Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
syedakbar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:40 am
Location: California, USA

Backup and Restore

Fri May 19, 2006 8:58 pm

I am trying to copy configuration from one MT Wireless AP to another. I used backup and saved the file on a PC. Then I copied the file to another MT Wireless AP and did a restore. My problem is this restored the router configuration, however the wireless settings were not restored except the SSID. I am using a RB532, SR2 with 2.9.23 version. Anyone have this problem?
 
cibernet
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 610
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 7:22 pm
Location: Marcos Juárez, Córdoba, Argentina
Contact:

Re: Backup and Restore

Sat May 20, 2006 3:33 am

I am trying to copy configuration from one MT Wireless AP to another. I used backup and saved the file on a PC. Then I copied the file to another MT Wireless AP and did a restore. My problem is this restored the router configuration, however the wireless settings were not restored except the SSID. I am using a RB532, SR2 with 2.9.23 version. Anyone have this problem?
That´s because the mac address of the wireless card is not the same as the original card, try to change it with the same mac address of the original card...


Regards
José Ignacio Acosta
MikroTik Consultant IDAR0001
Mikronet

Movile: +54 9 3472-624722
Email/Msn: info[at]mikronet.com.ar
 
syedakbar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:40 am
Location: California, USA

Backup and Restore

Sat May 20, 2006 3:49 am

Is there any other way to replicate configurations on multiple MT Wireless APs without changing MAC addresses?
 
cibernet
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 610
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 7:22 pm
Location: Marcos Juárez, Córdoba, Argentina
Contact:

Re: Backup and Restore

Sat May 20, 2006 5:48 am

Is there any other way to replicate configurations on multiple MT Wireless APs without changing MAC addresses?
Use the "export" commnad....

Regards
José Ignacio Acosta
MikroTik Consultant IDAR0001
Mikronet

Movile: +54 9 3472-624722
Email/Msn: info[at]mikronet.com.ar
 
FASSIA
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2006 6:02 pm

Sat May 20, 2006 5:56 pm

As cibernet said, you have to use "export" command, mostly I use "export file filename", if you do that, MT place a file in the disk with the complete configuration, so you could download it entering via FTP to the RB. (I think this way is more secure than copy an paste the exported configuration commands)

Then, in the confiuration output file you have to edit (or delete) the mac address of the wireless interface. (search were said "/interface wireless") So, when you "paste" that configuration to another RB with another SR2 cards, you avoid any kaind of problems with wireless interfaces macs.

I hope to have helped :)
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Sun May 21, 2006 3:43 am

Cool, this was a question I was always wondering but forget to ask.

Helped me :-) Thanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests