Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Arcee
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 2:33 pm

Multiple Signals?

Sun Feb 15, 2015 12:23 am

Can someone help me understand why there are multiple signals listed for registered wireless clients? See attached image.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
skillful
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Abuja, Nigeria
Contact:

Re: Multiple Signals?

Sun Feb 15, 2015 1:10 am

Chains 0, 1, and 2 (Ch0, Ch1 & Ch2) are antennae on a single radio. If your radio is 2x2 MiMo then you have two antennae (Ch0 and Ch1).

TX/RX Signal Strength = Ch0+Ch1+Ch2
TX/RX Signal Strength Ch0 = Signal from antenna connected to chain 0
TX/RX Signal Strength Ch1 = Signal from antenna connected to chain 1
TX/RX Signal Strength Ch2 = Signal from antenna connected to chain 2

In the world of decibel, -20dBm + (-20dBm) = -17dBm

The values displayed in the picture are TX values only. This is the situation when you are connecting to non ROS system, the router can only display the TX signal strength from you radio.

The Ch2 field is empty because your radio is 2x2 MiMo with only two chains.
 
Arcee
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 2:33 pm

Re: Multiple Signals?

Sun Feb 15, 2015 2:43 am

Ok so now I'm a bit more confused.

My image shows a wireless router that has five (5) readings to a single wireless client.

Why would I have five readings for a router that has two chains...2x2?
 
yancho
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 3:04 pm
Location: LV

Re: Multiple Signals?

Sun Feb 15, 2015 10:45 am

This is signal strength level at different rates together with time how long were these rates used. Nothing to do with MIMO.
 
Arcee
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 2:33 pm

Sun Feb 15, 2015 4:28 pm

Does the usage time overlap for these connections?

In other words, does the AP have multiple simultaneous connections to a client to allow for more bandwidth?
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1969
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Multiple Signals?

Sun Feb 15, 2015 11:53 pm

Read post number 2.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 43 guests