Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
wispwest
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 3:48 am

Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20rc

Wed Sep 17, 2014 9:04 pm

Just wanted to alert Mikrotik of this, of all my outdoor testing with these Netbox5's, SXT-AC, and NetMetal, with rates MAXED OUT, Nstreme caps out at 170-180Mbps!!! NV2 only links at 680-720, but get 200-300Mb throughput!!

Obviously seems to be an issue with Nstreme+AC and the 170/180 throughput, hoping Mikrotik can fix it soon, as I LOVE the 0-1ms latency with Nstreme

Also the traffic graphs during speedtest seem to be off. Look below with NV2
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2312
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20

Wed Sep 17, 2014 10:40 pm

What distance? Try reduce TX power on both sides. Ideal registration table signal is from -50 to -60
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
wispwest
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 3:48 am

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20

Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:16 pm

What distance? Try reduce TX power on both sides. Ideal registration table signal is from -50 to -60
Bout 1.5 miles. Already reduced TX on both ends to 10db. That's not the problem though. Because same exact issues on the next link out from this one that is 7.8miles and signals -54/-53
 
ffernandes
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:20 pm

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20

Thu Sep 18, 2014 12:49 am

use a pc to do speedtest not the routerboard itself
 
wispwest
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 3:48 am

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20

Thu Sep 18, 2014 1:13 am

use a pc to do speedtest not the routerboard itself
I can push 980mb UDP to the master side from our core CCR so its not a bandwidth testing issue. Speedtest on laptop was ~160mb with data rates 866/866.
 
h3ll1
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 11:34 am

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20

Thu Sep 18, 2014 7:14 am

results after 10 days:
Routerboards AC
13km distance, 1.2m dish on one side, 60cm on other side - rocketdish. Signal jumping around between -44 to -75. Not very stable troughput overall - 100Mbps TCP simplex. I was trying forcing TX power, data rates, NV2 latency, channel size (20 to 80MHz), swapping routerboards (i bought 3rd one), swapping antennas, frequency scan (from N-card) to get a clear channel, swap AP and STA modes, WDS and station bridge modes. and maybe everything i know about mikrotik. I even swapped 1Gbps switch with 100Mbps one (because 100Mbps force setting is not working on those routerboards) just to be shure i have no back pressure.
Last setup was with N cards and 433AH RB - 140MBps tcp NV2 FDX. Very stable for 1 year.
I cannot reccomend bying any mikrotik AC product to no one YET.
Sorry for my engish.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3439
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20

Thu Sep 18, 2014 10:07 am

what results are you getting when you use 802.11 protocol?
What was the tdma-period-size?
How are you testing the speed?
What speed you got using UDP?
 
RuslanBraun
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:01 pm

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20

Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:09 pm

The same situation with nstreme - no more than 150 Mbit / s mode 802.11 missed up to 500 Mbit / s mode nv2 very strange situation, even impossible-tested. Distance of 1 km
 
RuslanBraun
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:01 pm

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20

Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:13 pm

The same situation with nstreme - no more than 150 Mbit / s mode 802.11 missed up to 500 Mbit / s mode nv2 very strange situation, even impossible-tested. Distance of 1 km
 
User avatar
mishaM
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 1:48 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20

Tue Oct 14, 2014 3:22 pm

nstreme on AC not working , use nv2 with auto timing.
 
User avatar
andressis2k
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 12:47 am

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20

Tue Oct 14, 2014 5:48 pm

Do the same happens using 20MHz channel?

I've 2 PtP links (2km and 5km) with SXT AC and parabolic dish, and I've rock solid 173,3Mbps (20MHz) with Nv2

Ping is beween 2-3ms (stable), and I can put 110/20mb with more than 30k pps without problem

In nstreme, I get higher latency, and no more than 60-70mbps. In 802.11, with little traffic (about 30mbps) ping goes to 20ms

I'll try to test 40/80MHz... but for MHz, nv2 is the right choice
 
RuslanBraun
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:01 pm

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20

Wed Oct 15, 2014 4:33 pm

how you configure nv2 that he ping higher quality at such speeds than the 802.11? In my case, for 300 Mbit/s nv2 starts with a delay of 50 mc and above. And in the case of 802.11 Ping stably maintains and 500 Mbit / s ( 5mc-7mc-9mc). test tx/rx signal strength (39/44 dBm), bridge
 
User avatar
andressis2k
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 12:47 am

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20

Fri Oct 17, 2014 7:37 pm

how you configure nv2 that he ping higher quality at such speeds than the 802.11? In my case, for 300 Mbit/s nv2 starts with a delay of 50 mc and above. And in the case of 802.11 Ping stably maintains and 500 Mbit / s ( 5mc-7mc-9mc). test tx/rx signal strength (39/44 dBm), bridge
- TDMA Period Size: auto
- Cell Radius: 10km
- Mode Bridge / Station Bridge

All other settings, defaults
 
rzirzi
Member
Member
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:33 pm

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20rc

Tue Jun 06, 2017 8:11 am

There still is a problem with Nstreme with ac protocol - with throughput - like at the topic. Have You found any solution for that? About 160-180Mbit is MAX on QRT ac with 40MHz channel and Nstreme enabled. We love nstreme - to have latency 1-2ms at wireless lik. Nv2 giving more latency :(. So is there any solution to have more througput at MikroTik ac ?
 
rzirzi
Member
Member
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:33 pm

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20rc

Wed Jun 07, 2017 8:00 am

I have updated both QRTac to ROS 6.39.2, but the problem with maximum Point-toPoint link still persists. Any idea? Or there is no chance to get more at MikroTik?
 
User avatar
amt
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 527
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 2:05 pm

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20rc

Wed Jun 07, 2017 8:21 am

Hi,
Im using Nstreme also but no more 250Mb Max troughput. I think this is the max capacity of the mikrotik :( cause i have never seen over it.
 
rzirzi
Member
Member
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 2:33 pm

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20rc

Wed Jun 07, 2017 2:32 pm

250Mbit? I can't reach more than 180Mbit. Could You post Your wireless settings for that link, please?
 
User avatar
amt
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 527
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 2:05 pm

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20rc

Wed Jun 07, 2017 3:04 pm

On Ap side;
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] adaptive-noise-immunity=ap-and-client-mode band=5ghz-onlyac channel-width=20/40/80mhz-Ceee default-forwarding=no disabled=no frequency=\
    5930 frequency-mode=superchannel hide-ssid=yes hw-retries=9 mode=bridge multicast-helper=full nv2-cell-radius=10 nv2-preshared-key=<key> nv2-security=enabled \
    radio-name="" rx-chains=0,1 scan-list=4900-6100 ssid=ssid tdma-period-size=auto tx-chains=0,1 wds-default-bridge=bridge1 wds-mode=dynamic \
    wireless-protocol=nstreme wps-mode=disabled
/interface wireless nstreme
set wlan1 enable-nstreme=yes framer-policy=exact-size
On Client Side;
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=5ghz-onlyac channel-width=20/40/80mhz-eeCe disabled=no frequency=auto frequency-mode=superchannel hw-retries=9 mode=station-wds \
    multicast-helper=full nv2-preshared-key=<key> nv2-security=enabled radio-name=<name> rx-chains=0,1 scan-list=5800-6100 ssid=ssid tx-chains=0,1 \
    wds-default-bridge=bridge1 wds-mode=dynamic wireless-protocol=nstreme
/interface wireless nstreme
set wlan1 enable-nstreme=yes

 
2jarek
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 3:28 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20rc

Wed Aug 09, 2017 9:46 am

Nstreme need upgrade after many years Mikrotik do nothing for nstreme. They make wireless custom driver & usless NV2. Nv2 need tcp acceleration. NV2 are useless because we need 80-120 mbit speedtest for customers in p2mp scenario.
 
BobcatGuy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 7:41 am

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20rc

Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:41 pm

Funny, I too am wondering why NSTREME capacity on my 25 Km link only gets around 100-120 mbit, on a 20/40 MHz channel, and also on 80 MHz channel. I would of expected more capacity at the 80 MHz, and I do recall having it, I have had it at 180 - 200 mbit up until a while ago. Cant recall what version of ROS, but it is not my only link that is capped at that speed. I have others that use nstreme and experience the same issue.

Connected air rate is 520mbit or more when real data rate is only the 100mbit. ( that's on 80 Mhz ) on 20/40 MHz the connected rate is 300 and the real capcity is the same approx. 100 mbit.
 
BobcatGuy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 7:41 am

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20rc

Tue Jun 25, 2019 8:57 am

This issue still exists for me. Thought I would take another stab at it. Any else have this issue and come up with a solution?
 
mazza
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 10:28 am

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20rc

Sat Jul 20, 2019 4:22 pm

I also want to share my experience with mikrotiks ac hardware in p2p links and maybe someone has an explanation for my strange observations.
I can only reach 190Mbit/s with nstream on ac hardware.
I have a PtP link with a DISC Lite5 ac (AP) and a LHG XL 5 ac (client). The link is about 600m long. The conditions are far from optimal because at least two roofs occlude the first fresnel zone and there is, as always no clean 80Mhz Chanel. However with 802.11 I can reach 300Mbit/s of TCP throughput in both directions. With nv2 I can reach nearly 300Mbit/s from the AP to the client but only 160Mbit/s from the client to the AP, which is the direction where most of the traffic will flow. Furthermore the throughput with nv2 is very unstable. Therefore, nv2 is not an option.
While 802.11 has the best TCP throughput and the throughput is much more stable then with nv2, I have another KO problem with it. Every 10 to 100 second the links stops forwarding traffic for 3 to 8 seconds. During this 0 throughput events the client does not disconnect (I can see it in the wireless registration table of the AP), nor the Tx/Rx does change, at least not more then when the link is fully operational (between 520 and 650Mbit/s).

I'm relative sure it is not a problem of the hardware because, I can reproduce this speed limitations of nstream and also the 0 traffic flow events when using 802.11 with two SXT-HG5ac in a comparable setup. Not the exact same location, but nearly the same distance and also an roof that hits first fresnel zone.

Can somebody explain why the links stops forwarding traffic every 10 to 100 seconds for some seconds if 802.11 is used?
It would be really great if mikrotik could improve the maximal throughput of nstream on ac hardware, because it is the only protocol that works reliable for me.


p.s.: All stated throughputs are measured with iperf3.
 
User avatar
andressis2k
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 12:47 am

Re: Nstreme + AC = No more than 170Mb Throughput!! 6.19+6.20rc

Mon Jul 22, 2019 7:01 pm

If link is 600m lenght... it would be better to go to 60GHz. You'll get 1gb full duplex even with rain...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests