Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

WLM54g vrs CM9

Mon May 29, 2006 7:24 am

Hello

I am a great fan of the trusty CM9 but have been offered the Compex WLM54g as a replacement.

It's 200mw but is it as reliable for the longhaul as CM9's?

Thanks
 
Setsquare
newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 1:05 pm
Location: Durban, South Africa

Tue May 30, 2006 6:43 pm

I have just got 3 of these cards, the 23dbm version but havent tried them out yet.

I was curious though in ROS it says they are AR2412 but in the manufacturer spec PDF it says AR2413
 
jober
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:16 pm
Location: Louisiana,USA

Wed Jun 07, 2006 8:50 am

Are these cards 6th gen like the R52 listens on narrow channel or like the CM9 and SR2 listens on 20mhz.
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Wed Jun 07, 2006 9:07 am

Well I tried them :-(

CM9 in scan picked up my station at -77
Thse cards - 88

Would not connect, I tried 2 cards

2ghz-10mhz nstreame on


I'm sticking to the trusty cm9 for now
 
odie
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:31 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Wed Jun 07, 2006 9:31 am

one other strange thing happend with wlm54g on a rb502 board they do not get power out of the u-fl plugs !!
we tested this on 3 different rb502 and a few more wlm54g cards

as long as you stay close to the accesspoint you cann connect with a client - but there is no power coming out of the antenna plugs - also tested with my spectrum analyser !

the cards work in the base rb532 quite ok - but if you have on nstream on a singel rb532 with some other card in 5ghz resulting in high cpu loads on the board the the wlm54g cards seem to have problems connecting clients also
somtetime it needs a few on/off cycels of the card to get it working
a timing problem or is it a driver problem - in system recources under pci the are shown as "unknown device (rev:1)" ?

any ideas ?
 
Setsquare
newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 1:05 pm
Location: Durban, South Africa

Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:20 pm

You have to set these cards to use antenna b if u connect it to the connector that says wlan, ie: not aux

Try it and report back
 
jober
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:16 pm
Location: Louisiana,USA

Wed Jun 07, 2006 7:10 pm

Are these cards 6th gen like the R52 listens on narrow channel or like the CM9 and SR2 listens on 20mhz.
Can someone answer this post?
 
Setsquare
newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 1:05 pm
Location: Durban, South Africa

Wed Jun 07, 2006 8:43 pm

Jober, are the 6th gen cards single chip design ?

Because I had to update the wrap bios for this card to work, and that fixes the problem with the new single chip atheros radios on that board.
 
odie
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 216
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:31 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Wed Jun 07, 2006 9:56 pm

tested on both connectors and both with setting a and b
no power out of the u-fl plug
on the rb532 directly it works !
 
NZLamb
newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 6:10 am
Location: New Zealand

Wed Jun 28, 2006 4:55 am

one other strange thing happend with wlm54g on a rb502 board they do not get power out of the u-fl plugs !!
we tested this on 3 different rb502 and a few more wlm54g cards

the cards work in the base rb532 quite ok
Try placing tape over pin 13 of the cards to insulate the contact. Some cards will disable the RF output when this pin is grounded.
 
xichax
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 11:49 am

Wed Aug 23, 2006 12:05 pm

Can you show me which one is the pin no 13 ?
Thx
 
mstead
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:41 am

Wed Aug 23, 2006 4:08 pm

Well I tried them :-(

CM9 in scan picked up my station at -77
Thse cards - 88

Would not connect, I tried 2 cards

2ghz-10mhz nstreame on


I'm sticking to the trusty cm9 for now
That was exactly what I found - 10dB down on the CM9. Surely this cannot be due to an inferior RX frontend. I assumed the MT drivers for this card are broken and did not bother any further.

Do other people find this card to be 10dB down on a CM9?

Malcolm
 
simonkizi
newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 10:38 pm

Thu Aug 24, 2006 3:19 am

This sounds exactly like an 8602 situation.

I suppose the more the power, the less the sensitivity because of extra noise, ie declined reception.

I only find the SR2 and the NL-2511MP to have higher power and good sensitivity. That gives us another conclusion, better quality equipment.

The SR2 has the best receiving with -98 db sensitivity.

Also, the NMP-8602's production quality is so bad that even individual cards differ in performance from one another, and at least 1 out of 10 new cards is bad!

Yet it is cheap and worth the trial and error factor to get a good card out of a bunch.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests