Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
XenosTh
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 4:54 pm

Web Access in Dude Server 6.45.7

Mon Sep 21, 2020 12:02 pm

Hello everyone,
I would like to know if there is a way to have-setup Web Access in Dude Server 6.45.7.
I have it on a RB750gr3 Hex device and i want to be able to access it from any network for monitoring purposes.
Any help is appreciated!!!
 
User avatar
cdiedrich
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 999
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:03 pm
Location: Basel, Switzerland // Bremen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Web Access in Dude Server 6.45.7

Mon Sep 21, 2020 1:54 pm

Web access to the dude is pretty limited, but possible.
Just log into webfig of your hEX and navigate to Dude.
It's totally OK to view network maps which already have been created - but not much more.

It might be a good idea to create a separate user for this together with a custom skin.

-Chris
Christopher Diedrich
MTCNA, MTCUME, MTCWE
Basel, Switzerland
Bremen, Germany

There are 10 types of people: Those who understand binary and those who don't.
There are two types of people: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data
 
XenosTh
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 4:54 pm

Re: Web Access in Dude Server 6.45.7

Mon Sep 21, 2020 3:04 pm

cdiedrich i got the idea, thank you for your reply.
I did that and made a user with only read permission.
Is there a way to only show the network maps and not all the other features?
 
kennnnnnnneth
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2021 9:25 pm
Location: Northeastern US

Re: Web Access in Dude Server 6.45.7

Tue Apr 06, 2021 8:48 pm

How is this done? I have installed dude, enabled it, it is running, but there is absolutely no way to access it from webfig. I even navigate to https://myrouter/webfig/#Dude and it just takes me to the quick setup page.

Dude is 100% running, but also apparently doesn't work in webfig??
 
2frogs
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 640
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:38 am

Re: Web Access in Dude Server 6.45.7

Wed Apr 07, 2021 4:56 am

Screenshot_20210406-204552_Opera.jpg
Maybe you have a custom skin and have Dude menu blocked. https://myrouter/webfig/#Dude will return you to the Quickset, you have include :Menu_Name. Such as https://myrouter/webfig/#Dude:Network_Maps
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
kennnnnnnneth
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2021 9:25 pm
Location: Northeastern US

Re: Web Access in Dude Server 6.45.7

Wed Apr 07, 2021 10:04 pm

I did check that out, but I have never used a custom skin, I like being able to see absolutely everything.

I did attempt to navigate to https://myrouter/webfig/#Dude:Network_Maps and a few others i see in your screenshot (with myrouter replaced with my router's IP), but each time I get bounced back to quickset.

I went to the terminal and ran /dude print and it came back running.

Disabled/rebooted, renabled/rebooted, tried again, still nothing, dude is still running. I reinstalled it again earlier this morning just for kicks and that did not help.

Screenshots attached
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
oskarsk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 9:41 am

Re: Web Access in Dude Server 6.45.7

Thu Apr 08, 2021 8:13 am

Screenshots attached
kennnnnnnneth, please let us know the device model you are using here.
 
kennnnnnnneth
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2021 9:25 pm
Location: Northeastern US

Re: Web Access in Dude Server 6.45.7

Thu Apr 08, 2021 10:50 pm

kennnnnnnneth, please let us know the device model you are using here.
I am using a RB760iGS hEX S running 6.47.9 (long-term).

I finally broke down last night and nuked my configuration and rebuilt it and still could not get Dude to show up. It's generating files and is "running" but inaccessible.
 
kennnnnnnneth
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2021 9:25 pm
Location: Northeastern US

Re: Web Access in Dude Server 6.45.7

Fri Apr 09, 2021 5:50 am

update:

I have resorted to spinning up an unlicensed Windows 10 VM to run Winbox and Dude software client and it's working (I think). At the very least it's showing up now. Still nothing in webfig though. I'll freely admit I'm a linux snob and just hate having to use Windows for anything, and while I'm normally okay with resorting to a VM, in this case it makes me uncomfortable; if I'm going to be using something to monitor and administer networks, it really needs to be platform-neutral. Can we say this is a bug, or am I missing something here to enable Dude via webfig?
 
2frogs
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 640
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:38 am

Re: Web Access in Dude Server 6.45.7

Fri Apr 09, 2021 6:18 am

Maybe you should a netinstall. I had a new hEX S that was in a boot loop from the box. I preformed a netinstall and it has been fine since.
 
kennnnnnnneth
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2021 9:25 pm
Location: Northeastern US

Re: Web Access in Dude Server 6.45.7

Fri Apr 09, 2021 7:49 am

Was just about to try a netinstall when it started working! after having mostly configured my Dude server in the Windows client, it started showing up in webfig. No reboot, no reinstall, just started showing up. So, so weird.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests