Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
jmay
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 8:26 pm

Dude crashed, having trouble restoring data base

Mon Jun 07, 2021 6:00 pm

In all these years I've never had to do a restore, but I can't get it working. I'm running dude 6.46.4 and I have months worth of daily backups.

Per the instructions I tried /dude import-db backup-file=dudedatabasebackup.db and got an error message that import failed
I then set dude to disabled and deleted the data base
Now when I try to import the data base I get Status: Import Failed

What am I doing wrong?
 
skullzaflare
newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 12:01 am

Re: Dude crashed, having trouble restoring data base

Tue Jun 08, 2021 11:36 pm

Verify you have the current DUDE installation pointing at a valid use location for the data before the import
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3884
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Dude crashed, having trouble restoring data base

Wed Jun 09, 2021 1:50 am

use sqlite3 to VACUUM and recover the database, then put back on same position
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
nikola89381
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 4:46 pm

Re: Dude crashed, having trouble restoring data base

Thu Jun 10, 2021 2:28 pm

use sqlite3 to VACUUM and recover the database, then put back on same position
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:T ... _db_repair

jmay To make it easier for you
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3884
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Dude crashed, having trouble restoring data base

Thu Jun 10, 2021 4:54 pm

use sqlite3 to VACUUM and recover the database, then put back on same position
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:T ... _db_repair

jmay To make it easier for you
You read the wiki before post the link?
"Procedure is done on v4.0b3 and after it is completed newly generated backups should work in new versions"

those instruction are for old PC version, not for new npk package for RouterOS,
you just make it easier....
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
nikola89381
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 4:46 pm

Re: Dude crashed, having trouble restoring data base

Thu Jun 10, 2021 5:51 pm

To be honest the last time i tried this, it didn't work, but then the base didn't break but i just wanted to optimize it further.

But one/two years ago it worked perfectly, I regulated the base, "db failure: database is malformed". And this solved the problem. The Dude verison is CHR V6.
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3884
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Dude crashed, having trouble restoring data base

Thu Jun 10, 2021 5:53 pm

One single instruction to restore (VACUUM) is better of all that instructions

if "VACUUM" can't read the database,
neither you can export the database (echo .dump | sqlite3.exe dude.db > dude.sql) [or better "sqlite3.exe dude.db .dump > dude.sql"]
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
nikola89381
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 4:46 pm

Re: Dude crashed, having trouble restoring data base

Thu Jun 10, 2021 5:58 pm

Yup, after the first database repair , I didn't have any more problems with it, I only occasionally do a vacuum.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests