Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
dpal80
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 5:38 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

TOOL/WINBOX Disappeared from LIST

Tue Feb 21, 2017 1:42 pm

Hello, we recently started to use the dude as our main monitoring tool.

After upgrading from 6.36 to 6.38 tools/winbox disappeared from the list.

How can I restore this funcion??
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
campa4bt
newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 12:49 pm

Re: TOOL/WINBOX Disappeared from LIST

Thu Feb 23, 2017 3:58 pm

Hi,

you had to create a new tool, with "+" button and then you had to create an object as this attached image.

Image

Where you see C:\winbox.exe , you can put the path of your Executable Winbox file on the server.

Best Regards!
 
User avatar
dpal80
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 5:38 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: TOOL/WINBOX Disappeared from LIST

Tue Mar 07, 2017 5:36 pm

Thanks....
 
HaQs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:26 pm
Location: POLAND

Re: TOOL/WINBOX Disappeared from LIST

Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:34 pm

OK, But when winbox will be returned ?

MT removes winbox because:
v6.38 Major changes:
Removed - Since default Winbox used in the Dude wasn't fully compatible with all RouterOS devices, we removed i completely.

It is not very comfortable adding on every client WinBox.exe.
Alternatively, please option that could winbox.exe be hosted on a dude server.
so that there was no need to make a link to the local PC storage.

In addition, that calling the binary method transmits the password in plain text.
 
User avatar
docmarius
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1220
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:04 pm
Location: Timisoara, Romania
Contact:

Re: TOOL/WINBOX Disappeared from LIST

Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:53 am

You can add it under Devices->Types to the "Mikro Tik Device". Then it will show up for all devices having that type.
Torturing CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+, RB450G, RB750GL, RB951G-2HnD, RB960PGS, RB260GSP, OmniTIK 5HnD and NetMetal 922UAGS-5HPacD + R11e-5HnD in my home network.
 
HaQs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:26 pm
Location: POLAND

Re: TOOL/WINBOX Disappeared from LIST

Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:34 pm

You might have not understood me.
It's about adding a winbox executable to the dude files tree

Or update the executable winbox file in the dude server.
Then is no need to upload dude to each client
 
User avatar
dpal80
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 5:38 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: TOOL/WINBOX Disappeared from LIST

Thu Mar 23, 2017 5:28 pm

The Solution showed by camp4t will work only on WINDOWS MACHINES with winbox on C:\

for me is not suitable because i am using the dude on MAC OS X with wine

Other solutions???
 
alex1
just joined
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 9:37 pm

Re: TOOL/WINBOX Disappeared from LIST

Thu Jun 29, 2017 11:56 pm

Hi mates,

Well, The Dude became unusable for some of our techs due the the fact that embedded Winbox disappeared. There're more than one discussions about that (here).

Using custom Tool with the link to local folder (different for each user) is a pain. It's even more pain for non-Windows admins.

So, what is the recommended solution by MikroTik support?
Last edited by alex1 on Sat Jul 01, 2017 12:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
Bomber67
Member
Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:36 am

Re: TOOL/WINBOX Disappeared from LIST

Fri Jun 30, 2017 1:50 pm

Removed - Since default Winbox used in the Dude wasn't fully compatible with all RouterOS devices, we removed i completely.
I've previously asked this in another thread here but I'll continue in this thread instead.

My question to MT is then:
If the Winbox included in the Dude wasn't compatible and the standalone one IS, then why not just include the latter in the Dude distros?
 
HaQs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:26 pm
Location: POLAND

Re: TOOL/WINBOX Disappeared from LIST

Tue Aug 01, 2017 7:57 pm

we waiting for "unremove" :) winbox and update to actual version.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24337
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: TOOL/WINBOX Disappeared from LIST

Wed Aug 02, 2017 4:28 pm

How is this "pain" exactly?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Bomber67
Member
Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:36 am

Re: TOOL/WINBOX Disappeared from LIST

Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:50 pm

How is this "pain" exactly?
Goes without saying Normis...
Having to configure the Dude to load Windows from a local location is very inconvenient.
We are running Dude clients on several machines connecting to a Dude server on an RB1100AHX4 Dude ed. When we create a global Tool in the Dude, it requires the Winbox.exe to be located on the very same disk address on every client computer connecting to the Dude server...
Why not incorporate the latest Winbox in the Dude distribution?
 
smileymattj
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:12 pm

Re: TOOL/WINBOX Disappeared from LIST

Wed Sep 06, 2017 11:55 pm

I was able to get this working on my Mac. However I feel there should be an easier way to do it than what I did. First I tried copying it directly into the app package contents. Which didn't work.

Also for windows users like Bomber67. Place winbox.exe directly in the dude's program file directory. Then the code below will work on everyone's install.

The way that worked for me was to:
  • create a tool for command prompt "cmd"
  • browse to my downloads folder on my mac "cd /Users/USERNAME/Downloads/" Replace USERNAME with your mac user
  • copy to winbox.exe to dude directory "copy winbox.exe "C:\Program Files\Dude\"
  • create a tool for winbox and remove cmd tool
winbox.exe [Device.FirstAddress] [Device.UserName] [Device.Password]
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
smileymattj
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:12 pm

Re: TOOL/WINBOX Disappeared from LIST

Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:01 am

Also is there any way to get the cool winbox icon attached back to your custom tool? Instead of the generic window icon.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
floryluc
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 11:46 am

Re: TOOL/WINBOX Disappeared from LIST

Tue Jan 30, 2018 11:24 pm

I was able to get this working on my Mac. However I feel there should be an easier way to do it than what I did. First I tried copying it directly into the app package contents. Which didn't work.

Also for windows users like Bomber67. Place winbox.exe directly in the dude's program file directory. Then the code below will work on everyone's install.

The way that worked for me was to:
  • create a tool for command prompt "cmd"
  • browse to my downloads folder on my mac "cd /Users/USERNAME/Downloads/" Replace USERNAME with your mac user
  • copy to winbox.exe to dude directory "copy winbox.exe "C:\Program Files\Dude\"
  • create a tool for winbox and remove cmd tool
winbox.exe [Device.FirstAddress] [Device.UserName] [Device.Password]
very good, it has served me great with my mac
thank you very much great contribution
 
alfanetbg
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 11:28 pm

Re: TOOL/WINBOX Disappeared from LIST

Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:51 am

where I have to place the file winbox.exe? my Dude is on Mikrotik, but no matter where I place the winbox.exe, it cannot execute it.... help pls
 
Bellaz
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2019 1:29 pm

Re: TOOL/WINBOX Disappeared from LIST

Wed Oct 30, 2019 1:32 pm

Hi,

you had to create a new tool, with "+" button and then you had to create an object as this attached image.

Image

Where you see C:\winbox.exe , you can put the path of your Executable Winbox file on the server.

Best Regards!

Thank you so much I had the same problem and this solution worked !!! :) :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 3 guests