Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Syonyk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Coralville, IA
Contact:

SR9 link dropping with traffic flow?

Fri Jun 23, 2006 8:53 pm

We just got the antennas tuned for a SR9 link between two spots.

We're running roughly -71/-69 for signal strength, with a -81 noise floor, in the 10mhz band. I've got 5-6Mbit through when bandwidth testing.

However, as soon as I start to flow "real" traffic through it, the link gets glitchy, ping times go up from 3-5ms to 300-800ms, and it starts disassociating, with excessive data loss given as the reason.

We also have a Trango 900 link that's started doing something similar - ping times going way up & generally being very unhappy.

Does this sound like interference? And how would I go about eliminating it - would an antenna stack help on the non-stacked end?

-=Russ=-
 
jober
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:16 pm
Location: Louisiana,USA

Sat Jun 24, 2006 4:15 am

I can't help you there but I will say that so far I'm not liking the SR9s at all.
But who know! Maybe I will find time to do more testing and change my mind.
 
User avatar
alex23
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 6:33 pm

Sat Jun 24, 2006 9:23 pm

Do you have visual contact?
What is the distance of the link?
To you have full tx-power?
Try to change channel :wink:
 
Syonyk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Coralville, IA
Contact:

Tue Jun 27, 2006 8:21 pm

Do you have visual contact?
What is the distance of the link?
To you have full tx-power?
Try to change channel :wink:
No visual contact, but a Trango link was reasonably happy on it until recently, when it started glitching out - which is why I'm suspecting interference.

Range is 3.5mi or so, tx power is set to full, and it's running on the clearest channel we can find (the Trangos do have a good frequency scan).

-=Russ=-
 
Syonyk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Coralville, IA
Contact:

Wed Jul 12, 2006 10:22 pm

The link has improved, but I still get periods where it "flaps" - disconnects due to "excessive data loss", reconnects, apparently tries to hammer packets through the link, disconnects, reconnects, repeats. For a LONG time.

Thoughts?

-=Russ=-
 
BurstNET

Thu Jul 13, 2006 1:40 am

May not be related to the SR9, but rather the config as a whole.
Lots of posts about the "excessive data loss" disconnects around here...

SMA
 
REDTDI
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 9:41 pm

Sat Jul 15, 2006 2:29 pm

a Trango link was reasonably happy on it until recently, when it started glitching out - which is why I'm suspecting interference.
I saw this exact problem yesterday when I installed an SR9 30 feet from a live Trango client facing 90 degrees to my new SR9unit. My SNR was 21 but it would lose connections under load. I unplugged the Trango and the problem went away. I suspect if I had been able to move the channel of the Trango more than 5 MHz away from the SR9 the problem might not have existed. Now the Trango is permanently removed and things have gone back to working great.

Ken
 
User avatar
surfnet
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 256
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 6:38 pm

Sun Jul 16, 2006 5:00 pm

Using the SR9 in anything other than the regualr 2.4 mode is like trying to do a long range 'G' connection, and I dont know about anybody else, but I have never been able to accomplish that.

Try setting it to the normal 2.4 mode with 1,2,5.5, and 11 bitrates and see what happens.

In my testing, that was the only setting the allowed it to work perfectly. I only got 4 meg of tcp troughput, but compared to Conapys <1meg, it is great.
Ken
 
budi_a
newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 11:57 am
Location: Jakarta
Contact:

Mon Jul 17, 2006 7:15 am

Using the SR9 in anything other than the regualr 2.4 mode is like trying to do a long range 'G' connection, and I dont know about anybody else, but I have never been able to accomplish that.
I could establish 100km link with 8 mbps
bandwidth with g only mode.

Thx
//Budi
 
Syonyk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Coralville, IA
Contact:

Mon Jul 17, 2006 5:55 pm

Interesting. I have a Trango near the SR9 link, but it's supposedly pretty far off channel-wise (924 vs 907). I'll try dropping that out & seeing what happens.

-=Russ=-
 
Syonyk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Coralville, IA
Contact:

Mon Jul 17, 2006 6:10 pm

Well, I just tried swapping the AP/SU units (reversing the link, it's just a point to point link), and it seems to be somewhat better. I'll see how it works like this for a while.

-=Russ=-
 
Syonyk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Coralville, IA
Contact:

Tue Jul 18, 2006 6:44 pm

Quick update: I've been running with the reversed link (the Trango-end is now the SU) for over a day, with some pretty heavy traffic sent through it, and everything is holding up just fine, no disconnects.

I think this has it resolved, at least for now.

I am using NStreme with the link - maybe the Trango interference was causing issues with the AP's polling - I don't know how I'd tell exactly what was going on.

-=Russ=-

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tsm and 28 guests