Page 1 of 1

Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 12:35 pm
by Nicho
Hi, I have a link configured (2x 5HPnD, distance 2km) for testing issue. I use the nv2 protocoll, N only, without encryption, both chains activated in routing mode.
When I use the bandwidth test from antenna to antenne it is about 100MBit, so perfect.
Now, when I copy some data or do a speedtest on the internet through the link I only got 9-12 MBit. What is the Problem? Maybe the packetsize? The packet loss is also very high in my opinion.

Can you help me to get the link work with a higher throughput? What is wrong?

Thx!

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 8:29 pm
by 0ldman
What is your connection speed?

Second, do the bandwidth test with Torch running. I watch them from time to time. When I get good results, often my actual speeds are low. I've watched the actual download speed hit 10Mbps+ and had the test results show 3Mbps or less.

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Posted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 1:16 pm
by Nicho
Connection Speed is 50MBit/s Download and 1MBit Upload.
So the Problem is that I can't get more throughput then 10MBit/s download.

Torch shows the same. Any ideas how to speed up? Packetsize or anything else?

Bandwith between antennas: (UDP little higher, TCP as shown)
Bandwith.PNG
Advanced WLAN:
wlan.PNG

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:31 pm
by sonny
Have you enabled wireless-fp package?

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2014 5:08 pm
by ManyX
I had the same problem.
When nv2 is used i cant't send more then 10Mbit/s i TCP. First bandwitdh test after wlan reconnect is correct 50 Mbit/s in 10MHz channel width but second bandwidth test show max only 10Mbit/s.

I have used ROS 6.20 and wireless-fp. Test is do between 2x sxt.
Interface queue is set to hw-queue-only for eth1 and wlan1, connection tacking is off.

But when I change to nstreme i have 45Mbit/s in TCP test with 1 connection

IMO in nv2 protocol something is wrong in TCP connection

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 7:57 am
by zyzelis
Manyx,
Try to change channel width to 20Mhz with NV2

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2014 4:00 pm
by Lakis
I had the same problem.
When nv2 is used i cant't send more then 10Mbit/s i TCP. First bandwitdh test after wlan reconnect is correct 50 Mbit/s in 10MHz channel width but second bandwidth test show max only 10Mbit/s.

I have used ROS 6.20 and wireless-fp. Test is do between 2x sxt.
Interface queue is set to hw-queue-only for eth1 and wlan1, connection tacking is off.

But when I change to nstreme i have 45Mbit/s in TCP test with 1 connection

IMO in nv2 protocol something is wrong in TCP connection
Thats why nstreme rules :), almost I never use nv2 on p2p links

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 3:35 am
by gius64
Same problem here using nv2.
Using nstreme I solved the problem but it's not as stable as nv2, I get some disconnections...

MikroTik team, please, fix this :(

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 2:20 pm
by nxl
Hey guys,

I think I know where the problem comes from: you start from Gigabit ethernet and somewhere on the link you are using Fast ethernet (maybe the end computer). This is a very BIG and OLD ISSUE with nv2 and gigabit that I can't imagine why it is still here.
Try this setting for every gigabit device on that link to force it into FastEthernet autonegotiation:
autonegFE.jpg
So, if you find this useful please everyone write to support@mikrotik.com. They need to resolve this otherwise the gigabit ports are USELESS.

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2015 6:21 pm
by honzam
And this settings solve problem? :shock:

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2015 12:28 am
by nxl
NOT really. It is giving some improvements but is limiting the throughput to 100 Mbps and this BUG applies even for AC devices. :(
PLEASE write about this to MikroTik, I already did.

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 11:06 am
by Nicho
So, I've found the bug and I still can't believe. It was like nxl said (thx btw) a link between a switch and the router which was on 100MBit. But why is the throughput only 10MBit?!? After configuring everything on 1GBit everything works excellent.

Thx again!

^^Nicho

Re: Throughput Speedtest RB911G-5HPnD-QRT

Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2016 3:47 pm
by BramCoom
Hi all

I know I'm new here but I ran in to these problems before. With different hardware but essentially its the same problem.
The problem exists in the auto negotiation feature. When you have gigabit on one side an Fast Ethernet on the other or even maybe Fast Ethernet on both sides(mostly different hardware) auto negotiation fails. When it fails automatically both sides switch tot 100Mbps full duplex(throughput will be roughly 10 Mbit). When you do a ping test when there is lots of traffic(like a bandwidth test) you see the latency mount up to like 2 seconds and more. After that you get packet losses. When the link recovers you get better throughput and latency and the story starts all over again.

My advice to you: NEVER use auto negotiation in WAN or LAN Backbones. Always set your devices on fixed speed an duplex.

Kind regards

Bram