Community discussions

 
redbullsteve
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 12:37 am

Export Map interval

Thu Aug 04, 2016 8:51 pm

Guys,

I may be missing something obvious but hope someone can help.
I want to export a network map to an image file, now this I can do on a one off but i'm im sure I use to be able to set an interval time so it would be exported aver 5min, 10min etc.
Am I going mad or has this disappeared or has it been moved?

Thanks in advanced.

Steve
 
krisjanis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 5:00 pm

Re: Export Map interval

Mon Aug 08, 2016 11:25 am

As far as I know this action can only be done manually.
 
redbullsteve
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 12:37 am

Re: Export Map interval

Tue Aug 09, 2016 6:01 pm

Many thanks,

It was available not that long ago but appears to have vanished, it is however still showing as a setting in your wiki.

Export
It is possible to configure automatic scheduling of map image export:

Type - image format to use (bmp, png, ps, jpg, pdf, svg)
Interval - how often to save the map image

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Th ... Device_map

If it has been removed please please but it back as we us it to update a site status page.

Thanks
 
krisjanis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 5:00 pm

Re: Export Map interval

Wed Aug 10, 2016 11:27 am

It was a legacy setting from v4. I had forgotten to remove it from reworked manual (corrected now).

This feature wont be making comeback in new versions as it was done on server side not the client.
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4545
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: Export Map interval

Wed Aug 10, 2016 7:54 pm

But it was very useful feature. I embed exported images of Dude maps in web page, to have quick overview of current status from anywhere. It's great, because it works even with the most stupid http client (e.g. on mobile phone).

With old Windows Dude, I could just point webserver on same machine to Dude's files directory and access exported images. With new RouterOS-only Dude it was not so easy, because files could not be accessed using http. But it was still possible to get to them using ftp or smb (probably sftp too, but I did not test that), so a script could download them to web server.

What can I do now? It looks like the only way to view maps is using Dude client, so it always requires some "big computer", no chance for simple phone.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3803
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: Export Map interval

Fri Aug 12, 2016 5:24 am

yes, at the moment i cannot switch to new dude because all external access has been removed. Such a shame. Please add some type of API / HTTP / etc so that we can query things from other systems.
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
krisjanis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 5:00 pm

Re: Export Map interval

Fri Aug 12, 2016 4:08 pm

@sob

If more users will request return of automated map image generation on server device then I'll check with DEV if we can get this feature returned.

@changeip

CLI support for The Dude is being worked on as we speak, so access over API will be an option when CLI side is finished. New web interface will come at some point after that.
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4545
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: Export Map interval

Fri Aug 12, 2016 6:37 pm

Ok, hopefully there will be more users who will want it back.

When/if that happens, I think it could be better to change it a little. Generating images over and over seems a little pointless, because most of the time, no one is looking at them. It's possible to use longer interval, but when someone needs to look (often when something "funny" starts happening), you need as fresh data as possible, so preferably very short interval. But one goes against the other.

The solution would be to make it work on-demand. Make maps accessible using e.g. http://dudeserver/dude/maps/<mapname>.<extension> and only generate new image when the request comes. Plus some simple caching, to protect router from too many requests at the same time, i.e. do not generate new image if the old one is not older than X seconds.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply.
 
User avatar
JavierTF
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 12:15 pm
Location: Santa Cruz de Tenerife
Contact:

Re: Export Map interval

Mon Mar 06, 2017 2:56 pm

It seems to me a very useful option, for my part, add me to the request.
 
User avatar
manuzoli
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 6:47 pm

Re: Export Map interval

Sat Mar 11, 2017 7:32 pm

i absolutely need this feature. pls return :)
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Re: Export Map interval

Fri Oct 13, 2017 2:19 am

I also wish this feature would return, we use various programs to display maps/graphs of network stats, and they all allow embedding/placment of iFrame and other items.

Currently embeding a iframe for the WebFig based Dude map will work for a few minutes (via iframe) , but webfig login will time out, forcing user intervention (to login/pass into webfig).

we used to use the export map to jpg fuction (via cron/script) on the old dude, and really need this feature back on new dude. (or maybe a way to access a map directly via a http url)

tks

EDIT: also when viewing a large dude map in chrome via webfig, CPU utilization is SUPER high (on a fast pc).. could be chrome issue, but seems isolated to webfig, dude map. (i do have a 430kb PNG as my map background) -- all more reason that we need some type of timed .jpg or .png (or anyformat) map export option from dude directly (like it had before)
tks
Last edited by jo2jo on Mon Dec 04, 2017 5:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
:beep :beep :beep
 
JDSurfnet
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 2:49 am

Re: Export Map interval

Sun Dec 03, 2017 11:35 pm

I would also like this feature to make a comeback.
 
vdiago
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 2:32 pm

Re: Export Map interval

Wed Mar 28, 2018 2:33 pm

I need this feature too. Thanks.
 
excession
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 8:16 pm

Re: Export Map interval

Thu Sep 06, 2018 7:34 pm

+1 Please add
 
tssthrowaway
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 4:28 am

Re: Export Map interval

Sun Nov 11, 2018 4:31 am

+1 please re-add this feature.

Absolutely critical in building status pages for our clients.

Does anyone have a script that will do this via HTTP?
 
mobilemanic
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 11:03 am

Re: Export Map interval

Sat Dec 29, 2018 11:26 am

I would also find a use for that functionality.

At the moment it is possible to show maps in WebFig like: http://IP/webfig/#Dude:Network_Maps.Network_Map.10159, but it cannot be embedded, you must have admin user with empty password and I still have a problem that not all images are being shown on the map (but some of device images are shown, usually 3 or 4 of them, no idea why).

Possibility to do an export of the map image sounds like a much better solution...
 
User avatar
ofendt
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 10:17 pm

Re: Export Map interval

Sun Aug 18, 2019 2:05 pm

I would like a Auto-Snapshot as well. It was realy a intressting feature. You could show status on Website.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests