Community discussions

 
noib
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 6:04 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Tue Apr 01, 2014 4:10 pm

Hello

I have put a 3G Sierra Wireless MC8790 card on a RB912UAG-2hpnd, and the 3G card is not recognized... No way to have the famous "ppp" or "lte" interfaces coming. I have tried various ROS versions (6.11, 6.6, 5.26), have installed all packages and nothing happens. Nothing on /system resource usb ..
Same MC8790 card on a RB411U is detected without problem.

It looks that it is not a compatibility problem, as someone has made the two compoments work together:
http://forum.sierrawireless.com//viewto ... 117&t=7481

so, what am i missing?

thanks
 
User avatar
rickfrey
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 610
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: Van, Texas
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:08 pm

Do you have another RB912 that you can try it in and see if it is recognized? It maybe a hardware problem with that RouterBoard. If you are not seeing anything at all, that would be my first guess.
Launch your company forward with professional training!
http://rickfreyconsulting.com/product-c ... raining-2/
 
User avatar
rickfrey
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 610
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: Van, Texas
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Tue Apr 01, 2014 6:09 pm

Have you done a factory reset of the RB912?
Launch your company forward with professional training!
http://rickfreyconsulting.com/product-c ... raining-2/
 
noib
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 6:04 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Wed Apr 02, 2014 5:31 pm

Yes, i tried 2 RB912 and did a hard reset (hold reset button for 10 secs while powering on), still no ppp/lte interface. I will try with another MC8790 card.

By the way, i saw a strange behaviour on the RB411s too.. Sometimes the MC8790 is recognized as lte1+ppp, sometimes just ppp. I can't figure out what is "making" the lte interface pop up..
 
bertj
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 3:46 pm

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Wed Apr 02, 2014 6:04 pm

You need to enable USB power for that.

In terminal type:
/system routerboard usb set type=mini-PCIe usb-mode=force-host
Becouse in RB912 You must choose, miniPCI or USB port (stick) is powered, another than RB411U.

Best Regars
 
User avatar
rickfrey
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 610
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: Van, Texas
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Wed Apr 02, 2014 6:27 pm

Thanks for posting that bertj. I couldn't remember what the command was :D
Launch your company forward with professional training!
http://rickfreyconsulting.com/product-c ... raining-2/
 
noib
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 6:04 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Wed Apr 02, 2014 7:52 pm

oh wow bertj you're the man; ppp interface appeared like latvian magic, thanks
 
bertj
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 3:46 pm

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:27 am

If I helped you give me karma please I appreciate this
 
noib
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 6:04 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Fri Apr 11, 2014 4:25 pm

I'm still having problems with the pair RB912 / MC8790
Connection is very unstable. At startup, I usually get 3G link for like 30 seconds, and then it just stops. (info shows "Limited service"). Then after a few minutes, my operator is active again and i have a chance to connect for a few seconds.

The 3G Sim card seems not in cause as it works well with a RB411 / MC8705 or with my phone.

Log:
00:00:47 async,ppp,info ppp-out1: initializing... 
00:00:47 async,ppp,info ppp-out1: reseting link... 
00:00:48 async,ppp,info ppp-out1: initializing modem... 
00:00:48 async,ppp,info ppp-out1: dialing out... 
00:00:49 async,ppp,info ppp-out1: initializing modem... 
00:00:49 async,ppp,info ppp-out1: dialing out... 
00:00:50 async,ppp,info ppp-out1: initializing modem... 
00:00:50 async,ppp,info ppp-out1: dialing out... 
00:00:51 async,ppp,info ppp-out1: initializing modem... 
00:00:51 async,ppp,info ppp-out1: dialing out... 
00:00:52 async,ppp,info ppp-out1: initializing modem... 
00:00:52 async,ppp,info ppp-out1: dialing out... 
00:00:53 async,ppp,info ppp-out1: initializing modem... 
00:00:53 async,ppp,info ppp-out1: dialing out... 
00:00:53 async,ppp,info ppp-out1: authenticated 
00:01:18 async,ppp,info ppp-out1: could not determine remote address, using 10.112.112.117 
00:01:18 async,ppp,info ppp-out1: connected 
00:01:18 system,info dns changed 
00:01:35 system,info,account user admin logged in via local 
00:02:28 async,ppp,info ppp-out1: terminating... - peer is not responding 
and simultaneously, when link gets active:
[admin@MikroTik] > ping 178.32.243.134
HOST                                     SIZE TTL TIME  STATUS                 
178.32.243.134                             56  51 606ms
178.32.243.134                             56  51 126ms
178.32.243.134                             56  51 186ms
178.32.243.134                             56  51 136ms
178.32.243.134                             56  51 186ms
178.32.243.134                             56  51 126ms
178.32.243.134                             56  51 196ms
178.32.243.134                             56  51 125ms
178.32.243.134                             56  51 284ms
178.32.243.134                             56  51 136ms
178.32.243.134                             56  51 706ms
178.32.243.134                             56  51 237ms
178.32.243.134                             56  51 166ms
178.32.243.134                             56  51 226ms
178.32.243.134                                          timeout                
178.32.243.134                             56  51 223ms
178.32.243.134                             56  51 186ms
178.32.243.134                                          timeout                
178.32.243.134                                          timeout                
178.32.243.134                                          timeout                
    sent=20 received=16 packet-loss=20% min-rtt=125ms avg-rtt=240ms 
   max-rtt=706ms 
HOST                                     SIZE TTL TIME  STATUS                 
178.32.243.134                                          timeout                
178.32.243.134                                          timeout                
178.32.243.134                                          timeout                
178.32.243.134                                          timeout                
178.32.243.134                                          timeout         
Some details on config:
[admin@MikroTik] > /system serial-terminal usb1 channel=3

[Ctrl-A is the prefix key]


ATI
Manufacturer: Sierra Wireless, Incorporated
Model: MC8790
Revision: K2_0_7_35AP C:/WS/FW/K2_0_7_35AP/MSM6290/SRC 2010/03/04 17:37:08
IMEI: 352974020787982
IMEI SV: 16
FSN: D661349142910
3GPP Release 6
+GCAP: +CGSM,+DS,+ES


OK
[admin@MikroTik] > /interface ppp-client export 
# jan/02/1970 00:04:16 by RouterOS 5.25
# software id = JVTU-4XYZ
#
/interface ppp-client
add add-default-route=yes allow=pap,chap,mschap1,mschap2 apn=bouygtel.fr \
    data-channel=4 dial-command=ATDT dial-on-demand=no disabled=yes \
    info-channel=3 keepalive-timeout=30 max-mru=1500 max-mtu=1500 modem-init=\
    "AT+CFUN=1" mrru=disabled name=ppp-out1 null-modem=no password="" phone=\
    *99# pin="" port=usb1 profile=default-encryption use-peer-dns=yes user=""
Tried with various RoS versions (5.25, 6.11), various modem-init commands (AT!GRESET,AT+CFUN=1), various phone commands (nothing, *99#), same results :(

As stated in http://forum.sierrawireless.com//viewto ... 117&t=7481 it's maybe a "airplane mode" problem, but i can't even enter the right command in serial-terminal, as the default password "A710" does not work
[admin@MikroTik] > /system serial-terminal usb1 channel=3

[Ctrl-A is the prefix key]


AT!ENTERCND="A710"
ERROR

 
User avatar
rickfrey
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 610
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: Van, Texas
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Fri Apr 11, 2014 5:51 pm

Are you saying that the same physical card works in the RB411 but not in the RB912 or are you saying that they same models works in one and not in the other? The reason I am asking is that it seems strange it would be in aiplane mode in one and not in the other. Also, if it was in airplane mode it should not be trying to connect at all. Can you post your settings of the RB411?
Launch your company forward with professional training!
http://rickfreyconsulting.com/product-c ... raining-2/
 
noib
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 6:04 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Mon Apr 14, 2014 6:19 pm

Hey rickfrey,
I am saying that the 3G SIMCARD (not the Sierra Wireless card) works well in a 411U+MC8705 box. By that sentence i meant that my problem does not come from my 3G operator/account (as far as i understand).
 
User avatar
rickfrey
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 610
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: Van, Texas
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Tue Apr 15, 2014 6:31 am

Gotcha. Does the RB912 read other SIM cards? Could the SIM card reader be damaged?
Launch your company forward with professional training!
http://rickfreyconsulting.com/product-c ... raining-2/
 
noib
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 6:04 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:42 pm

I have changed the SIM card for another operator (Orange) and changed antenna.
Now i have a stable connection , but i'm stuck to "GSM Compact" Mode (and not 3G) and my bandwidth is very limited; around 40kbps.
[admin@MikroTik] > /interface ppp-client export 
# jan/02/1970 00:57:04 by RouterOS 6.12
# software id = JVTU-4XYZ
#
/interface ppp-client
add add-default-route=yes allow=pap,chap,mschap1,mschap2 apn=orange.fr data-channel=4 default-route-distance=1 dial-command=ATDT \
    dial-on-demand=no disabled=no info-channel=3 keepalive-timeout=30 max-mru=1500 max-mtu=1500 modem-init="" mrru=disabled name=\
    ppp-out1 null-modem=no password="" phone="" pin="" port=usb1 profile=default use-peer-dns=yes user=""
[admin@MikroTik] > /interface ppp-client info 
number: 0
       modem-status: call in progress
         pin-status: no password required
      functionality: full
       manufacturer: Sierra Wireless, Incorporated
              model: MC8790
           revision: K2_0_7_35AP C:/WS/FW/K2_0_7_35AP/MSM6290/SRC 2010/03/04 17:37:08
      serial-number: 352974020787982
   current-operator: Orange F (cellid 59d8)
  access-technology: GSM compact
     signal-strengh: -85 dBm
   frame-error-rate: n/a
[admin@MikroTik] > /interface ppp-client scan 0
Flags: C - current, A - available, F - forbidden 
  OPERATOR                                               CODE ACCESS-TECHNOLOGY                                        SIGNAL-STRENGH
C Orange F                                              20801 GSM compact                                             
A Orange F                                              20801 3G                                                      
F F-Bouygues Telec                                      20820 3G                                                      
F F-Bouygues Telec                                      20820 GSM compact                                             
A F SFR                                                 20810 GSM compact                                             
A F SFR                                                 20810 3G                                                      
F 208 - 15                                              20815 3G                                                      
Is there a way to force connection to use 3G mode since it's flagged as "available"?
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3424
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:45 pm

try to look for some AT command that changes the preferred network mode.
 
noib
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 6:04 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Mon May 05, 2014 10:58 pm

Well i tried various AT commands and the stuff does not want to work.. So i bought for testing a Huawei MU609 and Novatel EU850D, and both worked like a charm within minutes...

So i'm giving up with the Sierra MC8790, throwing it straight to the rubbish...oooooooooooohhh 3 points shot!
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3424
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Fri May 09, 2014 7:02 pm

also make sure that you are using Routerboard BIOS 3.14
 
ChristopherN
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 4:22 pm

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Thu Feb 12, 2015 4:26 pm

Hi,

I'm trying to use a Routerboard RB912UAG-2HPnD with a Sierra Wireless MC7710. However, setting the USB mode according to the post above the command does not work, please see the attached screenshot.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks for your help,

Christopher

20150212_MikrotikUSBSETfail.tiff
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
kristaps
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 1:37 pm

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Thu Feb 12, 2015 5:14 pm

Try only this

/system  routerboard  usb  set type=mini-PCIe
what
/system routerboard print

prints out ?
 
User avatar
dunga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 9:51 am
Location: Nigeria

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Mon Mar 02, 2015 12:47 pm

I have changed the SIM card for another operator (Orange) and changed antenna.
Now i have a stable connection , but i'm stuck to "GSM Compact" Mode (and not 3G) and my bandwidth is very limited; around 40kbps.
[admin@MikroTik] > /interface ppp-client export 
# jan/02/1970 00:57:04 by RouterOS 6.12
# software id = JVTU-4XYZ
#
/interface ppp-client
add add-default-route=yes allow=pap,chap,mschap1,mschap2 apn=orange.fr data-channel=4 default-route-distance=1 dial-command=ATDT \
    dial-on-demand=no disabled=no info-channel=3 keepalive-timeout=30 max-mru=1500 max-mtu=1500 modem-init="" mrru=disabled name=\
    ppp-out1 null-modem=no password="" phone="" pin="" port=usb1 profile=default use-peer-dns=yes user=""
[admin@MikroTik] > /interface ppp-client info 
number: 0
       modem-status: call in progress
         pin-status: no password required
      functionality: full
       manufacturer: Sierra Wireless, Incorporated
              model: MC8790
           revision: K2_0_7_35AP C:/WS/FW/K2_0_7_35AP/MSM6290/SRC 2010/03/04 17:37:08
      serial-number: 352974020787982
   current-operator: Orange F (cellid 59d8)
  access-technology: GSM compact
     signal-strengh: -85 dBm
   frame-error-rate: n/a
[admin@MikroTik] > /interface ppp-client scan 0
Flags: C - current, A - available, F - forbidden 
  OPERATOR                                               CODE ACCESS-TECHNOLOGY                                        SIGNAL-STRENGH
C Orange F                                              20801 GSM compact                                             
A Orange F                                              20801 3G                                                      
F F-Bouygues Telec                                      20820 3G                                                      
F F-Bouygues Telec                                      20820 GSM compact                                             
A F SFR                                                 20810 GSM compact                                             
A F SFR                                                 20810 3G                                                      
F 208 - 15                                              20815 3G                                                      
Is there a way to force connection to use 3G mode since it's flagged as "available"?
How did you made this to work on your simcard, because mine says interface=unknown.
Hey rickfrey,
I am saying that the 3G SIMCARD (not the Sierra Wireless card) works well in a 411U+MC8705 box. By that sentence i meant that my problem does not come from my 3G operator/account (as far as i understand).
How did you enable the 3G Simcard to be detected by your RB912UAG-2HPnD, i cant figure it out or how to do it cus I am face with such challenges.

Thanks
 
noib
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 6:04 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Mon Mar 02, 2015 1:27 pm

If you don't "see" the LTE interface, it probably means that the 3G modem is not powered. On the RB912, you have to choose between powering the USB external port or mini-PCIe slot.
Go to system->routerboard->USB and switch to MiniPCIe
or
/system routerboard usb set type=mini-PCIe
 
User avatar
dunga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 9:51 am
Location: Nigeria

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Mon Mar 02, 2015 1:53 pm

If you don't "see" the LTE interface, it probably means that the 3G modem is not powered. On the RB912, you have to choose between powering the USB external port or mini-PCIe slot.
Go to system->routerboard->USB and switch to MiniPCIe
or
/system routerboard usb set type=mini-PCIe
Hello noib,
I am using SIM not like sierra wireless as in your own case.

I want a situation where the SImcard will be used not any other wireless card.
 
noib
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 6:04 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Mon Mar 02, 2015 2:16 pm

But the SIM card alone can't do anything, it's just an ID. You need a 3G modem plugged, which will use the SIM card data to authenticate on GSM network.
 
User avatar
dunga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 9:51 am
Location: Nigeria

Re: Sierra Wireless MC8790 on RB912UAG-2hpnd

Mon Mar 02, 2015 2:29 pm

The device has a SIMcard slot, which I have already attached or connected to the router, it is just to enable it to work either in ppp-out client or another way so that it will be the main source of internet connectivity for my lan and wlan.

please I need assistance on how to make this work

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests