9:56 am
by moly
I have the same problem with CM10. But in version 2.9.11 work fine. Now I have 2.9.25 and power control is not good.

Posted: Wed Jun 28, 2006 7:22 pm
by fusion
Yes, I agree.. In old versions ( to 2.9.11-12 I think), it was OK. But with newer versions is tx-power regulation bad and links dont work. Now we dont know, which power is going from card, because regulation is bad.