Community discussions

 
User avatar
amt
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 526
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 2:05 pm

Dude Take System system identity for device name

Fri Jul 01, 2016 4:42 pm

Hi all,

is there any way to get system identity and add it to device name in dude ?

Thanks
 
User avatar
tnarnold
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:12 am

Re: Dude Take System system identity for device name

Thu Jul 07, 2016 12:43 am

Yes! of course... I think the better way is change the variable on label. Right click on device -> appearance -> at the general tab you should to see a field "Label". Change the [Device.Name] to use the OID function [oid("iso.org.dod.internet.mgmt.mib-2.system.sysName.0")]
 
User avatar
amt
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 526
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 2:05 pm

Re: Dude Take System system identity for device name

Fri Jul 08, 2016 8:10 am

Yes! of course... I think the better way is change the variable on label. Right click on device -> appearance -> at the general tab you should to see a field "Label". Change the [Device.Name] to use the OID function [oid("iso.org.dod.internet.mgmt.mib-2.system.sysName.0")]
Hi,

thank you very much for your help.. I delete [Device.Name] at label field and i write only [oid("iso.org.dod.internet.mgmt.mib-2.system.sysName.0")] but it did not work... :(
 
User avatar
tnarnold
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:12 am

Re: Dude Take System system identity for device name

Fri Jul 08, 2016 8:28 pm

Make sure you have the SNMP enabled on your mikrotik device.
 
krisjanis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 5:00 pm

Re: Dude Take System system identity for device name

Mon Jul 11, 2016 10:07 am

Another alternative IF you are using ROS login. In label appearance use ros_command function: Identity: [ros_command(":put [/system identity get name]")]
 
User avatar
amt
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 526
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 2:05 pm

Re: Dude Take System system identity for device name

Mon Jul 11, 2016 12:38 pm

Another alternative IF you are using ROS login. In label appearance use ros_command function: Identity: [ros_command(":put [/system identity get name]")]

Thats better for me :) and its worked. Thank you verymuch...
 
User avatar
miguelangelfelix
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 7:32 am
Location: Los Mochis Sinaloa
Contact:

Re: Dude Take System system identity for device name

Sun Mar 25, 2018 1:55 am

Another alternative IF you are using ROS login. In label appearance use ros_command function: Identity: [ros_command(":put [/system identity get name]")]
Hi, both options on the dude monitor works good, this one you say and with "oid" option too i got correct device name, but i have a detail when i try to send a notification with these, for example email or telegram dont work i get the "command line parameter" in the notification message, so i have to use "Device.name" variable in notification it results as "device ip address" thats the problem.

my question, is there a way to get the value with function and put it on Device name field? i think it would be awesome thanks!!
 
amdemon
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 6:18 pm

Re: Dude Take System system identity for device name

Thu May 03, 2018 6:21 pm

Tengo el mismo problema y me gustaria que grabe en Device.Name el nombre del dispositivo y no la ip.

I have the same problem and would like to record the name of the device in Device.Name and not the ip.
 
amdemon
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 6:18 pm

Re: Dude Take System system identity for device name

Thu May 03, 2018 6:25 pm

Another alternative IF you are using ROS login. In label appearance use ros_command function: Identity: [ros_command(":put [/system identity get name]")]
Hi, both options on the dude monitor works good, this one you say and with "oid" option too i got correct device name, but i have a detail when i try to send a notification with these, for example email or telegram dont work i get the "command line parameter" in the notification message, so i have to use "Device.name" variable in notification it results as "device ip address" thats the problem.

my question, is there a way to get the value with function and put it on Device name field? i think it would be awesome thanks!!
I have the same problem and would like to record the name of the device in Device.Name and not the ip.
 
veljko
just joined
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:56 pm
Location: Serbia

Re: Dude Take System system identity for device name

Mon Aug 20, 2018 5:23 pm

Me too :)
 
User avatar
JavierTF
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 12:15 pm
Location: Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Contact:

Re: Dude Take System system identity for device name

Fri Aug 31, 2018 12:54 am

I have written a script that takes the name of the devices discovered in dude (the IP) and contrasts them with the devices that appear in the list of neigbour, if it locates them, it replaces its name with the value of identity.

The problem is that devices that do not appear in neigbor list (such as ubiquiti's edgeswitch) will not be updated

hope to be helpful
:local neighbor;
:foreach device in=[/dude device find] do={
    :set neighbor [/ip neighbor find address=[/dude device get $device name]];
    if ($neighbor != "") do={
       /dude device set $device name=[/ip neighbor get $neighbor value-name=identity];
    }
}
 
G007
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 11:43 am

Re: Dude Take System system identity for device name

Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:11 pm

I have tested the script and it works great. is there a way in pulling the IP address as well to the Identity so that the dude update this automatically?

We use over 250 OVPN connections and they change constantly if there is a lot of disconnections.
 
drodecker
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2018 10:44 am

Re: Dude Take System system identity for device name

Sun Mar 17, 2019 12:05 pm

Displaying the device identity in RouterOS is not happening.
The above instructions for Appearance only affect the Map diagram. How can the Device Identities be shown in the Device list under the RouterOS tab view?
 
knuckle66
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2019 4:27 pm

Re: Dude Take System system identity for device name

Fri Mar 22, 2019 4:36 pm

Displaying the device identity in RouterOS is not happening.
The above instructions for Appearance only affect the Map diagram. How can the Device Identities be shown in the Device list under the RouterOS tab view?
I would like this as well. The map can get a lot cluttered and we use the device list a lot. Just looking 1.5k of IPs and not knowing the name of the devices is horrible.
 
User avatar
m4t7e0
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 12:17 am
Contact:

Re: Dude Take System system identity for device name

Tue May 07, 2019 5:59 pm

Displaying the device identity in RouterOS is not happening.
The above instructions for Appearance only affect the Map diagram. How can the Device Identities be shown in the Device list under the RouterOS tab view?
I would like this as well. The map can get a lot cluttered and we use the device list a lot. Just looking 1.5k of IPs and not knowing the name of the devices is horrible.
I would like this as well !

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests