Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Syonyk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Coralville, IA
Contact:

Dishes in the ice

Mon Jul 31, 2006 10:13 pm

I just put up a wonderful 5.8ghz link, 2mi or so, -50db signal off two high gain dishes, with the power backed all the way down.

How do mesh dishes handle ice? I'm wondering if I need to worry about them in the winter - they're not radomed.

-=Russ=-
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24709
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Aug 02, 2006 9:47 am

 
Syonyk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 6:32 pm
Location: Coralville, IA
Contact:

Wed Aug 02, 2006 4:52 pm

Yes, that's a great picture.

Those dishes are radomed, though. Also, the image doesn't specify how the links were working with the ice.

Right now, we've got non-radomed dishes. How do those hold up to ice?

-=Russ=-
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Wed Aug 02, 2006 5:54 pm

-------------------
Hi, normis

That's tower with ICE CREAM accessories,... u know
nice ice cream...!

:D

regards
BalimoreDOTcom
--------------------
 
bushy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 11:56 pm
Location: Ireland

Wed Aug 02, 2006 9:11 pm

You can get heated grids/heaters for dishes
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 973
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Thu Aug 03, 2006 3:59 am

any answers for his question??
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24709
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Thu Aug 03, 2006 7:49 am

as far as i remember, there were routerboards in outdoor cases on that router, and all was working
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Thu Aug 03, 2006 7:58 am

as far as i remember, there were routerboards in outdoor cases on that router, and all was working

by who?......that's incredible...i thing by MT, isn't it..?

regards
gundul
---------
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24709
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Thu Aug 03, 2006 8:01 am

that is in italy, by one of our customers
 
User avatar
balimore
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 892
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:38 am

Thu Aug 03, 2006 8:10 am

that is in italy, by one of our customers
--------------

ok..ok ...if like that, i will display to make best good quality to our customers,
but here never snow, mountains and forestes only.

regards
BalimoreDOTcom
--------------------
 
kiwi-chris
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:14 am

Fri Aug 04, 2006 9:57 am

I have a couple of 5.8 grid antennas, one place got about .5 to 1m of snow up the mountain the other month. The link never dropped off even when the snow was falling quite heavy. I will be changing to a dish with radome for next winter, but quite impressed anyway. When I did get up there the was still 300mm snow on the ground and a heap of ice at the base of the antenna, so there must have been some ice up there. The radome ones are good as gold which I use now days.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: honzam, shifto and 29 guests